Customer Reviews for

Big Bang Theory - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    SUPERIOR SERIES, but ignore the Editorial Review

    The Big Bang Theory is an excellent series, which I recommend highly. However, at the risk of seeming as "geeky" as the protagonists of the show, I must point out that the "official" review is wildly erroneous. So erroneous, in fact that I must question wheather the reviewer, Mr. Erickson, ever watched the series. I have inserted corrections in the review text.<BR/><BR/>Editorial Reviews<BR/>From the same production team responsible for Two a Half Men, the CBS "nerd-com" The Big Bang Theory clued the viewer in on what to expect right from the get-go by naming its two main characters "Sheldon" and "Leonard" (though all resemblance to the famous gangster actor-turned-TV producer ended right there!) They were both brilliant physicists, living together in a technology-cluttered apartment, and spending their free time with a circle of fellow geeks from Cal Tech. And, need we add, bbwsof course, Sheldon (Jim Parsons) and Leonard (Johnny Galecki) were despite their hyper-intelligence hopelessly "backward" on a social level; after all, it isn't easy to pick up girls when the only things you know how to talk about are isotopes and video games. Our heroes were thrown for a mobius strip when the incredibly beautiful and voluptuous Penny (Kaley Cuoco), a recent divorcee, [NOT A DIVORCEE-PENNY HAD JUST ENDED A LONG-TERM RELATIONSHIP, BUT HAD NOT BEEN MARRIED] moved ino the apartment next door. Fascinated by the two "Beautiful Mind Guys," Penny decided to hang around with Sheldon and Leonard whenever possible. [ALTHOUGH, THEY DO, OF COURSE, SPEND CONSIDERABLE TIME TOGETHER, PENNY NEVER MADE SUCH A DECISION] Having seldom been in such close proximity to a genuinely gorgeous girl, Leonard was anxious to make a few moves (assuming he knew any!), but Sheldon, perpetually unlucky in love, kept his distance, convinced that he'd only have his heart broken again. [THIS IS THE MOST EGREGIOUS ERROR. SHELDON IS NOT "UNLUCKY" IN LOVE, BUT SIMPLY UNINTERESTED IN IT, AND HE NEVER INDICATED THAT HIS HEART HAD BEEN "BROKEN".] Occasionally dropping in for the random punchline were the boys' college pals, the loquacious Howard (Simon Helberg) and the virtually mute Rajesh (Kunai Nayyar).[RAJESH IS SILENT ONLY IN THE PRESENCE OF PENNY, OR OTHER BEAUTIFUL WOMEN, OTHERWISE HE IS FAR FROM MUTE] The Big Bang Theory was first networkcast on September 24, 2007. Hal Erickson, All Movie Guide<BR/><BR/>Also, contrary to the information on this 'site, the language of the series is not "Portugais", or Portuguese, for that matter.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    deserves an emmy

    This is the funniest show on television today! The chemistry between the group is excellent! Hope this show finds an audience and has a long run.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Geek is the new sexy!

    To be honest, I don't understand most of the physics concepts in this series. But still, every scene makes me laugh. Sheldon (Jim Parsons) is hilarious! You'll get hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Hilarious

    New favorite show that's about scientists Leonard, Sheldon and their friends Raj and Howard and how they become friends with Penny, their new neighbor that lives across the hall from Sheldon and Leonard . So of course hilarity ensues. The main characters are funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The best, smartest sitcom since Fraiser!

    You just got to watch this show. I find myself having at least one good belly laugh per episode. I am such a fan. Buy this today. You will not regret your decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome show

    i love this show it is so awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I love the Big Bang Theory. I have worked with the highly educa

    I love the Big Bang Theory. I have worked with the highly educated at a university and the writers have captured those personality traits and quirks to perfection. My son said he didn't like the show because it made him feel stupid. I told him to watch a little more, that from experience this is excatly what the faculty at Universities are like. I adore the characters and their interactions are perfect. Thank you for airing this series, and I look forward to owning every season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    This show is AWESOME!!!

    This show is AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    TBBT

    I adore this show. Initially, I feared watching this show, for I thought it would either ridicule intelligent people or their opposites. However, the series did neither. The highly intelligent characters are endearing, while Penny (their neighbor of lesser intelligence(by their standards), but higher common sense) is just as likable. The characters balance each other out, without mocking one population more than another. I enjoyed this series for its originality, and its attempt to provide more jokes based on academic ideas. However, this humor is not solely for the members of MENSA, it is written for a wide range- there were some jokes that my engineering friends laughed at that I didn't get, and some that I laughed at that they didn't get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nerd is the new chic!

    A lighthearted sitcom that reminds its viewers that nerds are people too, and that the desire for acceptance and love is universal (well, maybe not for Sheldon).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious!!! The show is so funny I can watch them again and still laugh!

    I found the Big Bang Theory show by accident, a review caught my attention so I decided to watch the show. I was immediately hooked, I set up my DVR to record the show and I ordered Season 1 & Season 2 DVD sets. The writers for this show are amazing and if you are in a bad mood this show will cure it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty, Inteeligent, Fun

    This is a clever sitcom that appeals to a cerebral audience to understand all of the scientific humor references, which means it was written by Einsteins with an obviious fetish for hot blondes. The structure of each episode and the comedic payoffs hit hard and often. Lastly, the leading lady wears short shorts. So, GO watch. Nerds will enjoy the show better than jocks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect Comedy for College Kids

    I attend a "nerd school" and the characters on this show are exactly like the guys I hang out with/go to classes with. If you have a smart sense of humor, you should find this show as hilariously entertaining as I do, and this is just the first season! Every character is lovable, every episode funny, and I can't find anything to hate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely love!

    This show can not be improved upon. So funny!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's all about the characters

    Such a wonderful cast, the geeks nab you into their world and then penny comes along rather quickly. I was rather worried that her character would become one of those characters that you love to hate but she has a delightful range of acting skills and continues to grow into the series giving me a that much more appreciation for her, being such an oddball.

    You must see it, you will laugh so hard your neighbors will hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Big Ban Theory Season One is the funniest new show out there

    The only complaint I have about this box set is that every time we take it to a friends house, we have to leave it with them because they won't give it back until they've seen the whole thing. We have already had to buy it twice just so we could watch it. Very funny new show and guaranteed to cheer up any depressed person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A very funny show

    People says this show is very funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For the Geek in all of us!

    Being a Geek myself I found this to be one of the best sitcoms I've ever seen. I can see a little of myself in each of the guys and can't help but laugh during each episode. Highly recommended for geeks and those people who love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Are clever people really like Sheldon?

    Just one word, BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!
    Extremely funny, with seriously funny moments! Penny and Sheldon communicating in the same language but completely different dialects. Sheldon speaking Authentic Geek and Penny Bemused American!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We could watch this over and over and not get tired.

    This show is very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4