BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Avatar

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow, No Reviews Yet?

I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies t...
I've heard quite a few people say that the plot of this is taken from a lot of books/movies. To that I say: Oh well. Especially this day and age, originality is harder to come by. Just like in music, it is okay to recycle through past ideas. If we only accepted movies that were 100% original, we wouldn't have half as many movies as we do today, certainly not a handful every Friday. But that is neither here nor there. This was my favorite movie of 2009, and I didn't even see it in 3-D. Avatar is full of analogies to the behavior of our race and government. There are allegories in there that could be interpretted a number of ways. It just leaves you thinking. Very rarely does a movie grab me like this does. Not only do I recommend this (and damn near beg you to watch it), but I recommend you purchase a copy. The visual effects are absolutely captivating. It deserves more than the *4 Oscars* it already won.

posted by Apollo_Faint-Of-Hearts on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tad overrated.

I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of ...
I thought this movie was a little bit overrated. For me I guess it doesn't really stand out from other decent movies aside from the 3Dness. Sure it has gorgeous visuals and special effects, but even those are crammed down your throat. The story is an exact replica of the likes of Ferngully and Pocahontas, just with blue, hippy-catlike aliens creatures instead of fairies or indians. Plus most of the characters are poorly delevoped. The main character seems like a meathead most of the time and just does whatever anyone around him tells him to do, except for when he gets to use his legs. The bad guy or guys are completely heartless for no apparent reason other than they think the aliens are savage without ever telling you why they believe this. It's a good movies, I just wouldn't put the title "classic" on it. There are no original ideas here at all. Even the humore isn't really all that funny when you think about it.

posted by DEMONTHE7TH on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie - worth the investment

    Not necessarily a movie you'll whip out to watch once a month, but you'll be glad you have it on the shelf at home when guests come over. It's an exciting movie, without too intricate of a plot that you can keep up with even if you're distracted doing housework. It's highly creative and enjoyable, four thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Avatar: an unforgettable experience!

    Avatar is Ferngully meets blue man group on steroids! This film was more than I would have ever imagined. While it was short on script, the visuals more than made up for it. The colors and depth of the visuals made me want to give up my day job and move to Pandora. All of my earth friendly friends said the same thing: we want to move to Pandora.

    Kudos for a film that brings to light the environmental issues facing our world in a palatable manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing affects with fairly good story

    Overall the story is not a "new" story, but it is entertaining and fun to watch. The effects are really breathtaking....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful picture

    After having heard all of the rhetoric in advance and during this films run in the theaters, I was anxious to have it in my Library. This is a marvelous film and well worth the honors given it. So many times I find that the Academy Award for a film just does not make it an interesting product to view, but this one was well made and had all of the story line, plot and acting that was necessary to bring it to life. I became engrossed in the picture and really want to carry on the story of the world of Pandora. This is one of the best produced pictures that I have had the privilege of viewing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An unforgettable adventure!!!

    I will be honest, the plot is cliché. However, for a movie that last roughly three hours you will not be disappointed. When i first heard about it I thought it would be - well, cliché, but then i went to see it and feel in love with it. The beauty of Pandora that Cameron has created is breath taking and is something i have never seen before. I enjoyed characters like Grace and Col. Miles Quaritch who gave the movie unique personality that makes you want to continue watching the film.
    I am sure that you maybe thinking it's just another 'Dances with wolves' or 'Fern gully', perhaps 'Pocahontas', but trust me when i say that even though the plot is cliché it is worth watching. Please, don't pass it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a Great Movie

    This movie was put together in a very clever way, bridging modern science with spiritual ethos. It was fast moving and completely enjoyable. Must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can Hollywood just make a movie without standing on a soapbox?

    Can't they make a movie just to make a movie anymore? Just tell a story and call it a day. Most of us just want to be entertained, not politically boffed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Blu-ray version does not disappoint!

    We saw Avatar in 3D at the theater, so there was no way we expected the dvd to compare, but the visuals on this Blu-ray disc are so crisp and the audio features are impressive, too. An additional bonus...you get both the Blu-ray and a regular disc in this package, so you can give one as a gift to a friend or family member who does not own a Blu-ray player! Be sure to watch it once with subtitles on, since I was able to catch some of the dialogue (especially in the fast-paced action scenes) that I missed the first time through. If you didn't get a chance to see Avatar, you owe it to yourself to watch this timely film now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Avatar

    Avatar is such a great movie, exciting and interesting all the way to the end. Such a great story line. I love how they made a marine that was paralized a avatar person and watching him run for the first time was the best part of the movie. Then the movie keeps getting better. I will watch it for a third time soon as I love it. It was also great in 3 D! Ms. Weaver also plays a great part in the wonderful movie. I have recommended this movie to everyone I know. Feed back from them is also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great fantasy story with amazing special effects

    My family enjoyed this movie immensely, even though James Cameron's far-left environmentalist agenda has become nauseatingly preachy. If taken at face value though, the movie is enjoyable and fun. One can't deny that the special effects are mesmerizing and believable. It is a feast for the eyes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You Can't Miss This One!!

    This movie is one in a Million! My Husband and I just loved it! It definatly is one of those movies that has something in it for everyone in the family. From the action movie lover to the romance movie lover and everyone inbetween. The special effects were beyond belief, even on our non-hdtv. So, Grab your sweetheart, a bowl of pop corn and turn down the lights and get ready for the ride of your life because you won't be able to take your eyes off the screen for one second of Avatar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie!

