Customer Reviews for

Auntie Mame

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meet the incomparable Auntie Mame!

    Everyone should have an Auntie Mame in their life, a bold, wise, vivacious woman who advises them, "Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!" (I'm certainly going to do my best to be an Auntie Mame for my own nieces and nephews.) But if you can't find an Auntie Mame among your friends and family, Rosalind Russell's film version is a wonderful alternative. Auntie Mame, the film, is funny, bright and vivid, and filled with crazy characters that could only have come from Patrick Dennis' life experiences. It draws you in so readily that before long you'll find yourself considering Mame's life lessons as though they were meant for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Mame

    I love this move is makes me cry and laugh every time I see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than I remembered

    Wanted to share this memory with people who didn't see it the first time around, and the film was much better than I remembered. Those plot lines that were shocking the first time were charming now; the funny parts were still funny, and the acting was delightful. The messages were the same, and yet subtly different... well worth having around to enjoy again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disregard review of Sept 2009

    ...unless you are not a fan of funny, clever and intelligent dialogue. I wouldn't write a scathing review of a Rambo movie, despite my despising that genre, because there are clearly people who like those movies, and I wouldn't want to skew the ratings unfairly.

    This is one of Rosalind Russell's best performances, if not the best. It was first a book, then adapted for Broadway, and this film was based on the Broadway show. A musical version was later produced for Broadway, and then a musical film based on that was done. This movie is the only way to see it now, with Rosalind Russell herself, and a great supporting cast. It's one of my comfort movies I plug in when there is nothing good on and I don't know what I'm in the mood for...I'm always in the mood for this, and can start watching at any point in the movie. If you're a fan of Ms Russell, then you've probably already seen the classics "The Women" and "His Girl Friday"...if not--watch them as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    I had been told how great and funny Auntie Mame was. Years later I found it and bought it having never viewed it before. Hated it! It drug on, the story was done in snippets and had content that I didn't like at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Knowledge is Power!"

    Nobody could teach ten year olds to mix the martinis like Auntie Mame, everyone's favorite eccentric...The only real criticism I hear about this classic is that it was filmed like a stage play. Well it was done purposely and it works...Auntie Mame is bigger than life. Roz Russell puts her unique stamp on this role no matter what she is doing: ruining a play, snagging up a switchboard, winning a fox hunt, or teaching her nephew all the words he doesn't understand. Come join the party and don't "step on the ping-pong ball"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deliciously incorrect

    This movie was so politically incorrect in its time, and it's just as politically incorrect now. I laughed and laughed, and I laughed hardest at the scenes with the in-laws, the Yul Ullu furniture, and the pickled rattlesnake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Endearing

    I have not seen a funnier movie-ever. And never was an actress so perfectly cast for a role. Roz Russell keeps coming at you!The scenes-I can't say which is funniest-the moving furniture when she meets the in laws-putting on the hair piece when she has a horrible hangover and has to look respectable for the bankers-trying to walk to the horse with boots two sizes too small-getting on the horse-her as a switchboard operator-I'm laughing as I'm thinking of these scenes. It's campy and physical enough that younger viewers would get a laugh out it too. Certainly a family film. I would not suggest popcorn though- I honestly think you might choke from laughing too hard!!! Gather the family and watch it. (Sorry I love Lucy but her version does not even come close to the original)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We watch this every time we come across it on t.v.

    This movie is one of our family's favorites. We never tire of watching it. Mame as a switchboard operator? Hilarious! And who could watch her walking towards the horse she's about to mount for her first fox hunt without laughing out loud? Amazingly very few people I've ever talked to have seen this movie. Please don't miss it. Satisfaction guaranteed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Positive & Uplifting!

