Customer Reviews for

Annie

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Movie. Disappointing Pan and Scan DVD!

    Annie (1982) is based on a Broadway stage musical which was based on a comic strip and though the Broadway musical is better I still liked this movie even though it wasn't entirely faithful to the stage musical. The whole cast is great but especially Carol Burnette, Albert Finney, Aileen Quinn, Tim Curry, and Bernadette Peters. I'm however disappointed that the new special edition DVD is pan and scan only and that they didn't put out a widescreen version. I have the old DVD that has both widescreen and pan and san fullscreen on the same DVD and I can tell you that you see more of the movie in the widescreen format. So to me I'm glad I kept my old DVD even though the only extra features are the original trailer and bios of some cast members. I would give the movie 4 stars but I drop points because of the pan and scan DVD which is the only version in print now. The DVD that included widescreen is no longer being made!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    annie

    pretty good, but could be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful musical

    Pleasure to watch so much talent...leaves you with good feeling!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    love the story and music

    I work at Monmouth University where this was filmed. It's a great story for children regarding faith and love.
    Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the WORST Movie Musicals of All Times

    While "Annie" was a fantastic Broadway musical, this early 1980's screen incarnation is one of the worst moovie musicals of all time. The main reason? The film rewrites the play, and drops some of the best songs in the show. It also adds characters not in the show. John Huston was a legendary director, but who in the devil imagined that he had any idea whatsoever about directing a musical? The only redeeming features are Bernadetee Peters in the smallest of the supporting roles, and, of course, Carol Burnette. still the directing, the TV-style photography, and the film editing that undermines all musicality--all of these negatives distract from these two performances.<BR/><BR/>A MUCH BETTER VERSION is the wonderful made-for-TV film version produced by Disney and directed by the amazing musical film director Rob Marshall (who directed the Oscar winning "Chicago.") Kathy Bates, who takes on the role performed by Carol Burnett, is no where near as good as Burnett--but that has to do with the only real flaw in that film version: the deleting of all comedic references to the character's drinking problem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    annie is awesome

    it has such possesion and its a hit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Annie' = Awesome!

    If you are ever feeling sad or blue, watch 'Annie' and you will sure perk up your day! This film is awesome! Albert Finney steals the show as Daddy Warbucks! The singing and dancing is excellent, the choreagraphy is outstanding, and the acting is superb. Musicals do not get much better than this. If you are interested in the Depression and the 1930s, this film will not disappoint in terms of conveying the sense of hopelessness and hope that co-existed during the decade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    My 2 year old loves annie

    Annie is a great movie. My 2 year old daughter sings all the songs on Annies movie. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    i recomend annie to kids and adults. i first saw it i was 9 and i watch it over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    annie

    i think that Annie is the best film ever,i used to live in a childrens home so i know how she feels in the orphanage. my favorite characters are Sandy the dog, Annie and Pepper. i know the words to all the songs in the film and i played Annie in a school play because i have red frizzy hair like hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    I love Annie

    Annie is a wonderful movie its my favorite i know the words to all the songs and my favorite character is Molly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    if i could i would give this movie 50 stars...

    Annie is a great movie...Ilove it.I watcheder that movie all my life...the one with Alicia Morton,Victor Garber,and Kathy Bates well...that really sucked.I only liked Sandy.I am an Aileen Quinn my self...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable version of classic musical

    My five year old granddaughter loves ''Annie''. Saw it once recently on stage & has seen video hundreds of times. She knows/sings/dances to every part of script, and has us doing same when she stays overnight. However, in this VHS version, Carol Burnett (one of my all-time favorite comedy actresses) plays the Ms.Hannigan role as an alcoholic. She's funny, but maybe this portrayal would be sensitive image/issue for some family viewers despite all the other wonderful actors, songs, etc. I know & have seen another earlier version of ''Annie'' by Disney in which Kathy Bates is Ms. Hannigan, and it's terrific, but where available to purchase?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is my Favorite movie of all time

    I love this movie it is my favorite children and adults alike will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2