Customer Reviews for

Big Fish

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ewan shines in Big Fish

    What an excellent movie! Ewan Mcgregor, Billy Crudup, and Albert Finney star, and they are great. Moving, touching, and hilarious throughout. Highly recommended . . . can't wait to see it on DVD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Big Fish is Big Memory

    There's something about watching Big Fish by Tim Burton, starring Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Billy Crudup and Jessica Lange, that lingers in my mind years later. I think it always will. Originally I viewed this movie about 5 years ago with a friend after my son had recommended it to us. I trust his judgement and on this he was right on. It tells the story of a dying father telling his life's story to his son in a compelling, dramatic and inventive way, just like all movie of Tim Burton's. But this one is a see again, which I usually don't do. Like books, I believe it's all about as many as can be read or seen in one lifetime. A few months ago, I had the opportunity to recommend Big Fish to a friend and watched it with him. He marveled at the actors portrayals of the characters, brilliantly done. He was amazed at the creative ideas used in the movie to keep you wondering, what could possibly be next? I couldn't even begin to tell you, and I don't really want to either. But trust me, you will not be disappointed in Big Fish. It delivers an unforgetable story that stays with you forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Have you heard a joke so many times you've forgotten why it's funny? And you hear it again and suddenly it's new. You remember why you loved it in the first place" - Will Bloom, Big Fish

    Big Fish is a truly wonderful masterpiece full of life and imagination. It tells an inspirational story about a son trying to learn more about his father, by reliving the stories that he had heard all his life. Personally it is one of my favorite movies of all times. Each scene is just as enticing as the last and you cannot help but to watch it till the end. This movie has something for everyone, but if you really like drama, fantasy, and love stories, you will love this movie.
    Tim Burton is one of my favorite directors. Every movie of his that I have seen I have fallen in love with, they are just so different then what is expected or what is the norm. Tim Burton brings us to a more mythical time of witches, giants, werewolves, big fish and true love. This film is brilliantly aesthetic, the mood of the movie and the lighting of the scenes go hand in hand. The movie is very bright and vibrant at times and dark and chilling at others.
    This movie may present project an aesthetic that anyone can view it, but there are a few parts that may not be suitable for young children. There is a fairly brief fight scene, where Edwards love tells him not to hurt her soon to be ex-fiancé and he keeps to his word and does not lay a hand on him. There are also a few scenes with brief nudity, mostly backsides of characters, or suggestions that a character is naked, and no full frontals. Some of the scenes of the witches and werewolves might be disturbing to young children.
    The soundtrack to this mystical film is almost as amazing as the movie itself. It is a wonderful collaboration of songs from the past to the present. These songs fit each song that they are played it. I believe that the soundtrack has a little something for everyone! It has Elvis and The Allman Brothers for the older audience and Pearl Jam for the younger viewers. Each song really has its own special place in the movie, and better songs could not have been picked.
    This movie makes you use your imagination like you did when you were a child. All in all, I think that this movie has something for everyone! It has love, action, fantasy, comedy, and drama. It is unquestionably one of my top five movies along with Finding Neverland and Across the Universe. When all's said and done I give this movie a ten out of ten and two thumbs up! I really think that everyone should see this astonishing movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those films that has to be seen more than once to really get the nuances of the film.

    Very interseting characters. Very fairy tale like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It made me cry so I wont watch this again, but it was GREAT!

    I loved this movie from beginning to end. I just don¿t like movies that make me cry so I don¿t want to see it again but I do... argh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeping Dreams Alive

    Life sometimes gets dull, and stories get shorter, but with Big Fish, old stories and big talks get bigger and stay strong with your dreams. Keeping dreams alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie!

    absolutly LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Masterpiece from Mr. Burton!

    Tim Burton has created another masterpiece!!! He spins an enchanting story that will have audiences spellbound for hours. I would highly reccomend this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a great movie

    Not only a fantastical adventure made extraordinary by Burton's imagination but more importantly an excellent script with outstanding acting performances really getting at the emotional heart of the film, focusing on fixing a broken bond between father and son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A well-conceived story

    Big Fish is a beautiful commentary of a son's relationship with the father he knows better than he realizes. It uses the sense of whimsy and ideology all adult children feel as they they watch their parents pave life's path ahead of them. I would also suggest that those viewers who are ensnared by the allegory of the fish go back and watch the film again. It isn't about a fish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Let Anyone Tell You Otherwise...

    This is a fantastic movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great film

    This film is full of imagination. Everything about it was great and it was visually stunning. I just love Tim Burton's vision as a director. I expected a lot from the film and was not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I give it 10 stars +

    I went to see this movie with my teenage daughters. Talk about an experience. The theater was packed and I swear , mostly all you could hear at the end from young and old, men and women alike around the theater was sobbing....never have I had such emotions all happen at once. This movie SHOULD be an Oscar winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Very Powerful Movie

    Big Fish is a very good film. Tim Burton did very well in directing this movie. You can see that he obviously put a lot of work into making this film. Big Fish has a very interesting plot and you will never be able to predict what will happen next. The film is filled with lots of fantasy that children will love ( why is it rated PG-13? ). If you are an action/shoot em up film lover, I don't think you will like it much. Otherwise, this film is a very good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shoulda been called Big Turd.

    I have a great imagination. I can get into the whole story telling thing and appreciate a good fantasy movie. This is not one. I kept an open mind when watching this garbage, but I guess somewhere between the begining and the end, it got boring, then stupid, then drab, and finally really really stupid. A fish????????? What was that all about? He turned into a fish??? Has the American audience gotten so easily pleased that all it takes is a fish and a witch to make you happy? Has the standard gotten that low? All the hype about this movie and blah...... I pre-ordered this movie on hype and I payed the price. Perhaps it's my fault. Don't make the same mistake I did. Mr. Burton has made some gems but let me tell ya, this isn't one of them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it

    I sat and watched this movie with a smile and my mouth open like I was a little kid watching a magic show. I love it. Watch out for Danny Devito's backside, no one wants to see that. This movie was breathtaking and funny and sad and just magical. Storytelling at it's finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    This movie is Tim Burton at his best!He comes up with great things!I loved this movie and so did my wife and two children.It would have been a better movie if it had no nudity.People these days think nudity is everything!I will definently be buying this movie because it is a fantasized movie about love, happiness,suspense, and, best of all, enjoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    This movie was great, I love it and bought it the day it came out on DVD. Well, my mom bought it but anyhow. It's a wonderful movie that tells an amazing story full of twists and turns and has lots of emotion. Steve Buscemi and Danny De Vito also adds well deserved comedic relief to this otherwise serious although often light hearted adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    magical....

    Tim Burton in a great director and I love his wonderful ideas.the scenery was so beautiful and the story line had good intentions but very slow to the point. Other then that i wasnt disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Away From Reality and Back

    A movie that takes its audience into a (surprisingly) not-so-unfamiliar world of giants, witches, and literal time-stops upon seeing the 'love of your life,' Big Fish goes above and beyond one's imagination, takes you to a world visually different yet strangely familiar. An exquisitely made film that can truly be enjoyed and cherished by all ages. Watch it and escape with Big Fish's rich and colorful characters and come back to your life refreshed and, if you pay enough attention, a little bit wiser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4