Customer Reviews for

Bowling for Columbine

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing documentary.

    This is truly a good movie and I think there is not enough praise for it. It shows the facts, although disturbing but true, and is a great way of showing just some of the things wrong wiht this country. I strongly recomend you see it and other of Michael Moore's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A film republicans wouldn't understand

    Michael Moore in this film introduces a lot of complex ideas to its viewers, many of whom dont seem to interpret them the right way. This is not a movie about gun control. This is a movie about how fear controls American society. And when people are scared, they buy guns because they think then they will be safe. The media controls our thoughts and behaviors through fear without even us knowing it. Think about it, how many times do you see something positive on the news? We live in a very scary place, and when people are this scared, Moore says, people should not have a lot of guns laying around. Moore has also been accused of hating America, but he is only making the distinguishing line between our right wing government and the American people, which are two completely different things. If you watch this film closely and with an open mind, it will make sense to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the only way to describe it is great

    If you know how to listen (unlike a few of the reviewers here do) then you'll find every bit of this film to be both true and entertaining. Micheal Moore is great at what he does, but like i said some people haven't learned how to listen quite yet. Watch it and form your own opinion, personally i find this to be very entertaining. - N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Riveting

    This movie clearly underlines our nation's divisive stance on gun control. Michael Moore had the guts to go out and document what he feels needs fixing. Don't knock him down for that less you want to take away the First Amendment. The most horrifying part of this movie to me was how utterly insensitive the N.R.A. was with its tacky pep-rallies only days after the tragedies of Columbine and the death of the 6 yr. old Detroit girl. Whatever side you take, this inhumane and callous treatment of the victims, families and community is inexcusable. I am thankful Moore brought this to light. 'Bowling' sums up our alarmingly rapid rise in paranoia of our neighbors and mankind. Like it or not, this issue will not or should not go away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way overrated

    Please do not get hosed into watching this 'GREAT FILM' there is nothing great about it. It has some cool facts but that's it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgettable

    This production by Michael Moore takes a look at America's society and how it is ruled by fear in consumerism. It's one of the most monumentally true movies I've ever seen, and once you do see it, you'll never look at the media the same way again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lots of laughs, little substance

    Michael Moore is an entertaining political statirist whose work is intentionally full of half truths, ommissions, manipulations, and material taken entirely out of context. His so-called 'documentary' doesn't follow the academy's rules to br classified as such, yet somehow this movie wins an Oscar. I don't rate it as a 1-star movie only because there are SOME glimmers of truth, such as the media being largely responsible for the paranoid state of affairs due to the content of their programming. Americans are fed a steady diet of nightly news that is violent and sick. I take serious issue with his 'beating up' interview with Charleton Heston, a man who is seriously ill with a degenerative disease. The film is entertaining if nothing else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most truth you'll ever see in the mainstream

    Those who gave this film only one star are the same people who encourage the use of guns and violence, but their target audience is no longer adults, it's the youth of America that they are finding to be the most gullible and ready to act on their preachings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Critical Thinking

    This movie initiates critical thinking and provides a conceptual framework for reviewing the America's evolution in recent years. MJ's review indicates that an unbiased analysis of events is simply not plausible for some people. I would like to note that this is a movie that will specifically give audiences information for further investigation and critical thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Freeper desperation evident...

    ...in their attempt to squelch this film's rating. Simply put, they don't want you to watch Moore's film. Bowling is a great film, and considering all the fake hysteria generated by fake terror alerts (duct tape ring a bell?) and fake evidence for BushCo's corporate sponsored invasion of Iraq, its central theme, that Americans are afraid of the wrong things, is more relevant than ever. Check it out and make up your own mind. Don't let the desperation of Freepers censor your decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bowling for Columbine

    I agree with the viewers who commented that this movie should not be labeled as a documentary, since it contains more fiction than facts. I think it's unfortunate that Moore exploits the tragedy at Columbine by skewing the reality of that day's events for his own personal gain. This movie could have been better if Moore kept his personal views out of the picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bowling for Columbine

    Moore's vehicle for leftist propaganda is very transparent. Offers no surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Emotional with a hint of comedy, yet still remains it to get to the point. WONDERFUL.

    A wonderful documentary about the United State's gun culture and violence. With a hint of comedy in this world of violence and guns, the director makes you think about it, even after it is long over. Showing that movies, video-games, and music don't cause this by showing and interviewing Brian Warner a.k.a., shock rocker Marilyn Manson (who speaks very intelligently and sensibly) he shows the truth behind all of this confusion. You cry, you laugh, it moves you. Again. WONDERFUL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst movie ever made!!! Don't waste your time

    I can't believe there are people in this world that actually liked this movie. It makes me wonder if they are from planet Earth or just visiting from the planet Bad Taste in Movies. First off this movie is very inaccurate, so if your looking for both points of view it's not there. The movie is shot from an extremely left-wing point of view. (but what did you expect from Michael) Boring, Boring, Boring... It wasn't even interesting or shocking. It was a long movie with horrible interviews and at one point has Michael carrying on a crusade against K-Mart. K-MART??? Are you kidding me, who cares? A lame documentary that drags on until the bitter end. Michael if your listening, go back to the little hole you crawled out of and never make another movie please!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Crap!! Crap!! Crap!!

    It's unfortunate after such a tragic event that anyone gives this title even a single glance. By dressing himself as a social satirist, Moore believes he can force feed his own position to the public. To anyone that can see both sides of an issue, this movie is an insult to your intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good and intense

    It really makes you think about life and our society today. best movie i have ever saw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fact or Fiction?

    Many seem to be preoccupied determining if this is fact or fiction. The only fact is the number of people killed by guns each year in the US - and that killings at our schools happen all too often. The reasons behind these facts and what to do about them is up for debate. I appreciate Mr. Moore sharing one point of view. The content is at time unbelieveable, but so is the senseless violence it questions. Above all - weather you agree or disagree, it makes you think - something that is needed in discourse on this topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent documentary!

    You'll either love it or hate it ... depending on whether you're one of the groups being made fun of. My husband and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Naysayers- Where's the Inaccuracy?

    Considering that we are currently in a state of war, this movie is worth watching if for no other segment that the one that reviews the history of political overthrows in other countries. Not only do we nurture violence in our society, our government has a record for decades of covert intervention in other countries, backing and installing brutal regimes. The cartoon offered by the 'South Park' inventor, and this chronology is a must see for every American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    His Facts Are Correct!

    I'm and anthropology student and as such I find it necessary to research most anything that interests me as much as Michael Moore's documentary. Indeed! I have investigated Mr. Moore's information presented here and it ALL checks-out fine by dozens of credible sources, including some of the largest news and media sources in America, the NY Times, the Washington Post, etc, etc, etc. Michael Moore presents a very graphic and extremely honest look at the aggressive nature of mainstream America. As an Anthro. major, I'm relieved that SOMEONE has chosen to point out the radical problems within America who was capable of presenting this information to such a global audience, thusly, winning national and international acclaim. Snaps! to Michael Moore for visualizing and introducing most of the blind American population to our very own reality problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4