Customer Reviews for

Back to the Future - 25th Anniversary Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Back to the Future Trilogy

    One of the most amazaing movies of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Back to the Future...again!

    I just watched the Back to the Future Trilogy on the 25th anniversary blu-ray release, and I hadn't cracked up that much in a long, long time. I was seven years old when the movie came out in theaters in 1985, and there are so many reasons why watching the whole triology again was so much fun. First of all, it's just such a great film series to watch. It's just as much fun today as the first day I saw it (and then proceeded to watch again and again and again). The acting is just fabulous. The story is really character driven. Even though it's got time travel and some cool effects, it's really about the character Marty, Doc Brown, and the whole gang. The actors really make the characters come to life, but also take it a step further so that they're almost caricatures but at the same time grounded, realistic, and believable. Marty is just that typical teenage kid that any American adolescent can connect with, so you just can't help but join him on his wild and crazy adventures. Doc Brown is totally that fun crazy scientist that every kid wishes was their uncle. Biff and all his incarnations is that burly and perfectly stupid bully that everyone just loves to hate. Then there's Marty's parents, so very Mom and Dad yet so vulnerable and human at the same time. The soundtrack is just so epic and perfect. I think putting this big-sound, epic-fantasy music mixed with 80's hip style really made it feel like an adventure in your own backyard. Next, it's just so awesome to see the 80s again. This film really captures the sensibilities of it's time, and I guess having been released in 1985, right in the smack middle of the 80s, really made it a marker, a touchstone of the times. I was in elementary school throughout the 80s, so I really felt just like a kid again watching it. The experience seeing it at 32 was oh-so-nostalgic of 3rd grade. I grew up with the generation of kids that sat in front of their tubes (not YouTube) watching G.I. Joe, Smurfs, Transformers, Rainbow Brite, and My Little Pony. Sure, it's fun to have seen Transformers and G.I. Joe in live action movies today (and I'm a little terrified of the Smurfs film coming up), especially when you go back to those cartoons today and think "Wow, I had low standards back then", but it's such a trip that a movie like Back To The Future is just as great to watch now as it was then. In fact, having become a writer and gotten to know the process of film making and how impossible it is to pull off a great film, I feel like I appreciate it so much more today as a masterpiece of entertainment and story-telling. Finally, the time-travel experience is absolutely perfected for me personally by the fact that this film was shot all in Los Angeles County. I grew up during the 80's in Whittier, CA, and the external high school scenes were shot at Whittier High School. Also, the mall parking lot where Marty blasts off into the past in the suped-up DeLorean was shot at the Puente Hills Mall, my neighborhood mall in my pre-teen and teen years. Seeing the footage of the mall when Robinsons and JCPenny were still there really took me back. And I noticed the Fudruckers that had turned into a Barnes and Nobles and marveled at the fact that that same Ross store is still there! The parking lot looked almost exactly the way it looks today. 25th anniversary indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    still waiting

    placed my order on 11/26 and it still hasnt arrived. finally received an email saying my order was shipped on 12/9, but its been 6 days and it still hasnt made it out of the state of kentucky. so much for "item usually ships within 24 hours" and "estimated delivery time 2-6 days". i wont be ordering from B&N again, would recommend you dont either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Another great buy

    The best trilogy of the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Having all three movies in one kit is great.

    Michael J. Fox makes this rather strange trio of Sci Fi entertaining beyond belief. Doc is a character and Lea Thompson is sexy mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back to the Future: The Complete Trilogy

    i have always wonderd can time travel be possible? i mean in back to the future he went back in time that would be amazing if you could travel back in time or go into the future so is time trave possible? maybe it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back to the Future: The Complete Trilogy

    Back to the future is one of the greaset movie of all time the box set has 3 great back to the future dvds first one is Marty in 1955 the second one is Marty in the year of 2015 and the third one is Marty and Doc in the old west 1885 is the year My favorite one is Back to the future 1985 i was born in 85 Just imange if you could go back in time? back to the future is the best!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie

    Are you ready for a hilarious movie? Then watch back to the future. It is touching and you can get a good laugh out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    These movies are classic,Michael J. Fox,and Christopher Lloyd are classic too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Careful, they are still shipping misframed discs

    Although the close up image displays the 2005 re-release with the corrected framing for BTTF II and III, I received the 2002 release nonetheless. My order was in October of 2006, three years after this problem has been corrected by Universal. Recommend only buying these discs in person. You are looking for a square sticker on the cover. Round stickers indicate older misframed versions. Apparently the Universal returns program is still active ... but who wants to deal with the hassle? Very difficult to exchange these discs with Barnes and Noble as they are not in stock at most stores and the website is the source of the problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thumbs Up to this Great Movie

    If was tremedously great one of those movies you enjoy watching over and over again i loved it!! Michael J. Fox was a great choice of an actor for this movie making it enjoyable everytime you watch it . It is wonderful for any age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The set is great !!!

    I cant beleive how much fun one movie is. bACK TO THE FUTURE SET is something everybody should own, the story is funny even in the year 2004. I watched the whole thing again and again. the extra interveiw are fab . go and buy you wont regret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BTTF a household favorite!

    Back to the Future is viewed... at least, one of them, every night. My brothers and I always stay awake, and Mom and Dad love putting it on. We watched all three at a sleepover I had. This is my favorite series ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How to tell defective box set from the correct one?

    Anyone know if the set they are selling here is the correct V2 version of the boxset?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    3 Classics

    The ''Back To The Future'' trilogy is one one of the best trilogys ever because it's got the two things every movie should have: action and comody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Plain Awesome

    The first time you watch these movies you think they're allright, but if you're lucky enough to watch the trilogy a second, third, or even more as I have, you realize how awesome it is. Although there were several years between the filming of the movies, the stories work perfectly (I have only found one flaw in the movies). You realize that they make references to the wild west in the first and second parts and they go there in the third part. The first movie never really finishes untill the end of part three. All three should be considered one movie since each on starts where the previous left off. THIS DVD IS A MUST GET! WILL MAKE THE PERFECT HOLDIAY GIFT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Universal Mistake!

    I have to say that this series is a fun ride and exhilarating. For the first time ever we can now experience the series in its glorious Widescreen, that is if you can get past the fact that Part 2 and Part 3 are defective!!! Yes, universal released the box set with a misframing problem on parts 2 and 3! Do NOT buy the widescreen boxset unless you want a defective product! Universal already knows the problem exists and is planning on repressing discs 2 and 3 to fix the problem and send out replacement Discs in late February. Those of you as unfortunate as I to have bought the widescreen set already can get the address to send the defective discs to by emailing me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST SEE TRILIGY

    I think these movies are the bomb. i enjoyed these movies as a kid and now sence I'm retired i have time to watch many movies and I will enjoy watching these. I think everyone young and old to watch these movies expelshally sence they are in DVDs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HELLO McFLY !!!!

    I bought this Trilogy for my 40something brother for Christmas. He was thrilled to receive it....Then he watched it with his kids (ages 12 to 18yrs.), he called me the next day to say how great it was to not only enjoy an old favorite (the trip down memory lane was a joy-ride) but to watch his kid's reactions and to have them enjoy it too!!! Anyone who enjoyed it back then should definitely pick this up, and if you now have kids to share it with it will be all that much more enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is about TIME the Trilogy comes back!!

    Since I was a little kid i have dreamed about haveing a deloran to travel in to time with. These movies have helped me get my dreams. A lonf time ago in 1996 my movie sold it's last Back to the Future VHS and I have not been able to find another copy of the movie...until now. These DVDs are the best movies out there. People should buy this and become a part of the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4