    Avatar is one of those movies you can watch over and over again. Although the plot is extremely similar to the Disney movie Pocahontas, the stunning visual effects and talented cast make this movie one of a kind. Each character is unique and they can each stand alone for an in-depth analysis. If you love fantasy and excitement, this movie is definitely for you! Absolutely unforgettable and despite the length (almost 3 hours!) I was captivated the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it

    The plot is very simple. It's like Dancing with Wolves and Pocahontas all rolled into one with Awesome special effects. I've watched it about 3 times in the theater and 20 times since it's been out on DVD. It makes an awesome gift.

    I ordered my DVD on-line and the delivery was 3 days late. I have purchase many things on-line and this was the first time that the delivery was later than normal. I also tried tracking my shipment via the link that was attached to my shipment confirmation email and each time it said it was unable to find the tracking number.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story for Debate, Visuals less "Exciting" than on Big Screen

    Since just about anyone who will buy this already KNOWS the story, this review is on the actual DVD (2D version, no extras included).

    The movie - the plot - is still the same - even better when able to see it more than once, IMO. The reason I've not given this a FIVE STAR: This movie was MADE for a huge screen and to be seen in 3D. On the small screen - even a 40" one - much of the detail can be lost, as if looking at something from a tall building.

    However, don't let this deter you from purchasing this. The visuals are still very exciting without the 3D factor. The colors are vibrant, explode off the screen, and still able to amaze with the diversity of plants and animals that Cameron and his team concocted.

    Of course, the plot echoes what is happening on our planet - and has for hundreds of years. Viewers can discuss the merits and demerits of the "anti-military" tones of the film, the ecological overtones, the depth of corporate greed, whatever is your "take" on the movie and what you believe it means.

    For poor folks like us who do NOT have a media studio in their homes, we have come up with a good idea.

    If you have access to a projector, a blank wall (or one you can put even a white sheet against), hook your computer up to the projector and watch this on "a big screen," as it were :-).

    Great idea for a summer party!

    PEACE....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Cameron's colorful and emotional story will pull you into a beautiful new world.

    My family and I saw the highly anticipated Avatar opening day in 3D. Even in a soldout, crowded and noisy theater, we were all drawn into the film's beautiful story and landscapes. Cameron takes a simple idea - that we are all connected, and as such all life should be celebrated, and adds a military-bolstered greedy company willing to destroy everything in its path to get what it wants.

    The natives of Avatar, portrayed as a cross between Aborigines and Native Americans, are viewed by the marauding Earthlings as savages. A small group of scientists, along with an intelligence gathering Marine, find the Na'vi have a rich, complex society closely linked to its planet. When the military moves in, the scientists and the Marine must decide to stand with either their own species, and the Na'vi, whose religion centers on protecting what the Earthlings are determined to have, at any cost.

    No one can refute the beauty and detail of this film. Avatar is jaw-droppingly beautiful. We feared the detail of the 2D DVD version might suffer in comparison to the richness of the 3D theater experience, but were pleasantly surprised.

    There has been considerable criticism of Cameron's storyline, with many saying the theme of the movie is too simplistic, and hamhanded in the telling of the story. The theme is simple -- don't destroy what you don't understand (or indeed see no reason to understand), that we are all connected (a timely suggestion, considering our own planetary concerns), and that taking what you want without thought of consequence will lead to an eventual reckoning. These are all simple, yet profound, ideas. Cameron shares these ideas in a remarkably beautiful and innocent setting - perhaps it is the destruction of such, and our own parallels to that story, that has his critics so up in arms.

    I recommend this story for all ages. Our 13 year old aspiring filmmaker loved it, and was able to discuss with us many of the layers of the "simple" storyline. And, even if you don't like the "treehugger theme" (as I read in our newspaper review), you should see it just for the genius of film making. Cameron can afford to only film how and what he likes now -- and the awesome beauty of his creation is well worth the price of this DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great but without any extras

    The movie in the theater was awesome and obviously the company wanted to get a Blu-ray out as soon as possible with public interest still excited. But this edition is totally absent of any extras. It does include a standard definition disc (whose usefulness I don't understand). It is another attempt to get us to buy multiple versions of a movie: 1st the vanilla edition, then, 2nd the version with extras galore and finally (?), 3rd the Ultimate/Director's/Final Cut/ Can't live without version.
    And of course I fell for it. But to my defense I wanted the best disc out there to show off my home theater system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie of things to come.

    I'v been going to movies for the last 70 years and I would have to rate the best new movie I'V ever seen. Michael McCain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AVATAR... TRUE BLUE LOVE

    AVATAR... TRUE BLUE LOVE

    James Cameron's latest and biggest block buster ever...

    They story of man's exploits over a primitive culture, war and Hollywood's view on environmentalism as technology is after a fictional floating mineral.

    I loved the technical triumph of a story that seamlessly integrated 3 D technology into the story. I was not hit over the head with flaming arrows in cinema of the past. The simple magic of those floating "jelly fish" coming effortlessly into the third dimension.

    A slick spin on avatars in the real world of the future on a fictional planet. Beautiful graphics... beautiful scenery... a beautiful lush world... floating mountains... aerial battle... fantastic special effects

    a complex interrelated mystical planet... NOW TO CHECK IT OUT ON A 3D TV

    let me know what you think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must see

    Avatar is a really awesome movie. It kind of reminds me of a Pocahontas story or a spin off of "New world" in a way. The scenery is amazing and great special effects. It is definitely a movie I can watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!

    There is a reason this movie is the best selling of all time. It's an absolutely amazing movie! For those few people that haven't seen it and don't know the plot it's a lot like dances with wolves, meaning it's about americans thinking they know everything, learning about a new culture, but the hero of the story has a heart of gold and falls in love with the society and becomes a part of them. Only Avatar is on a completely other level. The scenery in the movie alone is enough to keep your interest for the whole three hours. It may be a three hour movie, but you'll want to watch it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19