Customer Reviews for

Black Hawk Down

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Black Hawk Down

    In October of 1993, in an effort to secure the Somali town of Mogadishu, Task Force Ranger, comprised of Delta Force soldiers and Rangers, are sent in for a mission that is supposed to last no more than half an hour. But when two Black Hawk helicopters are downed by insurgents with rocket launchers many of the members of Task Force Ranger are left stranded in the city. The ensuing battle lasts for 18 hours.

    The Battle of Magadishu (also known as The Battle of the Black Sea, Black Hawk Down, and for the Somali's The Day of the Rangers) was both a disaster and a success depending on who you talk to. It was a success in that when all was said and done Task Force Ranger accomplished their main objectives. At the same time, it was a disaster because originally the mission was only supposed to take 30 minutes, but in the end lasted 18 hours and cost the lives of 19 American soldiers and somewhere in the range of 500-2000 Somali's. How do you adapt an 18 hour battle into a two and a half hour movie?

    Very carefully, and had the movie been placed in a less capable director's hands than Ridley Scott's (Alien, Gladiator) this movie could very well have been a disaster. Ridley Scott, though, along with first time screenwriter Ken Nolan, do their best to capture the battle in a truly authentic light, and they do an amazing job. From what I hear (I have a lot more to learn about the battle) this is possibly the most accurate depiction of a battle ever put to film. I would also argue that it's the best example of modern urban warfare put to film as well.

    The performances in this film are amazing as, despite a hugely recognizable cast (something I might just be saying because many of the actors in this movie have become huge since, and weren't as big at the time) there is no vanity amongst the actors. Their lack of vanity only adds to the realism, and also builds up the feeling of brotherhood as they act out the battle in the field.

    All in all, if there was going to be an argument against this film it would really only be the fact that there's not much character development. In the end, though, it's not as much about the characters as it is about the units. It's not as much about the battle as it is a reminder that there are still soldiers that carry the DNA of bravery and brotherhood that we saw in the World War II elite. And it's not so much about Somalia as it is about the war fronts we fight on throughout the world whether in Somalia, Afghanistan, Iraq, etc. If you haven't seen this movie yet, definitely give it a shot.

    4.5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended-Amazing Movie!

    The movie Black Hawk Down is about an America military conflict in Somalia, the Battle of Mogadishu, on October 3, 1993. In a mission that was supposed to take Rangers and Delta Force 30 minutes to remove a brutal drug leader; ended up taking 19 hours to complete, they now were in for the fight of their lives. I like this movie because the way the director was able to show the passing of time. The mission took 19 hours but he was able to show it all in two and a half hours. The special effects in the movie were superb. What I like most about this movie is the way the director showed both the good and the bad to this conflict. While he still kept the movie as accurate as he could with the way some soldiers died, which is pretty graphic. It is very gory and not for the squeamish or faint of heart. Black Hawk Down is a very upbeat, action packed movie that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is one of my favorite movies and I would highly recommend that you buy this movie and add it to your collection of movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A great modern war movie

    Although some changes were made from the book this is a very good movie which captures the camaraderie within the Army.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For a non-war movie person, I was spellbound.

    I don't like war movies, and I usually detest when my family comes home with a new set of hour-by-hour blood and guts movies. But somehow, Black Hawk Down has become one of my favorite movies, almost by accident. The performances are 100% from each actor, and the realism of how they portray their characters is astounding. I love the story itself, mostly I think because many people may not know of it. In this generation, even the most important things in the military and our world are easily being forgotten for "bigger and better" events, yet I think it is important to remember these events, even as we have entered another country in a similar fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Blue-ray Enhanced Version Worthwhile

    This film is action packed and the enhanced Blue-ray visual and soundtrack only make the film more powerful if you ever thought that could be possible. The performances by all the actors in this fim are first rate and the helicopter action is the best I've ever seen. This is a must have for your video collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Completely Unforgettable

    I just finished watching this movie for the first time today and it left me in complete silence. I can't seem to get it off of my mind! The movie was a complete visual guide that reveals what exactly the army experiences during war. Not only is it emotionally draining, but almost too real. It really gave me an eye opener. I will never see war as an angry battle between groups of people. This movie proved to me that it goes much deeper than that. I respect the screenwriters, director, producers, and actors for developing such an extraordinary film. I will truly never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    black hawk down

    this movie was something and reminded me of other movies similar like saving private ryan and recently death watch. basically about a group heading over to somolia and thus in the process have unexpected surprises in store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome, but sickening realism.

