Customer Reviews for

Ben-Hur

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Still stunning, 50 years on.

There's very little to say about William Wyler's 1959 epic "Ben-Hur" that hasn't already been said many times before. Working with a truly amazing cast and crew, "Ben-Hur" was a watershed moment in cinema history, and was rightfully awarded with 11 Oscars for the effort...
There's very little to say about William Wyler's 1959 epic "Ben-Hur" that hasn't already been said many times before. Working with a truly amazing cast and crew, "Ben-Hur" was a watershed moment in cinema history, and was rightfully awarded with 11 Oscars for the effort.

"Ben-Hur" was the first 'personal epic' -- a film shot with enormous, opulent sets and a cast of thousands to fill it, yet at its core, it's still a deeply personal story of broken friendship, vengeance, and ultimately redemption. With Miklos Rozsa's vibrant musical score, period accurate sets and costumes, and one of the most stunning action sequences ever put to film, "Ben-Hur" pulls out all the stops, and stands far above the other biblical and sword-and-sandal epics of the late '50s/early '60s. Movies like this are why 65mm film and anamorphic lenses were invented -- every shot is framed to make maximum use of the incredible 2.76:1 aspect ratio.

This is one DVD that should definitely be in everybody's collection.

posted by JL_Garner on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not as epic as it is made out to be

This film has great cinematography, acting, writing, and when its scarce action scenes arise, they are very engrossing. However, for such a long romp through Roman Judea politics, they don't arise enough to break the monatany. I believe that this film earned every Oscar...
This film has great cinematography, acting, writing, and when its scarce action scenes arise, they are very engrossing. However, for such a long romp through Roman Judea politics, they don't arise enough to break the monatany. I believe that this film earned every Oscar it won and then some. My only problem is that with films like The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, The Pianist, even Monty Python and the Holy Grail it's very difficult to brand this with the title of epic. I suppose that you could throw it into the Citizen Kane category in that you hear alot of hype, and you understand why it's so great, but when it comes right down to it, it's not very interesting. Now one might say, " Oh you just can't appreciate it, because you were spawned into a generation that grows up on Star Wars, and Lord of the Rings, so you're not accustomed to intellectual masterpieces." That may be so but my Top ten films of all time list wouldn't show it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still stunning, 50 years on.

    There's very little to say about William Wyler's 1959 epic "Ben-Hur" that hasn't already been said many times before. Working with a truly amazing cast and crew, "Ben-Hur" was a watershed moment in cinema history, and was rightfully awarded with 11 Oscars for the effort.

    "Ben-Hur" was the first 'personal epic' -- a film shot with enormous, opulent sets and a cast of thousands to fill it, yet at its core, it's still a deeply personal story of broken friendship, vengeance, and ultimately redemption. With Miklos Rozsa's vibrant musical score, period accurate sets and costumes, and one of the most stunning action sequences ever put to film, "Ben-Hur" pulls out all the stops, and stands far above the other biblical and sword-and-sandal epics of the late '50s/early '60s. Movies like this are why 65mm film and anamorphic lenses were invented -- every shot is framed to make maximum use of the incredible 2.76:1 aspect ratio.

    This is one DVD that should definitely be in everybody's collection.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not as epic as it is made out to be

    This film has great cinematography, acting, writing, and when its scarce action scenes arise, they are very engrossing. However, for such a long romp through Roman Judea politics, they don't arise enough to break the monatany. I believe that this film earned every Oscar it won and then some. My only problem is that with films like The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, The Pianist, even Monty Python and the Holy Grail it's very difficult to brand this with the title of epic. I suppose that you could throw it into the Citizen Kane category in that you hear alot of hype, and you understand why it's so great, but when it comes right down to it, it's not very interesting. Now one might say, " Oh you just can't appreciate it, because you were spawned into a generation that grows up on Star Wars, and Lord of the Rings, so you're not accustomed to intellectual masterpieces." That may be so but my Top ten films of all time list wouldn't show it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    BOI WHY YOU BE STEALN MEH NAME?!????????????????????????

    BOI WHY YOU BE STEALN MEH NAME?!????????????????????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must see classic film

    I would highly recommend this film to anyone who enjoys historical, epic films, films with a religious overtone (although this film doesn't bludgeon you over the head) or are a fan of Charlton Heston in particular. This is a film that I can watch over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see classic

    I really wanted to see this movie, because I've seen clips of the chariot race so many times. Well, the chariot race did not disappoint. Neither did the rest of the movie. Along with the intense human drama, BEN HUR also stands out with the best of the action movies! And this was made decades ago without the technology of today.

    Screenwriter, Karl Tunberg, wrote a movie that tugs at al of our emotions. Director, William Wyler, gives a a film with great acting, story telling production design and, of course, the great chariot race.

    Charlton Heston, Stephen Boyd, Jack Hawkins and Haya Harareet are just as impressive .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ben Hur-Glorious Block Buster Movie

    I saw this movie as a child with my mother when it was first released. Charlton Heston is truly a warrior god. Stephen Boyd is just a hottie in this movie. The symbolism with the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ is awe-inspiring and thought-provoking. I watched it on television with my son when he was young and gave it to him for Easter. I love this movie. The Chariot scenes are fabulous! One of the best Movies of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ben Hur - One of the great epic movies of all time!

    A well researched script and wonderfully filmed movie takes the viewer back to the time of Rome and Christ. Certainly the best film of it's kind and stands the test of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ben-Hur "The Gladiator" of its time

    This movie has so many good qualities. Great acting, scenery, plot, and music! Charles Heston gives a great performance! It's a long one, but well worth it if you like movies with a 1st century CE theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ben-Hur Story

    I have to say that no 2, 3, or 4 star would fit this excellent movie. If you do not know the history of Ben of course, 2 or 3 stars will be given. 5 stars and more in my list is given. It is the most Best true and biblical story given. Go Get It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    The Most Exciting Scene Ever Filmed

    The reason I'm writing this review today is that I just watched Ben Hur, for the hundredth time, on cable TV last night and was reminded once again that the most exciting film sequence ever made is in this movie: the chariot race between Judah Ben Hur and Messalah. No CPG in those days; it was all done live action and is thrilling. I love the movie every time I see it and recommend it to everyone to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1