Customer Reviews for

Bram Stoker's Dracula

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gary Oldman - greatest actor to grace the screen

    This has been one of my favorite films for about the past 13 years. (Yes, I know I'm a slacker, but I just thought of doing a review for it.) Gary Oldman has always been my favorite actor, even before Dracula (State of Grace, Criminal Law, etc.) and he was the perfect casting choice for the most famous vampire. His command of accents was clear and impressive in this film, and he ruled the show with his performance all around. Anthony Hopkins was fantastic as Van Helsing, obviously, and added a new creepy element to the environment. The three suitors of Lucy were excellent and added humor to the otherwise dark script. What was terrible was the casting of Reeves and Ryder. What was the casting driector THINKING!!!??? They are both terrible actors to begin with, and can't do period films to save their lives. Their accents were terrible and oh-so-fake. Had it not been for Oldman and Hopkins, the two of them would've ruined the film. The only reason they were cast, clearly, was to bring in the teeny-bopper crowd while the film was in the theater. SAD! Yes, this film was very different from the novel, but I felt that the artistic approach was excellently done, and since it's a completely different form of media, the film should be seen as itself, not in comparison to something else. (To all the novel fans out there, I know it's difficult. I'm such a reader.) Anyway, I doubt there's many people who haven't seen this, but if you're one of them, see it at least once!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    1462, Transylvania, Vlad the Impaler leaves his wife to fight the Turks. Out of malice, The Turks send her a letter telling her that her husband is dead. She is so distraught over his death and terrified at being captured that she throws herself from the castle turrets. When Vlad returns, he is told that his wife may not enter the Kingdom of Heaven as she has killed herself, which is a mortal sin. Vlad immediately renounces God and then he himself is condemned. 400 years later, Jonathon Harker leaves London and his fiancée Mina to travel to Transylvania. He has been assigned to help Count Dracula acquire property in England. Jonathon may never return… This film, despite its flaws, will always hold a place in my heart as it inspired me to write my novel, Vrolok. I have always loved horror movies so when I heard that Francis Ford Coppola was making a new Dracula film, I could not wait to see it. I remember eagerly anticipating the announcement of who was to play Dracula, and when I found out that it was Gary Oldman, I was not happy! The only thing I had seen him in was JFK, and I was not very impressed (I was too young to have appreciated Sid and Nancy). However, I still decided it was worth going to the cinema to see the movie as Keanu Reeves, Cary Elwes and Bill Campbell were also in it. From the moment Gary Oldman appears on screen, he captivates his audience. His performance is camp, overdone, and at times preposterous, yet it is still somehow seductive, mesmerizing, and sublime. (Bram Stoker would have been proud!). He even utters the line “The children of the night. What sweet music they make” with a thick Romanian accent and gets away with it. I saw this film when I was fifteen and was immediately converted into a life long Gary Oldman fan. As previously stated, and despite Oldman’s performance, the film does have its flaws. Keanu Reeves is about as wooden as a stake and the rest of the cast seem to, just like Gary Oldman, overdo the accents and this is a strategy that doesn’t quite work for the rest of the cast. In addition, Sadie Frost and Wynona Ryder running around in the rain in see-through outfits is clichéd and slightly annoying (I am sure most boys who see this film love that bit). Apart from Oldman’s performance, there is one other thing that has to be commended – the soundtrack – both Wojciech Kilar's score and Annie Lennox’s theme are dark, chilling, and poignant. All in all a great movie – it inspired me to write a book that may or may not make me a million but will always be something that I am proud to have completed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Love Never Dies." Very faithful film version of the horror novel. Gary Oldman IS Dracula.

    Academy-Award winner Francis Ford Coppola ("The Godfather," "Apocalypse Now") brings his unique vision of the Gothic horror novel by Bram Stoker to life. The all-star cast (Gary Oldman is the titular Count, Academt-Award winner Anthony Hopkins as Abraham Van Helsing, among others) is terrific. Purists have complained about the changes made by screenwriter James V. Hart and Keanu Reeves' wooden performance. I say that the script is EXCELLENT, enhancing the story even further than the novel originally did (an approach which Kenneth Branagh would take when he directed "Mary Shelley's Frankenstein" two years later, with Coppola and Hart as executive and co-producers). The "R" rating that the MPAA slapped it with is undeserved. Compared to films like "Hannibal," the violence and nudity seem like "Child's Play" (no pun intended). Rated PG-13 for some violence and brief sexuality/nudity.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing movie.

    This movie is an amazing take on the Dracula story and even starts with a bang by mentioning the real Dracula, Prince Vlad Tepes Dracula. Gary Oldman was definitely in one of his most unforgettable and best roles as the prince, vampire, and lover. Winona did a decent job as Mina by portraying the innocence then the descent into lust and womanhood. Anthony Hopkins as Van Helsing was a genius move by Coppola, he fit the role perfectly as the quirky Dutch professor.

