Customer Reviews for

Batman Begins

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great Movie

    Must See If You Love Good Movies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Best Batman Film Yet

    Good script, acting, cinematography, direction--Christopher Nolan is great. Bought it as soon as it came out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BATMAN BEGINS: CERTIFIED FRESH!

    Rating: 98%

    Although it may not live up to the Dark Knight, Batman Begins is still an exciting and unforgettable adventure filled with excellent performances and intense scenes of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Batman Begins

    This movie is visually stunning, the actors very well chosen. Haven seen Michael Caine as Alfred he has become indispensable as Alfred. Christian Bale was fabulous as well. And the plot did not insult anyone's intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best reboot of a major film series EVER! NUF CED!!

    Good Batman? Check (Christian Bale). Good Director? Check (Chris Nolan). Good Villan? Yep (Liam Neeson and Cillian Murphy). This was a great film! Christian Bale was the first good Batman since Michael Keaton. Michael Caine was a great Alfred. This was a fantastic film! After you see this film, go see The Dark Knight, a direct sequel! It was 10 times better than this film, and that is hard to come by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Batman Begins Limited Edition Gift Set Review

    This is the best version of this movie. The villains in this movie are done very realistic; the cast is really good with Christine Bale as Batman and Cillian Murphy as the Scarecrow. The best performance might be Gary Oldman as Gotham Police Dectective Jim Gordan. If you don¿t already own this movie I recommend that you buy this version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Batman Begins - the Prequel

    This is how movies should be made depending on the genre of course. When I found out the Scarecrow was going to be in it I was so excited and that Cillian Murphy was in it as well (he was just amazing in Red Eye). This is like a prequel where it tells on how Bruce became Batman and meets Henri Ducard. Bale does make a pretty good Batman and had no idea that Gary Oldman was in the film playing Detective Gordon. The pace is great as well as the suspense. Totally recommend it and check out the animated series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Batman truly begins!

    What a stunning achievement. This is what a superhero movie should be like. A great origin as well as villians. No over the top performances everyone did a great job. A lot of people didn't enjoy Katie Holmes in the role she was in, but she really didn't bother me much. The Batmobile was awesome. And the ending was fantastic with a clue as to what villian will be in the next movie - The Dark Knight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgettable

    Batman Begins was completely satisfying. The film was very close to the comics, so it was satifying in that sense. The film itself was a mixture of gothic, drama, romance, intellect, action, and suspense. The acting was outstanding! Each cast member was very well chosen! Christain Bale did an excellent job as Batman. He really made you understand more about Batman and who he really is. Batman is such a mysterious character and I felt that this film really revealed to the audience who this dark hero really is. This movie cannot be compared to the older Batmans, which is something I rarely say. I'm more of the type that likes originals and not remakes...but Batman Begins proved me wrong. It's a movie I reccommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not just the best comic adaptation, an excellent film

    It's clear in the opening scenes that this Batman is a far cry from Tim Burton's film series. Instead of drawing from the goofy camp of the 60s cartoon, director Nolan and writer Goyer go back to the Dark Knight's true beginnings: the comics. Synthesizing the early noir fun and thrills from the strip with the dark, cerebral modern treatments, "Begins" is a Batman for kids and grown ups alike. Bale is hands down the best actor ever to done the cape and cowel, giving a vivid presentation of anger, guilt, and turmoil of the early Bruce Wayne as he constructs his monstrous and heroic alter-ego. Michael Caine is fantastic as Alfred the butler, making the once disposable role essential to lore. Morgan Freeman and Gary Oldman also shine here, especially Oldman, whose "only good cop in a bad town" struggles coincide perfectly with Wayne's rise as the Batman, reminiscent of the famous Batman: Year One graphic Novel. Liam Neeson and Tom Wilkinson provide convincing bad guys as Ra's Al Ghul and mob boss Falcone (respectively), but one of the film's greatest surprises is Cillian Murphy's Dr. Crane, a.k.a. the Scarecrow. Ripped straight from recent adaptations, Nolan treats his one "costumed" villain with an unfliching and unsmiling lens, and the result is most accurate and thrilling Batman villain to ever hit the big screen. "Begins" does suffer from a lack of female presence. Katie Holmes is servicable as D.A. assistant and Wayne family friend Rachel Dawes, but as the only character not from the source material and an obligitory love story sub-plot, her addition left many fans scratching their heads, wondering where Catwoman could be. Still, the tight editing, fantastic script, and great performances make "Begins" one hell of a movie. Simutaneously nailing the source material and crowd-pleasing moments, Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins" is Batman done right: gripping, emotional, dark and loads of fun. Not just head and shoulders the best comic adaptation ever, a fantastic piece of cinema.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    Great movie that truly focuses on the origins of the Batman and puts the villains of the film and the romantic relationship in the back seat for once. They accomplish this by making the first villain in the film series not the arch villain of Batman (which is Joker) and it leaves enough room for future movies to work with including the characters romantic relationship. Very dark and realistic which is what the batman is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Comic Book Movie Ever Made

