BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Black Hawk Down

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended-Amazing Movie!

    The movie Black Hawk Down is about an America military conflict in Somalia, the Battle of Mogadishu, on October 3, 1993. In a mission that was supposed to take Rangers and Delta Force 30 minutes to remove a brutal drug leader; ended up taking 19 hours to complete, they now were in for the fight of their lives. I like this movie because the way the director was able to show the passing of time. The mission took 19 hours but he was able to show it all in two and a half hours. The special effects in the movie were superb. What I like most about this movie is the way the director showed both the good and the bad to this conflict. While he still kept the movie as accurate as he could with the way some soldiers died, which is pretty graphic. It is very gory and not for the squeamish or faint of heart. Black Hawk Down is a very upbeat, action packed movie that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is one of my favorite movies and I would highly recommend that you buy this movie and add it to your collection of movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For a non-war movie person, I was spellbound.

    I don't like war movies, and I usually detest when my family comes home with a new set of hour-by-hour blood and guts movies. But somehow, Black Hawk Down has become one of my favorite movies, almost by accident. The performances are 100% from each actor, and the realism of how they portray their characters is astounding. I love the story itself, mostly I think because many people may not know of it. In this generation, even the most important things in the military and our world are easily being forgotten for "bigger and better" events, yet I think it is important to remember these events, even as we have entered another country in a similar fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Blue-ray Enhanced Version Worthwhile

    This film is action packed and the enhanced Blue-ray visual and soundtrack only make the film more powerful if you ever thought that could be possible. The performances by all the actors in this fim are first rate and the helicopter action is the best I've ever seen. This is a must have for your video collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome, but sickening realism.

    As an army black hawk crew chief that has flown many air assault missions, I can truly say this movie is to real. My helo has been shot at many times (never by an RPG, thank god) and there is a rush of adrenaline like no other when u shoot back. This movie brings me back a long ways every time I watch it. The fact that they can make it seem so real is incredible. Please support your troops because we go through a lot of crap (i.e. being shot at, living in a desert for a year at a time without their families. etc etc.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    War as it is

    The realism of this war movie is only surpassed by Saving Private Ryan. It doesn't get more bloody and real than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Comes to Life

    This story comes to life on the screen. You don't know whether to sit on the edge of your seat or whether to cover your head with a blanket. It seems too horrible to be true, but the ugly truth of the matter is that it is what war is all about. WAR--up close and ugly--as only war can be. But--it's a story you can't pull yourself away from. You're drawn into the human element, and you can't let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Even though I am only 10 this is my favorite war movie I have because it demonstrates warfare the best.This is a must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great History Movie

    I loved the movie because it was one of those events that we don't hear much about and after seeing it makes you want to reasearch about it to see what happened in the eyes of the Rangers, and Delta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Look at Our Armed Forces

    When you watch Black Hawk Down you get an accurate first-hand look at US Army Rangers, our most elite fighting force. The actors went to boot camp together and went through all the same training (although much less) as true army rangers. This gave them a true sense of comradeship, as they learned to live by the ranger creed. They weren't concerned with winning any awards for acting; they were more interesting in doing honor to the real life characters they were representing. It all makes for a very realistic movie. The movie itself tells the story of an event that was viewed by the public as a tragic loss where our soldiers died in vain. In reality (as the movie shows), these soldiers did not die in vain and they fought bravely. They did accomplish their mission as well. The media focused only on the loss of our soldiers and twisted it into a horrible defeat. The soldiers who were thrown into the battle were not defeated by any means. It is wrong to say that those soldiers died in vain. They fought for each other and for their country, and in that they were victorious. If you have trouble following the movie, read the book by Mark Bowden. Even if you don't have trouble following along, reading the book opens up so much more in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Depiction of 3rd world warfare

    Excelent movie!!! Shows how modern urban warfare can be and also the United States special forces in action. A must see. 2 thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Black Hawk Down

    It was great and as realistic as it gets. The actors played wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Black Hawk Down

    I found it very intriguing. Although sad as it was both in real life and the movie, you must see it. It is graphic but it gives you a sense being there with the soldiers, experiencing what they were feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Picture Of All Times

    I enjoyed watching the movies Black Hawk Down when it arrived at the movies. My favorite part when Matt Eversman chalk was roping in and he look to his right and said, ''RPG''. America should have sent at least 300 rangers which would have kept the American casualty rate lower. The Somalians fought good with what they had but between 115-120 rangers held off thousands of Somalians. I recently purchased the Black Hawk Down Special Edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful!

    this was a terrific film. it kept me on the edge of my seat almost the whole time. movies like black hawk down show a much more 'realistic' point of view. and the acting is superb!...it's a must see in my book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great war movie without sappy romance

    Black Hawk Down is a great film for various reasons. Even though it takes almost an hour to get the action, it is well worth the wait. Director Ridley Scott gives the veiwer a smal but helpful view into the everyday thoughts and fears of America's elite soldiers such as the Rangers and Delta. The battle scenes are realistic and are without bias. I was sixteen years old when this happenend and it stirred up many memories, some fearfully painfull, of this tragic blot on American military history. to this day, I still have vivid recolections of seeing dead American soldiers dragged through the streets of Mogadishu. In all honesty, the acting may be a bit lacking the painstaking realsim of the battle scenes makes this a worth while video purchase. Anyone who is remotely interested in military history should see this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    relevant to today's times

    when i went to see black hawk down, i went on opening night with my best friend. we were barely able to get two seats together, the theater was so packed. I didn't know it at the time, but my aunt told me that my uncle's brother was there when black hawk down took place and he knew everyone that was down there. talk about a eye opener! even if you don't support what your government is doing in another country, you should always support your troops and there families. not only was my uncle's brother special forces, but my uncle is an air force colonel and i am very proud of him. just remember that there are people behind the names and suffering behind every death and injury and pray for the families and victims no matter what you believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A truly great and realistic movie

    It was fantasitic. It showed the spirit and teamwork of America. That movie was not only inspirational but also realistic. I thought it was real. A truly amazing tale told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie

    This movie was awesome, it really shows how the USA doesn't leave their men behind. I enjoyed it alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie

    If you like movies with large war scenes or movies that get you inspired or pumped then this is the movie for you. Almost the whole movie is a war scene and the story behind the war scene and the soldiers' motive is awsome. ''A must buy!'' -Andrew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is possibly the best movie I've ever seen.....

    Actually, I didn't see all of Black Hawk Down, because on our 27 inch, flat screen TV with surround sound (the widescreen DVD version), it was TOO realistic. My girlfriend and I plan on buying the DVD and watching it again, however. We had to stop viewing it after one particular rocket attack, because it actually sounded like the weapon exploded IN our living room, right off to the left...And the camera work is so realistic that we constantly felt we were there WITH the soldiers, which caused a lot of anxiety for us as we watched the movie. Others have said that the movie made no political statement, but I feel it made an extremely strong point! Namely that we should never go into a military operation without twice as many troops and support personnel as we think we need....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3