BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Atonement

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely beautiful movie

Although I loved the book more, i thought this movie was so lovingly taken care of by director Joe Wright. He has a clear vision for beauty that evident clear in the "Elegy for Dunkirk" scene. Over two in a half minutes, and the camera never cuts. It pans around the ...
Although I loved the book more, i thought this movie was so lovingly taken care of by director Joe Wright. He has a clear vision for beauty that evident clear in the "Elegy for Dunkirk" scene. Over two in a half minutes, and the camera never cuts. It pans around the area, exploring, revealing, and devastating the hearts of film-makers everywhere. James McAvoy delivers a stellar performance, and is sure to be at the top of Hollywood soon. After reading the book, and developing such a adoration and appreciation of Robbie's strength, passion, and commitment I can't imagine anyone doing him the justice as James McAvoy did for him in this film. Visually stunning, gut-wrenchingly romantic, and heart-breakingly tragic. A must-see in my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't live up to the book

It was good. But not great. I normally like these types of movies, but it seems like this one just missed the mark. The cinematography is great, the costumes and sets are wonderful, the actors were well picked, but I felt like this book maybe just can't be translated in...
It was good. But not great. I normally like these types of movies, but it seems like this one just missed the mark. The cinematography is great, the costumes and sets are wonderful, the actors were well picked, but I felt like this book maybe just can't be translated into a movie. It dragged on which the book really didn't. Its worth seeing, but maybe not buying.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely beautiful movie

    Although I loved the book more, i thought this movie was so lovingly taken care of by director Joe Wright. He has a clear vision for beauty that evident clear in the "Elegy for Dunkirk" scene. Over two in a half minutes, and the camera never cuts. It pans around the area, exploring, revealing, and devastating the hearts of film-makers everywhere. James McAvoy delivers a stellar performance, and is sure to be at the top of Hollywood soon. After reading the book, and developing such a adoration and appreciation of Robbie's strength, passion, and commitment I can't imagine anyone doing him the justice as James McAvoy did for him in this film. Visually stunning, gut-wrenchingly romantic, and heart-breakingly tragic. A must-see in my opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Stunning!

    I was completely floored when I saw the movie. It pulls at your heart-strings. You fall in love with the characters and grow a hatred towards others. You sense their love, their pain, their frustration-- very compelling, wonderful demonstration of the human condition!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Didn't live up to the book

    It was good. But not great. I normally like these types of movies, but it seems like this one just missed the mark. The cinematography is great, the costumes and sets are wonderful, the actors were well picked, but I felt like this book maybe just can't be translated into a movie. It dragged on which the book really didn't. Its worth seeing, but maybe not buying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Wow was this sad. But I'll admit the actors, especially the main

    Wow was this sad. But I'll admit the actors, especially the main leads did a good job. And that ending...wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Almost a five rating since I'm not a huge fan of Keira Knightly.

    Almost a five rating since I'm not a huge fan of Keira Knightly. The camera work was genius and everything else worked famously - plot gets five and so does the film editor. Romance, yes, well worth a purchase.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    It made me cryyyyyyyyyyy!!! If only love was like that today! Then there wouldn't be so much divorce...well enough about that. Oh my gosh, and man, I hated Briony for tearing them apart--and then making up the rest of the end, making me hopeful for nothing! She based her accusation off of assuption and imagination!? I bet even on jelousy...ooh is there a novel??? :D
    Oh, and I can't help but say that I looooov James McAvoy, he looks hot in this movie. He looked hot in the Last King of Scotland too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    no subject

    Atonement is a film of epic proportions.

    Briony is so protective of her stepsister Cinderella(Cecilia), much so that she claims to have seen McAvoy turn into a monster. She reinvents(twists) things outside of her control, so as not to feel the cold(harsh) effects of McAvoy's impatience.

    Atonement reminds us that "not all things are what they seem" and to "be careful what [we] wish for". Though paused and slow at times, Atonement will surely astound and entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great, great movie

    This movie stays with you! The story, the performances, the visuals - all perfect and heartbreakingly painful.
    I read the original, the novel by Ian McEwan and I thought that was excellent too. But the movie, the movie is magical.
    The story is very sad, compelling and disturbing.
    Originally, I don`t like either Keira Knightley or James McAvoy that much (for no particular reason, really), but they were very good in this movie. James McAvoy has such a compelling, forceful presence on screen, and Keira Knightley didn`t stay far behind either. A great discovery to me, besides this, was Saoirse Ronan, who played the young little girl causing all the trouble in a very haunting way. I was also happy to see Romola Garai, whom I absolutely adored in Emma and other movies.
    I thought the music was great, the visuals perfect, and you can almost touch the heat of the summer weather, and feel the tension in the air around the main characters.
    Highly recommended movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    One of the greatest movies that I've seen... James is an excellent actor and he really brings ALL his characters to life in anything he does including this movie...

    Another great movie of our time...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So sad!

    Great movie. I really love Keira Knightly, especially in Pride and Prejudice and Pirates of the Carribean. All her movies are great. This movie was so sad and passionate. A little confusing, but I had someone explain it all to me. So, like I said, good movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Visually appealing.

    Adapted from the novel, ATONEMENT is personal drama set against an epic backdrop, with some beautiful cinematography, and a moving score.

    Christopher Hampton, the screenwriter, has written a vast and emotionally complex tale about a 13 year-old girl, in the 1930s, who affects several lives when she misreads the relationship between her sister and the housekeeper's son. Later, she attempts to atone for her mistake.

    Director Joe Wright expands on it with a his cinematic vision.

    Very nice performances by Keira Knightley, James McAvoy, Romola Garai, Brenda Blethyn, Saoirse Ronan and Benedict Cumberbatch. And an exceptionally powerful performance by Vanessa Redgrave.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tragic

    I had heard this movie was good, and I finally bought it. And I'm in love. The characters are wonderful. The story is sad and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heartbreakingly Beautiful

    From start to finish this film is captivating. The characters are not only vivid, but realistic and tragic. Every part of the film from casting to cinematography is a sign of excellence in movie making that is rare in recent days. The film is hauntingly beautiful and it lingers long after the credits roll.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The book was better

    I am a fan of the director as well as Keira Knightly but I felt that the film adaptation did not live up to the novel. The end of the book is much more moving and surprising and I feel badly for those who saw the movie without reading the book and could not experience that feeling. The costumes and sets were beautiful, the typewriter incorporated into the score was creative, and the Dunkirk scene was stunning-perhaps, though, I would feel more strongly for the movie had I not been spoiled by McEwan's work of genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Robbie Turner(James McAvoy) and Cecilia Tallis(Keira Knightley) are two lovers torn apart by a lie and imagination of Ceilia's thirteen-year-old sister Briony(Saoirse Ronan). A lush tale of romance, betrayal and redemption. This movie shows how easily your life can be ruined, and how important it is to think about consequenses and separate fantasy and reality. The cast is excellent and the performances are priceless. Director Joe Wright is a born moviemaker. This movie is EVERY bit as magnificent as Ian McEwan's novel!!!! Warning: A box of tissues are needed when watching this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3