Customer Reviews for

Avatar

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow, No Reviews Yet?

I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies t...
I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies that were 100% original, we wouldn't have half as many movies as we do today, certainly not a handful every Friday. But that is neither here nor there. This was my favorite movie of 2009, and I didn't even see it in 3-D. Avatar is full of analogies to the behavior of our race and government. There are allegories in there that could be interpretted a number of ways. It just leaves you thinking. Very rarely does a movie grab me like this does. Not only do I recommend this (and damn near beg you to watch it), but I recommend you purchase a copy. The visual effects are absolutely captivating. It deserves more than the *4 Oscars* it already won.

posted by Apollo_Faint-Of-Hearts on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tad overrated.

I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of ...
I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of the likes of Ferngully and Pocahontas, just with blue, hippy-catlike aliens creatures instead of fairies or indians. Plus most of the characters are poorly delevoped. The main character seems like a meathead most of the time and just does whatever anyone around him tells him to do, except for when he gets to use his legs. The bad guy or guys are completely heartless for no apparent reason other than they think the aliens are savage without ever telling you why they believe this. It's a good movies, I just wouldn't put the title "classic" on it. There are no original ideas here at all. Even the humore isn't really all that funny when you think about it.

posted by DEMONTHE7TH on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, No Reviews Yet?

    I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies that were 100% original, we wouldn't have half as many movies as we do today, certainly not a handful every Friday. But that is neither here nor there. This was my favorite movie of 2009, and I didn't even see it in 3-D. Avatar is full of analogies to the behavior of our race and government. There are allegories in there that could be interpretted a number of ways. It just leaves you thinking. Very rarely does a movie grab me like this does. Not only do I recommend this (and damn near beg you to watch it), but I recommend you purchase a copy. The visual effects are absolutely captivating. It deserves more than the *4 Oscars* it already won.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Roller coaster ride

    We saw "Avatar" shortly after it came out last year and I must say I have never seen a movie that left my heart pounding almost two hours after the end of the film. We saw "Avatar" in 2D and I am sure glad we did. Even in 2D the special effects were outstanding as Jake would say. The flying sequences were spectacular and dizzying. So, dizzying,
    in fact, I had to close my eyes a couple of times. To be honest, I couldn't tell where the "real world" ended and the special effects came into play. I intend to buy this DVD and enjoy it again and again. BTW- The sound track is also just as outstanding as the film.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A tad overrated.

    I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of the likes of Ferngully and Pocahontas, just with blue, hippy-catlike aliens creatures instead of fairies or indians. Plus most of the characters are poorly delevoped. The main character seems like a meathead most of the time and just does whatever anyone around him tells him to do, except for when he gets to use his legs. The bad guy or guys are completely heartless for no apparent reason other than they think the aliens are savage without ever telling you why they believe this. It's a good movies, I just wouldn't put the title "classic" on it. There are no original ideas here at all. Even the humore isn't really all that funny when you think about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie had it all for me! Seeing such an exciting film in 3D put me in the action of a plausible future for the entire duration of the movie. A "very well done!" to all who brought us "AVATAR."

    Movies of this caliber come to infrequently in my estimation. From the beginning of this epic film to its credits, the viewer cannot help but be absorbed in the story, its plot, its fantacy and its plausability.

    I'll need to purchase a 3D TV now and get a 3D copy of this great film. In my book, it should have been voted best picture at the recent awards, but politics exist in the film industry as well as in Washington DC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    This is the best movie I have ever seen in my lifetime. I am no

    This is the best movie I have ever seen in my lifetime. I am not even kidding. The plot is awesome, the visuals were AMAZING, the script was awesome...... The whole thing was like as if you were on a two hour rollercoaster ride and every bit of it was exciting!! I dont care what other people say about this movie, about how stupid it is and all that stuff. If you have not seen this movie, you need to find the nearest movie rental place or best buy or something, get the movie avatar, and WATCH IT!!!! I cant wait for Avatar 2!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I am very glad I did NOT see this movie when it was released in

    I am very glad I did NOT see this movie when it was released in the movie theaters. The director's cut is so much better than the release version. I did not mind the two DVD showing because it allowed a needed "break" and that is why this was not the released in the theaters. I have seen this movie on TV (several times), the released version (once in this DVD), and the director's cut (about five+ times) and I just got the DVD about two weeks ago. The director's cut is the best. It is the version that has the most complete story line. If you enjoy seeing the "good guys" win, this is your movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    I would give this a B-

    My opinion is it's a good movie and they made it look like if you they actully existed. They made seem like there living in are time period and I liked how they had a device they could change them to diffrent people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Avatar