    And a brief note for parents:
    This movie is rated R for a reason. There is a sex scene, a few be-headings, and several stakings. Be sure to consider what you want your child to watch first before showing this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    i loved this movie. it is kick but. my only complaint is the nudity in the film. my favoritte character is van hellsing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    Coppola's "Bram Stoker's Dracula" is simply excellent. The film accurately follows the original story and it includes a brief story of why and how Dracula became a vampire; both are seamlessly blended, which also offers an understanding of Mina Harker's sympathy that goes beyond being seduced by evil. The movie is fast-paced, unlike Bram Stoker's novel being told mostly through letters and diary entries that accurately depicts the speed of communication in the late 1800's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BUENISIMA!!

    a pesar de que la pelicula es "vieja" los efectos son MUY buenos, no le pide nada a los efectos especiales que vemos hoy en dia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dont drink........wine

    ok i can sit here and write a complete Bio as the ppl down below... but i rather not waste my time... all in all it was a great movie... so it was a little campy but that was the point... he wanted the movie to have a modern twist to it... to show Vlad as a human not as a monster that history turned him into... sure he was a nut job hundreds of yrs ago... u would too if you lived back then... it was life.... but i think it was a great movie and i loved every min of it. recomend it everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Bram Stoker's Dracula is one of the finest adaptions for Stoker's immortal tale. Gary Oldman IS Dracula. His performance is one of his best. Winona Ryder is a wonderful Mina Murray. Anthony Hopkins is fantastic as always. Keanu Reeves is just bad in every way except for a some good scenes. Sadie Frost is one of the best vixens in a vampire movie ever. This is a movie a horror/drama/romance fan should check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Dracula movie!

    This was the best dracula movie I've seen so far! It's like a gothic Romeo and Juliet at the beginning, only Romeo turns on God and is now a vampire. Trust me, it's way better then the way I just explained it!! I loved it, romance and vampires all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best vampire movie of all time!!!!!

    This is my favorite movie. It is a gothic love story and the best vampire movie I have ever seen. It's one of the few vampire movies that aren't cheesy and fake looking. So if you like vampires and love a good love story this is a great one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT FILM

    GREAT SPECIAL EFFECTS FOR ITS DAY! I LOVED WHEN HE HISSED AND TURNED INTO A PILE OF RATS. THE SEXUALITY WAS A BIT MUCH FOR KIDS UNDER 14, BUT I THOUGHT THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST HORROR FLICKS...AND I HATE KEANU REEVES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful, well-done film

    I saw this movie the day it was originally released, and I am not sorry that I did. What got me was the fact that a man could be so deeply in love with his wife that he would search not just across the earth (well, from Romania to England) but across centuries for his one true love. I felt that the actors did their roles justice. Gary Oldman's performance was so good in that he portrayed his character with such intensity and yearning that you could actually feel the emotions, including great love and great heartache, as if they were pouring from the screen. There is some sexuality and nudity that might be a bit much for younger audiences, but otherwise it is a great film and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dracula Rocks!

    Personally I think that Vampires Rock,and I thank Bram Stroker for Creating and working together with producers and Directors for making the movie I really think that it explained alot about the book and how you would think of the characters looking like when you do read it,it gave me a better explanation for just about everything so its very helpful in many ways,The Movie also extended some parts that the Book did not include such as when he had transformed into a man eating werewolf I mean that wasnt in the book but it sure did make the movie a lot more intresting and I enjoyed very much it was an awesome and if you havnt seen it you dont wanna miss it,this is only my opinion but I hope you guys like the movie as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    Gary Oldman's performance

    It was breathtaking and beautifully done. I believe it's a must-have for any romance or horror fan. It's a wonderful movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a bevy of blood sucking beauties

    first rate performances from gary oldman and anthony hopkins but the real credit must go to coppolla and his brilliant visual style. look for little known transylvanian actress florina kendrick as dracula's #1 wife. she's the one with the snake on her face. she will scare the heck out of you when she takes on van helsing in the later stages of the film. anybody know real romanian? i do not think she was talking very nice to mr. hopkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    LOVE NEVER DIES!!!

    Jonathon Harker(Keanu Reeves)goes to Castle Dracula in the mist of the Carpathian Mountains,in Romania.Leaving his fiance Mina(Winona Ryder)in London,Mina decidees to spend days with her friend Lucy(Sadie Frost).After being seduced by Dracula's three vampire brides,Jonathon tries to escape Dracula's castle.Dracula(Gary Oldman)travels by ship to London stalking Mina and her friend Lucy.But Dr.Von Helsing(Anthony Hopkins)learns about Dracula and tries to confront him.After escaping Dracula's castle Jonathon and Mina get married.Mina falls in love with Dracula,Dracula returns to his castle.But Jonathon,Dr.Von Helsing,and others go to Romania to end the legacy of evil.A great horror/drama film.A must see.Rated R for,vampire violence,gore,adult content,and nudity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2