Customer Reviews for

Avatar

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow, No Reviews Yet?

I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies t...
I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies that were 100% original, we wouldn't have half as many movies as we do today, certainly not a handful every Friday. But that is neither here nor there. This was my favorite movie of 2009, and I didn't even see it in 3-D. Avatar is full of analogies to the behavior of our race and government. There are allegories in there that could be interpretted a number of ways. It just leaves you thinking. Very rarely does a movie grab me like this does. Not only do I recommend this (and damn near beg you to watch it), but I recommend you purchase a copy. The visual effects are absolutely captivating. It deserves more than the *4 Oscars* it already won.

posted by Apollo_Faint-Of-Hearts on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tad overrated.

I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of ...
I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of the likes of Ferngully and Pocahontas, just with blue, hippy-catlike aliens creatures instead of fairies or indians. Plus most of the characters are poorly delevoped. The main character seems like a meathead most of the time and just does whatever anyone around him tells him to do, except for when he gets to use his legs. The bad guy or guys are completely heartless for no apparent reason other than they think the aliens are savage without ever telling you why they believe this. It's a good movies, I just wouldn't put the title "classic" on it. There are no original ideas here at all. Even the humore isn't really all that funny when you think about it.

posted by DEMONTHE7TH on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 19
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and very good movie.

    I had heard so...much about this movie I thought I should really go see this picture but never made it to the show than it came out on DVD and I finally watched it the other day and found this movie to be very good but too many puns in the movie with what is going on in the world today. Apart of going to watch a movie is to excape from the world for a couple hours even though this movie was visually colorful and quite entertaining I could see why it did not get best picture at the Ocars. I would recommend for anyone and everyone to see the movie it is wroth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Since LOTR

    When Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King came out, I never thought another moive could ever surpass all that came in that movie. That was until I saw James Cameron's Avatar. This movie is a breathtaking, heartpounding, wonderful movie. The effects rule the movie, but without the great perfomance of Sam Worthington (Jake), Zoe Saldana (Neytri), and others it would never have been able to make it out of a bad cliche. The performances are great and even when the characters are digital, I see and feel raw human emotions. The effects are breathtaking and make me feel like I am rigt on Pandora with everyone. If you have not seen this movie it is a must see. Even if you are not a science fiction or fantasy person, there is something in this movie for everyone. The music is amazing and will help you engross yourself in the world that is Pandora.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    James Cameron does it again!

    Although he lost the Oscar to his ex-wife, james Cameron shows that he is still King of the World with this 3D movie. Avatar was unlike anything we've seen and is one of the most visually beautiful movies ever made. I saw it in IMAX 3D and it was incredible, On the small screen it's still beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's out of this world!

    Instead of renting Avatar, we decided to buy this movie because of all the wonderful things we had heard about it from friends and family who actually saw it in the movie theater. From the time it began, it kept my interest. It was visually awesome and "their world" was breathtakingly beautiful. I, like many others, did not like the Colonel who was compelled to use force whenever he felt like it but all the other characters were incredibly likable. I wanted "justice" to prevail and thoroughly enjoyed the movie from beginning to end. Before you watch it, set aside any preconceived ideas of what the movie does or does not portray. You'll absolutely want to see this movie!!! Watch it today!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    outstanding visual extravaganza with underlying warning of how greed can destroy what is really important.

    great message movie wrapped in an action-packed escapist package. The actors really get lost in the computer-generated portions of the movie, but hold their own during the "live action" segments. The villains are two dimensional, cliches, but all the better to boo. You have the typical money grubbing industrialist who is willing to destroy the blue-skinned natives of pandora, so long as it doesn't cause any adverse publicity. A military commander who is champing at the bit to blow things up, just because he can. The natives of pandora are very much in tune with their planet. it is an integral part of their being. you can almost see the european despoiling of the new land of america as they destroyed the native peoples way of life. even if you are not much on message movies, avatar is still worth viewing as a fine sci-fi action movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar on blue-ray

    My first blue-ray movie and it is amazing. I am glad to have it in my movie colltion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie - Avatar

    Excellent movie and great special effects. It was a totally great storyline. You fell in love with the animation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    This movie is a bit long but well worth it. I have heard from some friends the quality of the picture was not great. I think it was because they did not have an HD TV. I would suggest checking the kind of DVD you are getting and asking if the picture will look a little different on your television before purchasing. The movie itself is very awe-inspiring. The visuals are incredible. I was just blown away by the atmosphere it created and I could not take my eyes away from the television. It is essentially a war movie but there is a love story tied in there too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie for All Times!!!

    What a movie!!! The plot, the characters, the special effects! All amazing! Now I know why this movie took nearly 16 years to make. Because back then the effects they had would not be able to deliver what the effects delivered in this time of special effects. Every time I watch this movie it re-opens my mind to new things and lets me explore other "worlds" through my imagination. Everyone that I have watched this movie with or has seem this movie, all agree that this movie should be an instant classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Escapism with a bit of a plot

    I thought Avatar was just okay. To me it seemed a little too long, but there was a bit of a story line to follow. I'm glad I waited to rent it as I don't think this movie would have been worth standing in line for. Seeing it at home I missed the 3D effects perhaps but there still was quite a bit of visuals to enjoy. Just not enough to compensate for the rest of the movie which I found disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Hype - not sure it lives up to it!

    Let me start with: Welcome back Sigourney! She is super in Avatar and she brings back her tough Alien character that we all loved. The movie itself is very long and probably could have been cut by at lease 1/2 hour. The visual efffects are incredible and at some point you actually forget that the scenes and characters involving the Avatar are all generated by computer...it is filmed that well! BUT: the story is just okay. It is a must-see at some point due to the technological advances in computer graphic imagery, but I say: rent it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar

    I love this movie! What a great story. You get drama, heroism, connection to nature, and love - who can ask for more. The visuals and music are fantastic. I've watched it 3 times and will more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Briliantly fantastic

    The special effects are truly stunning. The music is wonderful. The story theme is worthy of our attention. One movie I will want to watch many times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good over evil

    Reminded me of Star Wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar...no surprise it took the awards it did.

    This is a visually exciting movie with and excellent thought provoking plot. Lends one to consider that we should always keep an open mind to the needs of others even if they are different.

    The ecological message was profound to say the least. I would highly recommend this movie!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is one I will watch many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than in the theater.

    I enjoyed this in the theater, but more so at home. While the plot has elements of things seen before, it is well acted and adds its own flair.

    Some may find parallels between the military-industrial complex or ecological issues as well as heavy handed dealings with indigent populations. I found the handling of these three topics to be balanced and used in such a way as to further the story.

    Take what you will from the "messages" in the movie or just enjoy it as a well-told story and excellent entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW...simply WOW

    From start to finish, I was drawn into the movie..what an exciting visual experience..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Unique

    One of the most inspirational and interesting movies to come out in the last 20 years. Cameron's ideas are truly brought to life by the latest in computer graphics. Not a movie to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A-MA-ZING

    This movie was amazing in theaters and is equally amazing watching it on my home television. The special effects are breath-taking, the soundtrack makes my heart stop and the plot obviously states the path on which the United States is traveling. I could watch this movie over and over and over and never get bored. WATCH IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 19