    All you Superman and Spider-man and Xmen lovers out there, just watch this flick before you start hating on the Batman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Batman Movie Ever!

    This is the greatest Batman movie ever! Christian Bale has proved to be the best Batman! He eveb brings a sense of humor to this movie. This story and setting is so believable. Gotham looks like a real city that we can drive to. Batman is at his best. What makes Bale so great as the Caped Crusader is that he puts character behind the mask. Most superhero movies (except the Spider-Man movies) focus on the hero and not the person. Batman's voice is excellant. It made him seem like a monster and just one person. Without that dark voice, it just looks like a guy wearing a batsuit and looking like an idiot. And that's comical. But Bale's portryal is serious. The villains are staged out perfectecly. I liked Bale's intrepertation of becoming Batman. He calls it a "symbol" saying, "As a symbol I can be incorruptable, I can be everlasting." Now that sounds like the Batman we know and love. In this movie he is a detective, which reader of the comics know he is a detective, not a superhero. This to me is a rebooting of the franchise. We are starting over. In 2008, the sequel to this movie called The Dark Knight, will have all of the cast members return and Heath Ledger has been cast as the Joker. Let's face it, this is the Batman movie I've been yearning for. And I'm relieved, that director Christopher Nolan has done us fans well. Bring on The Dark Knight! **** out of **** stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I never liked batman

    This movie made me a fan of comic books and of movies made from them. I have seen parts of batman movies and was never interested, but this one was awesome. Cillian Murphy made this movie....didn't know he could be so cruel..... I loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

    This movie was reeeeally good. I am a total sucker for superhero movies, and this one is one of the best. I loved how they made the story of Batman believable (well, as believable as they could have) and the action scenes were great. Very much recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HMM... IT'S OK.

    I'd have to say this batman and batman & robin are probably the worst of the batman series. I couldn't get the point of this movie. It was boring. The other movies are better, especially batman forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie of the Year

    Hands down the best movie of the year in my opinion. Beautiful cinematography. Great acting. Great story. This is how Batman should be done! I saw the movie four times in theatres and can't tell you how many times I've watched my DVD already and have loved every minute of it! Can't wait till 2008 for the sequel! Hopefully Nolan and Co. will outdo themselves again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hard to believe how bad this movie is..

    I do not understand how people can say this movie is so great, I watched it and almost fell asleep. It has horrible acting, I couldn't help but dislike all the characters, and it is just a stupid story. I can only say that I've never read the Batman comic books, but from watching the previous Batman movies (consider only the first, and maybe Batman Returns), "BATMAN BEGINS" LACKS ALL STYLE AND ORIGINALITY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whoa

    I admit, when I first saw advertisements for this movie I did not want to see it. I loved Spiderman and Superman, but at Batman I drew the line. However, I went to see it with a friend and was surprised. Surprised that it was AWESOME that is! It wasn't all based on his high-tech gadjets, though there were some good ones, but on Batman himself, how he grew and how he changed. It was perfect. A great film. Perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7