BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Brave

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I'm 18, and I love this movie! I really love the music in it and

I'm 18, and I love this movie! I really love the music in it and love how this movie is about a mother-daughter relationship, instead of a prince. I love those Disney movies too, but this one is a nice change. Super cute and funny! I love it!

posted by speaknow on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

hated this movie, I don't want my children thinking of making a

hated this movie, I don't want my children thinking of making a course on me just because they are been disciplined.

posted by LiaCarmella on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I'm 18, and I love this movie! I really love the music in it and

    I'm 18, and I love this movie! I really love the music in it and love how this movie is about a mother-daughter relationship, instead of a prince. I love those Disney movies too, but this one is a nice change. Super cute and funny! I love it!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Great, Awesome movie for all ages! I am forty-four and I loved i

    Great, Awesome movie for all ages! I am forty-four and I loved it! Well worth the money to own and watch over and over!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    hated this movie, I don't want my children thinking of making a

    hated this movie, I don't want my children thinking of making a course on me just because they are been disciplined.

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good movie about a strong girl that learns not to be quite so wi

    Good movie about a strong girl that learns not to be quite so willful and crazy. The visuals and score are wonderful, as expected from any Pixar movie, and I absolutely loved the incorporation of Scottish traditions/dress/music, even if the music had a modern flair. Archery was well done, and they didn't avoid the whole issue of magic, nor did it end up completely Disney-fied.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    This was horrible.                                              

    This was horrible.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
    This movie portrays marriage as something to fight against - something to fight and fear.  It backs up that resumption by having Merida's suitors be physically weak and mentally inadequate - in other words, beneath hr. 
    In their one chance to demonstrate their value, Merida deliberately chooses a contest where she can outshine all of them.  
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
    Beyond that Merida deliberately curses her mom, and unintentionally curses her brothers.  

    When she curses her mom she's horrified, but just keeps saying " It's not my fault".  She takes no responsibility  for her actions.  
    Later when she learns she'd cursed her  brothers also , she isn't horrified or shocked - she was angry, at them.  She felt no guilt for what she'd done to to her brothers.

    Hard to believe children are even allowed to watch this, much less encouraged to.   

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    My sister always says that you can tell that they switched direc

    My sister always says that you can tell that they switched directors in the middle of the movie, which is true. Nevertheless, its still a great movie, and I think the beginning is better that the other half. It was going in a good direction until they changed directors. I really like and recommend this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    The people who panned this movie didn't get it at all or they we

    The people who panned this movie didn't get it at all or they were'nt paying attention. This movie was well done. This Scottish music and traditions were great. Merida's Clydesdale, Angus was real looking and not comical like many other Disney movies. Loved the whole thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    I find several of the negative reviews unfair to the film.  Firs

    I find several of the negative reviews unfair to the film.  First of all it is beautifully done and the music is great.  Yes Merida is an undisciplined girl who has been allowed to be as wild as she likes and she is disrespectful to her parents.  But the storyline is that she realizes that and learns to take responsibility and fix the problems she has caused.  Thought it portrayed the relationship between a daughter and mother very well, and for the person who wrote that it was disrespectful to marriage.  First of all its not a princess love story and second of all she doesn't turn away from love or marriage she just isn't ready yet.  It's about not pushing your children and children learning to understand their parents are coming from a place of love.  I highly recommend this movie.  Not your typical Disney princess movie and that might be a good thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    greatest 3d animation movie everrrr

    greatest 3d animation movie everrrr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyed this movie.

    Enjoyed this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1