Customer Reviews for

Bowling for Columbine

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why Michael Moore now has an Oscar

    Bowling for Columbine a documentary on about the massacre at Columbine High School in Colorado, and how the gun laws in America, along with the current state of American culture, played a role in how the events that day folded out. First off, I must say that I am a Michael Moore junkie. I think that he is not only brilliant, but he's also on the fore-front of repairing America. This documentary is, in every meaning of the word, amazing. Not only does it explain why guns should be regulated, but it also explains the other side of the story why people want to keep guns. Five stars a million, if Barnes and Noble would allow me to give it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every American needs to see this documentary.

    I never liked Michael Moore, I always thought he was just some fat liberal dork. But after actually watching this movie, I was proven wrong. This guy really knows what hes doing. Bowling for Columbine points out many very important issues that are just simply ignored by us Americans. Most of us aren't even aware of them. It really opened up my eyes and changed my perspective on things. My only compliant is that he kind of makes gun owners look bad by interviewing some strange people but other than that the rest of the movie is extremely informative and well worth your time. I think every American definitely needs to see this movie, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is Double moral a model to follow?

    Watching this documentary, and contrasting it with North American history, makes me realize that Unites States is a nation founded with principles that send their citizens to act based on a double moral behavior. How could it be possible to teach our children tolerance, freedom, peace, and love for the others, if at the same time they are being influenced to be attracted to use weapons by the media, and some organizations like riffle association, and even the government, with the excuse of using them to defend the freedom of the country or for its own defense? How can a country be secure if buying a riffle is easier than buying a pound of flour in the supermarket? The documentary touches the sore of a reality that affected and will continue affecting the American society while double moral still as a value of our government institutions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ENC1102

    I’ve always heard about this documentary, but the title never did caught my eye however, I did end up watching it and yes indeed after all fulfilled my eyes. It is much more than an informative documentary, it makes you go beyond every single political and social issue, and it is so unbelievable how in the end everything connects. Every point Michael Moore brought up was extraordinary, he made the movie also very entertaining in some way yes he brought up the unfortunate events in which were cause by the effects of handguns, one in which he went to Columbine and visited the survivors of the deadly tragic he also went to Kmart and asked to ban ammunitions since the killers in Columbine had purchased them from Kmart. Also, near the end of the movie, Moore explores the shooting of the 6 year old girl in Flint by the 6 year old boy in which in the end it is blamed on the mother, because the boy's mother is forced to take a bus 40 miles each way from Flint to the Great Lakes for work, and the point given is that the mother didn’t have enough time to spend with her child. The movie also ends with an interview with Charlton Heston, which Moore makes him look very much so embarrassing and speechless. Moreover, I recommend this documentary to everyone, you may dislike it but in the end it’s a controversial subject and everyone should see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A movie that will change your life.

    In this amazing film you learn more about the obsession in this country for guns. Michael Moore does an excellent job of showing how guns have changed this country for the worse. Whether you like it or not this film is very powerful and will bring much impact upon you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    life changing

    as a young american girl, i see the things michael moore outlines in this movie every day. in the media, all i ever hear is violence. i attend high school, and to think that something like columbine could have ever happened, let alone happen again is a very scary thing. i saw this movie in the beginning of the year and it changed me. i recommend this movie to all people of all ages. this is an important issue and i think michael moore brilliantly represents it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shootings on Campus show Alienation of Students

    Bowling for Columbine gives the right answer to why the shootings happened in a high school in the U.S. Michael Moore makes the connection between the U.S. military and it's effect on our culture and values which has left the youth of today more alienated. Human rights are more in demand now than during the 1960's when students protesting war were shot on college campuses by the National Guard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a *powerful* documentary//5 stars, here's why...

    i'm a 21 year old college student that never heard of michael moore until this movie came out. i'll admit, as an american, i don't pay as much attention to politics and problems with america as much as i should. i really wanted to be a journalist. when i saw this movie, it really got me thinking-it's been a LONG time since a movie had such an impact on me. i agree with what mr. moore put forth in this documentary. after i saw this movie, it really made me think twice about being in media. i live in suburbs and in a nice neighborhood. i'm not rich or anything but i never realized how greatful i should be. seeing the neighborhoods in flint and how people lived (especially seeing that welfare to work program) made me feel gratefull. it was sad to see whats going on in america and that people are so quick to pick up guns when they're scared. this movie is a must-see. you can't please everyone and this movie will have followers and haters, but at least i'm willing to respect michael moore as an american and having opionions and bringing to light some issues. i think that's a problem with americans today-we can't respect each other (especially opionions and feelings).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    When did liberal and truth become a bad word?

