Customer Reviews for

Blood and Chocolate

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really good!

I really liked this movie! I had read the book about a month ago, and then realized that it was a movie. I was kind of disappinted about the fact that the movie doesn't follow the book by much. Very few things are actually the same. But either way, this movie was really...
I really liked this movie! I had read the book about a month ago, and then realized that it was a movie. I was kind of disappinted about the fact that the movie doesn't follow the book by much. Very few things are actually the same. But either way, this movie was really good, and I really enjoyed it. I definately recommend this movie.

posted by Courtney6 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

if you have read the book version of this movie, then DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. YOU WILL BE VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!! i HATED this movie. i was SOO excited when i heard that they were making a moving out of my favorite book in high school, but when i actually got to watch ...
if you have read the book version of this movie, then DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. YOU WILL BE VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!! i HATED this movie. i was SOO excited when i heard that they were making a moving out of my favorite book in high school, but when i actually got to watch the movie, i was VERY VERY VERY disappointed. the ONLY thing that they kept the same in the movie as in the book, is the characters names. HELLO, Gabe was a mechanic, NOT a absenth maker, and Astrid was a MAJOR B***H and didn't raise Vivian.

posted by Mandalee on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    if you have read the book version of this movie, then DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. YOU WILL BE VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!! i HATED this movie. i was SOO excited when i heard that they were making a moving out of my favorite book in high school, but when i actually got to watch the movie, i was VERY VERY VERY disappointed. the ONLY thing that they kept the same in the movie as in the book, is the characters names. HELLO, Gabe was a mechanic, NOT a absenth maker, and Astrid was a MAJOR B***H and didn't raise Vivian.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good!

    I really liked this movie! I had read the book about a month ago, and then realized that it was a movie. I was kind of disappinted about the fact that the movie doesn't follow the book by much. Very few things are actually the same. But either way, this movie was really good, and I really enjoyed it. I definately recommend this movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sure it's different from the book but it's still awesome.

    Yes, I have seen the movie and the book. I first saw the movie and thought it was great. I found out that it was based on a book and read it. After I read the book I was a little mad because the only thing that was the same between the book and movie are the character's names. Even they're personalitys were completley different. Aiden in the book is a hippie intrested in the unknown.He has a mom, dad, and sister. In the movie he's a teenage runaway artist with a an abusive father. Vivian in the book is very outgoing, werewolf/artist. Her father died in a fire and her mother became a horrible mom. In the movie she's more of a shy girl/werewolf. Her whole family was killed by hunters. And this is just a brief discription of only the main characters. There are MILLIONS of more differences that I could tell you but, there isn't enough time or space to put them all on. Plus, it will ruin the book and movie.<BR/> Anyway, to get to the point the movie rocked even though it was completely different from the book. I suggest watching the movie AND reading the book. They both ROCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A really good movie that shouldn't be judged too harshly

    This movie was actually, despite the other reviews, really good. The reason it didn't make it very big was because it "wasn't like the book," but in truth, if you just went into it not expecting it to be like the book or having not read the book, it was a really really good movie. The characters are very well portrayed, and the whole good-vs.-evil ends up with a twist. The overall plot is about a 19-year-old girl named Vivian who lives in Bucharest, Romania. Her family was killed 10 years ago, and now she lives with her aunt, and works at a chocolate shop. Throw in an American artist, and .... well, you can probably guess what happens. Anyway, Vivian is trying desperately to keep her secret "society" away from Aiden, who the loup garoux "her "cult" of werewolves" are becoming very wary of. The movie starts a little slow, but otherwise, it is really really good movie. Even if it supposed to be classified as horror, it isn't extremely scary--more action/adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    This is based on one of my fave. books about werewolves/ shape s

    This is based on one of my fave. books about werewolves/ shape shifters, and when I heard they made a movie I was so excited I basically sat out by the mail box waiting for it.
    When it came I of course watched it and was severely disappointed, the characters looked nothing like they were described in the book. And they left out so many important/great scenes from the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Good Movie- it is in ways different from the book.

