Customer Reviews for

Best In Show

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God loves a terrier..... Bow Wow......

    A mock documentary of dog shows, and the people who attend them. This is one of my favorite movies, not only am I a fan of this cast, and their movies, but I am a fan of dog shows. This just proves that dogs are dogs, as long as they are loved and taken care of they are happy. It is the people who love them that get crazy, and have complexes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    Very funny. Good spoof on dog shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Improv DVD of humans and dogs I've ever seen!

    This is the best improv DVD
    (of humans and dogs) I've ever seen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could Not Stop Laughing

    This is the best and funniest comedy I have ever seen. I love this movie!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie ever!

    This movie was amazingly funny! The colorful cast of characters makes this movie a sure hit! Christopher Guest is a comedic genius! If you haven't seen this movie see it! I highly recommend this. It'll have you rolling on the floor from all of the funny scenes! One of my all time favorite movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More ''quotable quotes'' than you can shake a stick at.

    ''Best in Show'' stands as a cult classic to dog lovers and dog haters alike. It not only appeals to those who love their furry, slobbery, canine compainions but all of you out there who can't stand dogs and worse yet, their auspicious owners, will laugh till your belly hurts. This movie has so many smart, subtle, yet hysterical moments that you will find yourself smiling at weeks later. I put this in my top 10 must see comedies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure genius

    Christopher Guest is a genius and he is supported by a simply amazing ensemble cast. I've been a huge fan since ''This is Spinal Tap''. I was completely floored when I found out that Best in Show(as well as ''Waiting for Guffman'') were largely improvised. I had watched a real documentary on TV the night before about a dog show and must say that the movie captured it quite accurately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Neurotic Dog lovers

    Not well advertized, this comedy turns out to be one of best ones I have seen this year. There is no good category to put this under [other than comedy about neurotic people] but it is truly fun to watch and own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best in Show -- Not just for the dogs!

    Probably the most hilarious comedy made in recent years. The achievement by the actors of this film is even more awe inspiring since most of the film was done improvisationally. Too many memorable moments to mention -- from Eugene Levy and his two left feet to the side splittingly annoying dog show announcer.....Best in Show proves that its not just for the dogs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!!!

    I have to admit when I first saw its title and cast I was very skeptical. But to my surprise, it instantly became one of my favorite movies of all time. I guess you can't judge a movie by it's title!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie Ever

    Best in Show, in my opinion, is the greatest comedy ever and nothing even comes close to its level. I could talk or not talk about this movie forever and still find things to not talk about. It is that amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From a former show dog handler

    I don't know what kind of research they did, but obviously they came pretty close to what it is like. I handled show dogs for about six years, and saw at one time or another all of the incidents satirized. Although some of the actors go a little overboard with stereotyping, they had it down. You can see versions of the movie's actors at almost any dog show. I have always been amused at how much the politics of dog handling overshadows, but not always, the dogs themselves. Overall a very cute light comedy. The dog show business is serious in many ways to the people involved. There isn't any money to be made in in for 99% of those involved, but it is special on a deeper level for many of the participants. In a way, I was one of those people you saw in the movie, and if I can't laugh at myself who can I laugh at. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Doggone funny! Two paws up...

    This movie was a laugh a minute. The depiction of ''dog show people'' was ridiculous but relatively accurate. The characters were hilarious and the anouncer stole the show...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Two Paws Up!!!

    For all you dog lovers out there, this movie hits close to home. It highlights the excessive and sometimes embarassing lengths we go to in spoiling/pleasing our furry friends. You'll find that you're not the only one that includes you're ''little ones'' as part of the family. If you liked ''Waiting for Guffman,'' you'll love Christopher Guest's ''Best in Show.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2