    I was so happy to see an honest portrayal of guns and violence in America. Bowling for Columbine gives an honest and forthcoming look at crime.and shows that although the media usually puts a black or hispanic face on crime stories the real culpret is usually a white face. This should be mandatory viewing for all public highschool social studies classes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yep... i'm a liberal who hates guns

    My subject line pretty much says it all. I hate guns. Hate em hate em hate em. This movie just confirmed what I felt..... and I love it when other people agree with me (or at least agree that private citizens owning guns aren't helping our society in any way). Thank you Mr. Moore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    everyone should watch

    Michael Moore makes people face the problems that are plaguing this country. He looks for answers, although I don't know how many he was able to find by the people in the US. It's very interesting to hear the way Canadians live and think. We may need to look outside of this country and try to see why others live without the fear that we do. It's eye opening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing documentary.

    This is truly a good movie and I think there is not enough praise for it. It shows the facts, although disturbing but true, and is a great way of showing just some of the things wrong wiht this country. I strongly recomend you see it and other of Michael Moore's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A film republicans wouldn't understand

    Michael Moore in this film introduces a lot of complex ideas to its viewers, many of whom dont seem to interpret them the right way. This is not a movie about gun control. This is a movie about how fear controls American society. And when people are scared, they buy guns because they think then they will be safe. The media controls our thoughts and behaviors through fear without even us knowing it. Think about it, how many times do you see something positive on the news? We live in a very scary place, and when people are this scared, Moore says, people should not have a lot of guns laying around. Moore has also been accused of hating America, but he is only making the distinguishing line between our right wing government and the American people, which are two completely different things. If you watch this film closely and with an open mind, it will make sense to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the only way to describe it is great

    If you know how to listen (unlike a few of the reviewers here do) then you'll find every bit of this film to be both true and entertaining. Micheal Moore is great at what he does, but like i said some people haven't learned how to listen quite yet. Watch it and form your own opinion, personally i find this to be very entertaining. - N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Riveting

    This movie clearly underlines our nation's divisive stance on gun control. Michael Moore had the guts to go out and document what he feels needs fixing. Don't knock him down for that less you want to take away the First Amendment. The most horrifying part of this movie to me was how utterly insensitive the N.R.A. was with its tacky pep-rallies only days after the tragedies of Columbine and the death of the 6 yr. old Detroit girl. Whatever side you take, this inhumane and callous treatment of the victims, families and community is inexcusable. I am thankful Moore brought this to light. 'Bowling' sums up our alarmingly rapid rise in paranoia of our neighbors and mankind. Like it or not, this issue will not or should not go away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgettable

    This production by Michael Moore takes a look at America's society and how it is ruled by fear in consumerism. It's one of the most monumentally true movies I've ever seen, and once you do see it, you'll never look at the media the same way again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most truth you'll ever see in the mainstream

    Those who gave this film only one star are the same people who encourage the use of guns and violence, but their target audience is no longer adults, it's the youth of America that they are finding to be the most gullible and ready to act on their preachings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Critical Thinking

    This movie initiates critical thinking and provides a conceptual framework for reviewing the America's evolution in recent years. MJ's review indicates that an unbiased analysis of events is simply not plausible for some people. I would like to note that this is a movie that will specifically give audiences information for further investigation and critical thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Freeper desperation evident...

    ...in their attempt to squelch this film's rating. Simply put, they don't want you to watch Moore's film. Bowling is a great film, and considering all the fake hysteria generated by fake terror alerts (duct tape ring a bell?) and fake evidence for BushCo's corporate sponsored invasion of Iraq, its central theme, that Americans are afraid of the wrong things, is more relevant than ever. Check it out and make up your own mind. Don't let the desperation of Freepers censor your decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Emotional with a hint of comedy, yet still remains it to get to the point. WONDERFUL.

    A wonderful documentary about the United State's gun culture and violence. With a hint of comedy in this world of violence and guns, the director makes you think about it, even after it is long over. Showing that movies, video-games, and music don't cause this by showing and interviewing Brian Warner a.k.a., shock rocker Marilyn Manson (who speaks very intelligently and sensibly) he shows the truth behind all of this confusion. You cry, you laugh, it moves you. Again. WONDERFUL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3