    Initially concieved in 1999 as Cameron's follow up to Titanic, Avatar was put on hold when Cameron realized the technology did not exist yet to support his vision. Over the course of the next decade, Cameron created much of the technology he needed to make this movie possible. In 2002, Cameron watched The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, and through the character of Gollum realized that his vision was finally possible. Twelve years have passed since the release of James Cameron's Titanic, will his new film prove that Cameron is still "King of the World"?
    Much has been made of Cameron's Avatar long before it's release. Hailed as a revolution in 3D and CGI technology, Avatar holds a lot of expectations, not the least of which is the fact that the budget and marketing for this film add up to approximately half a billion dollars, making it the most expensive movie ever made. Of course, Cameron has been here before. Titanic cost $200 million to make, the largest budget for a feature film at the time, and just when it looked like it was going to goose that laid the rotten egg it proceeded to make $1.8 billion worldwide, making it the highest grossing film of all time. Cameron's also not new to the idea of revolutionizing the world of film with almost every movie he makes: with The Abyss he had the first all digital water effect, with Terminator 2 he had the first CGI character with realistic movement, and so on. Can lightning strike yet again?
    This movie is a movie that has to be seen the way it was intended to truly get the fully immersive experience. I watched the trailers on TV and online, and none of that compared to seeing the film in theaters in 3D. With Avatar, Cameron has truly outdone himself. When District 9 came out, I raved about the CGI effects in that movie, but Avatar is a whole other monster. With Avatar you truly cannot tell where the CGI begins and reality ends and vice versa, and on top of that it is the most beautiful film I've ever seen, CGI or otherwise. On top of that, Cameron's new 3D cameras create an experience that is in no way uncomfortable. No headaches and no motion sickness for those of you who suffer from that sort of thing. Instead, you get a highly immersive experience that leaves you begging for more (which is saying something, considering the film's run time is 162 minutes) and wanting to return when you leave.
    I think this movie is going to be the revolution of movies that Cameron believes it's going to be. I've seen reviewers compare it to The Wizard of Oz (the movie to truly lead the color revolution) and King Kong (the 1933 version, which revolutionized special effects), and I wholeheartedly agree. I still can't completely fathom what I just saw, and will probably see it at least one more time on the big screen if not more. Anyone who's into film, the tech of film, or just wants to keep up with where film is going in the future should see this film. On top of that, this movie touches on so many different genres (SciFi, fantasy, romance, war films, drama, etc.) that it will appeal to almost everyone. Once again, James Cameron is "King of the World"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW ! Was I Suprised !

    I have never been a fan of movies such as Star Wars, etc, but AVATAR completely took my by suprised in a very good way. I watched a documentary on how this movie was put together, the real they put into the realness..Zoe Saldanas character is overall my favorite, she gave life to a very passionate character..BRAVO ! The first time I watched it, there was a wee bit of sensor overload due to the the whole Pandora/Human world. But I watched it again the next night and I can now say that AVATAR now occupies my favorite movies ( not to say that any other preveious favorites are loved any less ). I'm not sure if I am correct about the ending but as the movie ended I ( of course wanted more ) wasn't pleased there wasn't more to it..BUT if this is to lead AVATAR fans to hope for more then I can understand because it did leave me with that feeling of more to come ( I hope so ). TO all who put this beautifully unique movie together..BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO...I took a walk outside the box and now look forward to ? We shall see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar Falls Short

    First, I the 3D effects were at best, distracting, and at worst, confusing. That is, the 3d effects got in the way of the cinematagraphy, which was a particular problem for me in the climactic action scene. The plotting was fractured, and the acting was two dimensional; the bad guys were all bad and the heores were too virtuous. It was an exciting experience, nonetheless, even though it did not merit a major award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Avatar: Cowboys & Indians, where the Indians finally Win!

    How do you feel when you experience a place where things are sort of but not quite the same as you know? That's what Avatar is like--a place which you can identify with, but has such fantastic, wonderous plants, animals and "people" that you are at once drawn to it, fascinated and yet repelled. I say the latter because I myself could not ever live in such a place, but I can very much sympathize with the characters who inhabit it, both human and not human! I saw Avatar 9 times, in all modes of viewing, bought the soundtrack and then the movie. I plan to see the new version in August (something about adding something to the movie?). And I look forward to the sequel (to be an underwater world on Pandora). The visual, music and story combine for me to be an experience that I never want to go away! I highly recommend it to all ages, to simply enjoy and immerse yourselves in the flow of the movie. To hear that ten years had to pass before this movie could be made is believable--and James Cameron needs to be revered for his vision and perserverance in producing this wonderful fantasy. I can't believe it did not win as Best Movie at the Oscars--to have honored a war movie like the "Hurt Locker" was an affront to the sensibilities of the artistry produced by Avatar. See it--savour it, and enjoy it, as I have--you won't regret your time & money, I promise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A special-effects triumph

