Customer Reviews for

Bend It Like Beckham

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Girls' Night In

    This is a cute and cheeky British film showcasing some of Keira Knightley's early acting. The film is light-hearted and fun surrounding the British obsession with soccer and the handsome and talented David Beckham. There are some cultural differences that are brought up in the film about the expectations of an orthodox Sikh lady growing up in modern-day London. This is definitely an empowering "girly" movie, a great pick for a girls' night in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A fresh mix of modern life and culture

    I was completely blown away when I saw this film, and the acting is excellent. This is a modern classic portrait of a teen struggling against her Indian upbringing and her dreams of playing soccer just like her idol, David Beckham. This is a great movie with an outstanding breakout performance by Parminder Nagra. Keira Knightley is just as stunning as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    bend it like beckham

    great soccer movie. if you dont like sports movie, you wont like this one. their is some inappropriate language and some "stuff" that isnt really meant for young kids. otherwise, its a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    This is an amazing movie because its full of friendship and love. What really touched me was the blending of two completely different cultures by the art of soccer. I would definately recommend this movie to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Keira Knightley Fan!

    I love this movie. I thought it was absolutly hilarious! Keira Knightley is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blahhh

    This Movie was one of the worst I have ever seen. This movie is a waste of time to rent

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intriguing Insights into Blended Cultures

    I rented this movie because it was recommended on the radio as a good family film and I was then blown away by the depth of new insights I gained into the British and Indian cultures. I loved the actors, the comedy and the love story, as well as the soccer scenes. I'm not a soccer fan, so it is a real credit to this film that I was so captivated by the sports stuff. Jess's moves were fascinating to watch, and I loved the way the director used comedy to hold your attention and lighten things up. I also enjoyed the director's commentary on the DVD. The director explains that the movie is very autobiographical and she gives even more insight into the blending of eastern and western cultures in suburban West London. After watching the movie, the music from the soundtrack kept haunting my memory, so I bought the CD and it is now one of my favorites. This movie really rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    I'm from India myself, and this a great movie to watch! I give this one two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie rocked

    this movie bend it like beckman rocked. you should buy it. i am a fan now of this flim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Joe is hot especially with that Irish accent!!

    This movie by far is my favorite movie, not just because Joe is hot, but because it is really a great movie that expresses culture. I watch it every weekend I even stared playing soccer because of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Kickin' Movie!

    Bend It Like Beckham is an exciting movie that tells a romantic love story, while also educating you about the game of soccer and the culture of India. This film held my interest and was very enjoyable to view. The characters are unforgettable, and their acting skills are amazing. The action scenes are phenominal, and the colors and graphics are really great. This movie shows how much hard work being an athlete is, and lets us view the tough moments in training before you step onto the field. Bend It Like Beckham is truly an oustanding movie that soccer fans of all kinds will love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST SEE

    I myself am from a Sikh family and can relate to Jess, this movie was so funny and really captures the Punjabi culture. I really enjoyed all the characters and thought everyone should see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must-see... one of my all time favorites!

    This is a great movie for anyone who has ever been torn between doing what their parents want and following their heart. Although the story is about an Indian family living in England, it is one that everyone can relate to. The best part about it... HAPPY ENDING! (Sigh...!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent! Bend It is a WINNER!

    A terrific comedy and wonderful story. I could not stop laughing. It's a must see for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sami

    Usually my friends and I rent british movies and try to adopt an English accent, inbetween the fits giggles and the 'Girl stuff' we managed to 'oh baby' the coach and want to pick up our soccer balls and play a game. For girls who are often misjudged because they are athletes, it does send a great message with a lot of cute guys and no shirts. A real must see for all teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JOE ROCKS!

    me and my friends saw this movie like 10 times already! we all think joes is so hot! i like the twist of the movie that jess's parents disapprove of football, but this movie rocks on forever! you have to see this movie! GO JESS AND JULES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie Ever

    I saw this movie with my two best friends and we loved it. We get together and watch the DVD every weekend. Even if you don't like soccer you'll love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's a GOOOOAAAALLLLL!!

    Cool Movie! Must Watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GOOOAAAAALLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This movie is awesome! If you liked My Big Fat Greek Wedding ;), then you'll love this. There are great actors in this movie: Kiera Knightley, Anupam Kher, Parmindar Nagra, and you can't forget the total blue-eyed GOD........... the one and only Jonathan Rhys-Myers. This movie'll have you rolling on the floor with laughter. Gotta watch it!!!!!;) It scored big with everyone I told to watch it and my family. Think about it ........ if everybody else liked it, then you will too. SO, WATCH THE MOVIE LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE DID, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb ...

    A must-see film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3