    Grab a bowl of popcorn, your favorite drink, a cuddly blank and let "Auntie Mame" roll! This is by far my favorite film. It's a guarantee shot in the arm for me when I'm down or not feeling well. Rosalind Russell's character is alive and motivating. Always focusing on the positive no matter what troubles arise. I laugh everytime as it were the first time viewing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    High Camp at its Finest

    This movie is both thoughtful and hilarious starting with Russell's over the top portrayal of Mame, and continuing blithely to the interactions and conflicts one sees when her bohemian world clashes with the more straight-laced facets of society. The dialog is brilliant as are the sets and costumes. Truly a Silver Screen classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yucky?!?!? Get a grip...

    'Auntie Mame' is a classic, and definitely a must-have on my list. As I am a life-long film buff and collector of videos/DVDs, it is simply not possible for me to take 'yucky!' seriously. Unless, of course, 'yucky!' is a child who simply does not get it. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yucky !

    Rosalind Russell, dose not do a good job in this movie she overly acts and her costumes are not accurate of that period. I recommend that you try Lucille Balls, version of Mame 1974, its full of fun and good laughs !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My all time favorite 'BEATNIKY' movie!

    This is a halarious movie that everyone should see! I love these kind of 'modern/'beatnicky' ' type movies! I love everything about this movie from the way Mame decorates her apt. to her 'new age' way of thinking. After seeing this movie you'll wish you had an 'Auntie Mame'. I saw Lucielle Ball's version (titled 'Mame') and sure, I love Lucy but, 'Mame' frankly sucked in comparision to 'Auntie Mame'. If you loved this you should also see Shirley MacLaine in 'What A Way To Go!'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MY ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE

    This movie has been my favorite since I was a teenager many years ago. I laugh everytime I see it. My favorite seen is when Mame is riding the horse during the fox hunt. I highly reccomend this movie with a bowl of popcorn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EVERYBODY'S FAVORITE AUNT IS ALIVE & WELL!

    Simply one of my favorite films and characters ever - I've seen it many times in many of its incarnations on stage & screen, but Roz Russell and this film are The Real Thing. This movie and I have sort of grown up together, from seeing it first on television (often in the middle of the night, on the late-late show - my mother & I used to set the alarm clock to wake us up to watch it!), to videocassette to Letterboxed videocassette and now to its sparkling DVD transfer. It also launched my hobby of collecting AUNTIE MAMEorabilia - books, theatre programs, etc. (thank heavens for Ebay!) which covers two walls of my living-room. Now, with the film on DVD, the original novel back in print, and with a TV remake of the musical MAME supposedly in the works. Everybody's Favorite Aunt is alive and well and here captivate to a new generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Comedy for all ages

    What I find facinating about this movie is it's so well-acted and thoughtful with it's attention to detail, that you can come back to it about 1,000 times over, and still find something even funnier about it than with the first viewing. I have loved this film since I was a little girl, and my Dad would cringe at the sound of Mame's voice in the background (a very funny memory of mine)! I have seen the version that Lucile Ball did, and I am so much more a fan of this one that Lucy's version. Please take the message of this delightful movie with you wherever you go, ''That life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!'' ENJOY ALL THAT LIFE HAS TO OFFER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GRRRREAT!

    this is a great movie of love and comedy. Mame is great character that is always changing the theme to her house, which is very fun to watch! and patrick, her nephew, comes to live with her, while she has no idea how to take care of him, she learns to love him and to take care of him throughout the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yay for Mame!

    This is one of the most charming, warm and funny movies ever! Rosalind Russell is great as ''Auntie Mame,'' always so flamboyant and big-hearted. I think the funniest scenes are when Mame meets her nephew, Patrick's, fiancee's parents. A great movie to enjoy with the family, your friends or whenever you feel like a laugh. The only thing I tihnk would turn off some people is that it is quite long, so people who do not like to watch movies and/or fall asleep, probably shouldn't watch this. BUt then they'd miss a hilarious film!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    uplifting-hilarious-wonderful!

    Always loved this movie....pop it in to laugh, to cry and simply to feel better and regain a zest for life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2