    Watching James Cameron's "Avatar" I couldn't help wishing we had evolved from an ancestor of lemurs instead of chimps, so we too, like the Na'Vi, could have tails. Those very tall, very slim, yellow-eyed blue-skinned Pandorians are hot. And like the rest of the movie, an amazing technical special-effects triumph. To be enjoyed for what it is, redeeming a typical Hollywood action-movie plot of the sort beloved of fourteen-year-olds: will the bad guys win? The good guys? Will the cavalry arrive in time? Heavily seasoned of course with high-tech machinery, mostly military, a level of equipment lust beloved of twenty-somethings, the sort who might have fonder memories of their first cars than first girlfriends. The plot, such as it is, is flavored with a cowboys versus Indians conflict straight out of the old Westerns, with an added environmental subtext. The Na'Vi fight to preserve their ancient culture against the coming of cattle, barbed wire and the railroad. . . er, I mean against miners destructively exploiting their sacred homeland in the service of corporate greed. It's classic. Too much mayhem and an overly loud soundtrack toward the end, but that too is part of the formula. And of course the good guys do win! More or less. This is one to just sit back and enjoy, it's huge fun, and satisfying even at home on the small screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    Avatar is a mind-blowing development of future human history. It follows humanity the way we are now into an unknown and unpredictable series of events and discoveries and persistently poses the question to the audience, What would you do? What do you think about a new race of creatures who are like us and not like us, and how would you treat them? Are they obstacles in the way of progress to be conquered and cast aside? Do they have any inalienable rights? Should we embrace them or kill them? Our answers tell us more about who we are than who they are and should be considered with caution. In many ways, Avatar reminds me of the way our ancestors treated Native Americans when the white man first arrived here, but it goes much deeper than that. With extraordinary grace and phenomenal graphic style, Avatar leads us through a maze of complicated politics, scientific breakthroughs and soul-searching questions, and that's just the earthbound side of the story. The Na'vi community embraces and respects all of life's creatures, expresses a oneness with nature that most modern humans will never know, and defends themselves with fierce skill that defies human understanding. What we as humans really do not understand at the heart of it is that it makes them sad to fight us, but they know they must or be destroyed. We want something they have, and we want it badly enough to destroy anyone who gets in the way, including all of them. How they respond to the threat of annihilation is the stuff of legends. Avatar is definitely a must-see, and to see ourselves and each other like the Na'vi see is truly remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Movie

    Graphics are awesome, story line an updated version of bad gov. types vs. nature. But it still an excellent movie. Worth the price for stunning visuals alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    Excellent movie with thought provoking message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bland as Stale Bread

    This was a shallow and tasteless movie that had me squirming and readjusting in my seat nearly the entire time. I was restless for this wrung out story to finally land in the predictable ending we all knew was coming. The visuals were nice to look at but after an hour and a half (just half way through) even that lost the little novelty that it had. This movie was just a rip-off of almost every other story you've likely seen countless times before. It excercizes pantheism to the fullest extent and people don't seem to mind that. As far as being a thought provoking story or stimulating one's imagination (in the non-visual sense), you might as well examine a spoon. How this movie has earned the most money in history is beyond me and makes me weep for how low this country's expectations have stooped. If you want good visuals and a good story, you might as well watch a Dreamworks cartoon. And I hate Dreamworks cartoons.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Expected more

    After hearing all the rave reviews about this movie, I expected it to be a bit more exciting. Don't get me wrong the movie was good, but not spectacular. I did enjoy watching it on blue ray, the graphics are amazing! If you want to truly see the capability of a blue ray, this is the movie to get. The movie is extremely long. It lasted almost 3 hours and I think they could have made it a bit shorter, which would have made the movie better. So when you watch this movie, grab a snack, you are going to be there for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie

    The special effects and scenery were absolutely beautiful. The story message was very classic with a futuristic setting. Although set in a fantasy world the key message of honoring and protecting our planet is important today. The characters were well developed and you fall in love with them throughout the movie. The creativity in creating the animals was beautiful and astounding. It is a very moving story about peoples love, respect and deep connection with their land and each other. It's about surviving an invasion, defending their homeland, and rejoicing in the end. I highly recommend this movie for young and old alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar

    It is a good movie. Special effects are great. Overall good and worth adding to your dvd collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar is one of the most beautiful movies - worth watching

    I went to see Avatar at the theater with my 15 year old granddaughter not expecting to be overly thrilled with it. To my surprise it was one of the most beautiful movies, scenery wise, that I have ever seen. I enjoyed it so much I purchased a copy to have at home so we could watch it as many times as we wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19