    As an army black hawk crew chief that has flown many air assault missions, I can truly say this movie is to real. My helo has been shot at many times (never by an RPG, thank god) and there is a rush of adrenaline like no other when u shoot back. This movie brings me back a long ways every time I watch it. The fact that they can make it seem so real is incredible. Please support your troops because we go through a lot of crap (i.e. being shot at, living in a desert for a year at a time without their families. etc etc.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    War as it is

    The realism of this war movie is only surpassed by Saving Private Ryan. It doesn't get more bloody and real than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Comes to Life

    This story comes to life on the screen. You don't know whether to sit on the edge of your seat or whether to cover your head with a blanket. It seems too horrible to be true, but the ugly truth of the matter is that it is what war is all about. WAR--up close and ugly--as only war can be. But--it's a story you can't pull yourself away from. You're drawn into the human element, and you can't let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Even though I am only 10 this is my favorite war movie I have because it demonstrates warfare the best.This is a must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good movie, very tragic story.

    I found this movie to be very graphic, but very well made. I cannot make an educated decision on the realism of the battle scenes as I have never been in combat. But, those scenes looked real enough to give viewers a good idea of how truly horrible war is. Unfortunately, the tragedy surrounding these characters did not end in Somalia. There was one major discrepancy between this film and real life. Matt Eversmann(it may have been another main character) is a made up name. His character was renamed because the man he represents is, in real life, a convicted child molester. His name was changed to avoid embarrassment of our military. Don't believe me? Check out Russ Kick's 50 Things You're Not Supposed To Know. I am sure this name change was highly beneficial to the studio as well. This knocks this movie down a notch in my opinion. Instead of getting an honest portrayal of an imperfect, multidimensional person(i.e. a very good soldier but also a sick pervert), we are shown a glossed up version of a the story in the name of profit, certainly not art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great History Movie

    I loved the movie because it was one of those events that we don't hear much about and after seeing it makes you want to reasearch about it to see what happened in the eyes of the Rangers, and Delta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Look at Our Armed Forces

    When you watch Black Hawk Down you get an accurate first-hand look at US Army Rangers, our most elite fighting force. The actors went to boot camp together and went through all the same training (although much less) as true army rangers. This gave them a true sense of comradeship, as they learned to live by the ranger creed. They weren't concerned with winning any awards for acting; they were more interesting in doing honor to the real life characters they were representing. It all makes for a very realistic movie. The movie itself tells the story of an event that was viewed by the public as a tragic loss where our soldiers died in vain. In reality (as the movie shows), these soldiers did not die in vain and they fought bravely. They did accomplish their mission as well. The media focused only on the loss of our soldiers and twisted it into a horrible defeat. The soldiers who were thrown into the battle were not defeated by any means. It is wrong to say that those soldiers died in vain. They fought for each other and for their country, and in that they were victorious. If you have trouble following the movie, read the book by Mark Bowden. Even if you don't have trouble following along, reading the book opens up so much more in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Depiction of 3rd world warfare

    Excelent movie!!! Shows how modern urban warfare can be and also the United States special forces in action. A must see. 2 thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Black Hawk Down

    It was great and as realistic as it gets. The actors played wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Totally Involving

    Wonderfully shot, this movie gives you insight into the weaponry, destruction, fear, adrenaline and (most evocatively) confusion on today's modern battlefield. These ''quick'' and flexible firefights are the way wars will be fought for the forseeable future and it is harrowing. It also shows that America's achilles heal throughout the years (evacuating the wounded) is still part of our war culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Black Hawk Down

    I found it very intriguing. Although sad as it was both in real life and the movie, you must see it. It is graphic but it gives you a sense being there with the soldiers, experiencing what they were feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Picture Of All Times

    I enjoyed watching the movies Black Hawk Down when it arrived at the movies. My favorite part when Matt Eversman chalk was roping in and he look to his right and said, ''RPG''. America should have sent at least 300 rangers which would have kept the American casualty rate lower. The Somalians fought good with what they had but between 115-120 rangers held off thousands of Somalians. I recently purchased the Black Hawk Down Special Edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful!

    this was a terrific film. it kept me on the edge of my seat almost the whole time. movies like black hawk down show a much more 'realistic' point of view. and the acting is superb!...it's a must see in my book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4