    It's been a while since I have read the book but I do remember that it was different in many ways. If you like the book then I am sure you will like this, just think of it as a different love story with the same title and a very similar story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It was BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The Movie was horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood and Chocolate

    The dvd was grat all dout love and werewolf it was the itis graet and it and good story totell

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    Excellent we bought it as soon as it came out and highly recomend it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's good but the books BETTER

    the movie was good and all but it's practically completely different then the book. the book has a better story line and should of been keep. even though it was a we bit confusing at first because of character changes it was still a good movie!!!!!!! I recomened the book more then and the movie still!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Would have given 0 stars if possible

    This movie is terrible. Don't watch it! I bought it after reading the book, which I absolutely loved. However, the movie was totally messed up. I don't think the story writers read the whole book. Everything was changed, including the main character's personality. In the book, Vivian was outgoing and confident, but in the movie, she seemed shy and kind of mysterious. And Gabriel in the book was sweet and kind, in the movie, he was cruel and heartless. Everything was different and it did not do the movie any justice. This was a total waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Out of this world!!!

    I watched this with my cousins and we absolutely LOVED it!!! It was romantic and action packed! It wasn't the same as the book but it wasn't a bad movie on the contrary it was an awesome-tastical movie. Personally I liked the storyline of the movie better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved the book but not the movie

    I did not like it because they didn't even get the story line right. the only part that they got right from the book is a couple of the names and that is it Gabriel never had a kid and never got married. Also Vivian's mom was alive. The place that they filmed it was wrong to it should of been in the U.S. and in a small town. I did not enjow it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good movie

    I really liked the movie.It was differnt form the book but its still a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Disappointing indeed

    First of all the setting is suppose to be in virginia, The dude she falls for is suppose to be a high school student and they are suppose to meet at school, why do I even bother let's just say the whole movie was garbage! They DID NOT follow the storyline in anyway whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Set the record straight

    I have read the book long time ago and honestly didn't like it, then years later heard there was going to be a movie and so decided to look back upon the book. Then when the movie came out I kept reading that, "not as good as the book and or should of followed the book and mainly the title. There have been many movie adaptations based off of a book and sometimes using the name like the lord of the rings "awesome movie I read he book afterwards", the other Boleyn girl "coming soon and going to read it". So what's wrong with this one out of the many ones with the same title as the book of a movie its based on? Anyway basically from what i can remember the story was little familiar and little different. After watching it, I didn't hate it or liked it more like in between. You should at least give the movie a chance before you start complaining comparing to the book or something. After you watch it then you can say whatever you want. In conclusion the movie wasn't as bad as i heard it to me but in a way maybe they should of done something a little different with the movie. Plus i always wondered what if what happened in the movie happened in the book and the book in the movie where you'd have different results, though just a thought. Maybe you wondered the same thing, plus when i first saw the cover i thought Vivian looked more like Emily Perkins from the Ginger Snaps movies to be honest. What's happened happened at least now we know what happens if you try to do a movie from a book and making some "changes" to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I rented this movie and watched it the next day. The movie was kind of sad because of all the betrayal she had to go through. The movie was NOT scary, and was kinda bloody. The book was better than the movie and the company could have made it better. SO if u lik the book you should watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    this movie couldn't scare or manage to entertain a 3 year old. The storyline sucks and this movie is SOOOOOOOO boring. This movie doesn't deserve a star at all. The lines are also lame and the acting sucks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    book is better

    The movie was good, but I absolutly loved the book and it was way different then the movie. I pictured gabriel as a really hot buff guy and the guy they picked for the movie was all wrong, but still it was a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Totally NOT what the book was about...

    I read the book and simply couldn't wait until the movie came out. But when I watched the movie, NONE of it went according to the book. The Blood and Chocolate theme was supposed to the two lovers in Vivian's life - Gabriel and Aiden. Aiden was the "chocolate" that Vivian liked. Gabriel was the "blood" that Vivian craved, wanted, and searched for. In the movie, it wasn't even about that. There were deaths that weren't supposed to happen and the plot was supposed to center around Vivian's dedication and love for her pack as well as her love life. I don't like the way this movie twisted the plot in a completely different direction from the very beginning. It was DEFINITELY not a Romeo & Juliet story in the book. This movie was all blood and gore with none of the intrigue from the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3