Customer Reviews for

August Rush

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie truly does warm the heart and touch the soul...even if you have to suspend all belief in reality itself to really enjoy it. Some of the plot lines are loosely held onto, and the miraculous "anything is possible" theme when August is searching for his parents through the music he plays is almost unbelievable. The music truly makes this movie happen, though, with the awesome guitar suites, the main theme, and john rhys-meyers' crooning as the Irish singer of a rock band. Watch this with your family, and tell your kids you love them when you do. Sometimes, as realized when I viewed this film...you truly don't know what you have til it's gone...hey, and miracles CAN happen!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Uplifting!

    Music is one of the things that guides me in life. I grew up singing, playing instruments, writing music, and always dreaming of singing for millions (a dream I still have)! This movie verifies all the reasons I love music so much. The soundtrack employs all genres of music and highlights the best parts of the different genres, the acting was great and each actor made you feel what they were feeling, the plot was perfectly balanced, it was never rushed and the development of each character happened at the right time, and a perfect balance between witness, drama, action, romance,etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Escape Flic

    The story is listed as a modern fairy tale and it certainly stretches the bounds of reality. Freddie Highmore once again proves himself to be a compelling child actor. The music is wonderful and the notion that music is everywhere came through loud and clear. What was even more impressive was the talent of Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Keri Russell as they performed some of their own music. Robin Williams was interesting and a little stereotyped as a Fagen like musician, child exploiter. It was hard to decide whether he was going for a more sympathetic character or an evil one. Overall this was an enjoyable , escapist film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    I was surprised at how good this movie was. It's what "The Soloist" should have been, an inspiring story with beautiful music. I love all the music in it, and the Irish accents. If you like music, watch this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching movie to watch over and over

    This is a very inspirational movie that is touching and heartwarming. I recommend it strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feel the music of life

    The movie introduces a young man who is acutely in tune with the "music" of the universe. With a musically rich soundtrack that you will feel in your soul, two lost souls reunite through the perserverence of a child. Heartwarming family film! Find a quiet spot to watch it and feel the music for yourself!

    An amazing cast!
    Robin Williams, Terrance Howard, Keri Russell(TV's Felicity), Freddie Highmore(Charlie & the Chocolate Factory) and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers

    My students all loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational for music lovers

    I absolutely loved this movie, everything about it. I had to watch it several times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Film

    This film surprised me in becoming one of my favorite movies of all time. The plot, while simple, is heart warming, sad, and sweet. I honestly did not think I would like it, but the show was beatifully done, and the use of music to tie the plot together was fun and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    August Rush is a share-able

    I have so enjoyed this movie that I've begun to share it by buying it as gifts for others. Perhaps it isn't as much the ratings on the individual categories as it is an overall feeling you walk away with having seen the movie. This is one of those rare movies that makes you feel good about what life can become. Not a chick flix but it is for those who enjoy a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovely story

    What I like about this film was the soundtrack...with a beautiful love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredibly moving

    Tears from beginning to end; some sorrow, mostly of joy. A very emotionalal movie, with a great plot. Anticipation, energy, amazement, joy, and hope. If you are a musician and understand prodigy, a hopeless romantic, and love children... then this movie was written for you and will be the best movie of your life. If not, you will love it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent heartwarming story

    acting was very good, the story line was excellent,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow...truly amazing...

    I loved this movie SO MUCH, I almost cried! And it takes a lot to make me do so. This movie was phenomenal...and Freddie Highmore was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful movie love the music

    I loved this movie. It was something that really touched my heart. I found myself hoping as much as Lyla and lewis and August did. Some people I know wanted more at the ending. But I just let my imagination go and the ending was perfect. We should have more movies like this. I loved the music so very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie on Earth!

    August Rush was the best movie I have ever seen and I want to see it over and over again but I can't because I don't own it. August Rush is the best movie on Earth!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was pleasantly surprised!

    I didn't think I would like it because I thought it was a little far fetched. But I realized that this movie is a fairytale set to modern times. We know that any state wouldn't let kids "willfully" run around with a man like Wizard, or let a kid go into a church and stay there to move onto Julliard. That's why there called movies but the underlying love lost aspect really gets to you. The music is beautifully composed in a way that I actully paid attention to the soundtrack while the story was evolving. I loved loved loved the rhapsody at the end. It may not be for everyone, but I really enjoyed it. It was refreshing to watch something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cynicism overtakes too much of life

    What a pity. Our jaded culture has produced too many people who can't let go of their need for reality as entertainment. I'm no great critic. I just know when my heart is touched by a story. Immerse yourself in a fairy tale. See August Rush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful movie

    this is one of the best movies I ever watched in my life... it made me cry, laugh and fall in love with the characters!!! Beautiful movie!!! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trite and totally unbelievable

    I LOVE music and have utmost respect and admiration for those lucky folks who can create it well. With that said, I could barely stomach this film. It was so cheesy! C'mon, in what state would a child be given up for adoption while its mother is passed out cold? Robin Williams' character was superflous and the whole "house full of abandoned musical children" gave me the creeps. I was bitterly disappointed with this film. I expected a lot more. To top it off, I didn't shed a tear, and I cry at commercials. Blah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oliver Twist redefined

    All I can say is wow, what an awesome film. Great acting all around, great music, great story. A movie you want to watch over and over again. The ending can seem a little open-ended like you want to see more of a conclusion, but at the same time it seems very appropriate when the main plot of the film is for August (Evan) to have his music bring his parents to him. This movie is almost a new take on Charles Dickens Oliver Twist and I can't highly reccommend this film enough. A great movie for the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4