Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Sea

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific tribute to Bobby Darin

    What a terrific job Kevin Spacey does of replicating the sound & style of Bobby Darin! While the film is not totally accurate, it's close enough to give the audience the desperate feeling of the race against time that was Darin's life. Great supporting cast, wonderful music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific tribute to Bobby Darin

    What a terrific job Kevin Spacey does of replicating the sound & style of Bobby Darin! While the film is not totally accurate, it's close enough to give the audience the desperate feeling of the race against time that was Darin's life. Great supporting cast, wonderful music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Many folks say Kevin Spacey was too old to play the part of Bobby Darin, but he did such a fantastic job. I was completely enthralled with this movie. Spacey is more talented than many realize, and he was very convincing in this role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Fantasy Story Of Bobby Darin!

    Okay, there is no doubt that Kevin Spacey is a very good actor and Beyond the Sea has very bright vivid colors and good songs but Kevin Spacey was too old to be playing the young Bobby Darin when he was a teenager and in his twenties and I can't help feeling that this movie with it's musical and dance fantasy sequences wasn't very original and copied the musical fantasy and dance sequences format of the movie De Lovely. They also glossed over the fact that Bobby Darin and Sandra Dee got divorced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beyond The Sea Is Amazing!

    I began watching this movie knowing absolutely no backround history about Bobby Darin. I watched this movie and was absolutely amazed by the life of this talented man. The cast was perfectly selected and the music and dance sequences were delightful. I would recomend this movie to anybody from a Bobby Darin fan to anyone who just enjoys a good musical story. TWO THUMBS UP and FIVE STARS for this movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    I like Kevin Spacey and his acting was great, however the film itself was not what I thought it would be. Something was missing. It seemed to be more of a musical than an actual film on Bobby Darin's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Kevin Spacey!

    Just finished "Beyond The Sea" and was truly amazed. Kevin Spacey is a favorite actor, but he showed his true talent range in this movie. I learned more about Bobby Darin than I had known. He was a star when I was a kid and I liked his music but didn't know much about the man. This movie made me sing along and also made me cry. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Maybe you'll like it better than me

    I'm a Kevin Spacey fan and he was, as usual, great in this movie. But the movie itself is the problem. I'm sure others would like it, but it just wasn't my type of enjoyable movie. I couldn't watch the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DISAPOINTED SPACEY AND DARIN FAN!!!

    WOW!! I waited months to see a movie that did not show in my hometown--and now I see that the local theatres would have just wasted a good screen!! I love Spacey and loved Darin's music and tv show, but this is an EXTREMELY weak movie!! In bios, let's just stick to the story and leave out "dream and dance sequences" that showed the viewer little--just that Spacey is an ok dancer!! Also, the screenplay was incomplete, corny in areas that could have been extremely profound, and the music was weak as water!! Had my husband and I paid $20+ to see this movie, I believe I would have sued the theatre--and the studio and Spacey!! And to see the classic "Mack the Knife" SLAYED by Spacey's singing "debut" was repulsive!! Instead of wasting 2 hours of your life watching Spacey's self-indulgent dud, buy a Darin Cd, spend 20 minutes listening to GREAT music, and go to the library and check out one of the successful, recent books written on Darin's life and give it a try. This movie is a DUD!! And to think that Spacey got a Golden Globe nomination out of it---shows how weak the Foreign Press and their opinions are!! FORGET ABOUT IT!! Dissapointed in NC!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spacey Sings !

    What makes this movie bio different from most others? Kevin Spacey did the singing. Anyone could have mimed Bobby Darin's voice but Spacey took the gutsy move of singing. Did he pull it off? Yes! To tell the full Bobby Darin story you would need far more than two hours. Spacey did a great job of taking the high and low points of Bobby's life and bringing it to the screen. This movie is a love story between Bobby and Sandra Dee, not just a biography of Bobby Darin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1