Customer Reviews for

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Complete Sixth Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING SEASON...

    okay, i kind of agree with whoever last reviewed this season of Buffy it is really depressing. but that is part of what makes it so good! giles realized that buffy needed to depend more on herself, and i believe that's why he left. and needless to say, i love the relationship between buffy and spike. though it is extremely physical at times (smashed...which was a rather violent way of tearing down the house thingy) their relationship is so sweet and i love how spike treats buffy, especially in the seventh season, especially his speech about how he loves her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best season ever!!!!

    As an avid Buffy fan I have seen every episode ever. I just recently bought the season 6 DVD. Season six is my favorite season for many reasons. It has an intensity and emotional/mental depth that is sorely lacking in many shows today. The characters grow and become more real. Every episode is amazing. Also, stellar episodes like "Once more with feeling" and "Tabula Rasa" would make this season worth owning alone, even if the rest of the episodes weren't equally fabulous. This show gets so good you just don't think it can get any better, but it just keeps on building. The Buffy/Spike relationship is stunning and perfectly developed. All of the characters and their relationships are perfectly written and portrayed. Many people call this the darkest season of Buffy, I simply call it the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing season-best ever

    this season was amazing. i first started watching buffy after leaving the t.v. on while doing homework and it came on. i was in the other room, but after overhearing the dialogue i had to watch. i laughed so hard, i became instantly impressed. the writers are amazingly diverse in humour, and the actors (esp. xander and anya) have excellent comic timing. this is my favourite season because of the romantic turbulence between tara and willow, and most of all, because of buffy and spike's tortured love. i spend every episode pointing at the screen and yelling 'you love him!!!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST SEASON OF BUFFY

    i think it was a great season maybe depressing for some people but still great this season kind of made me think about things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Impowering Season- Best Ever!

    This season was based all upon love, Willow going all dark eyed, Spike and Buffy, Tara, Xander and Anya, Giles leaving Buffy. Many call it too dark, but it was about time that they put forth that personal destruction is as lethal as supernatural destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great but flawed

    I give season 6 of Buffy 5 stars with the caveat that it has both some of the highest and lowest moments of the series. Some of the episodes-- especially the musical-- are truely great, but some of the storylines are pretty lame. Evil Willow is one of the series best villians in my opinion, but 'Willow is adicted to magic like crack' is just silly. My theory is that the writers were battling their own demons when they came up with that one! I also really enjoyed the extra features on this one. Particularly the commentary on 'Once more with feelings'. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'That's Entertainment'

    I won't go into details here, but this first UPN season was excellent. But enough about that, what makes this set extra special is 'Once More With Feeling'. This is the quintessential Buffy episode. I had watched the series since year 2 and never kept an episode even if I had taped it to watch later. When I saw the commercials for 'Buffy The Musical' I just knew it would be a keeper. I'm especially glad since the rerun cut out Dawn's wonderful interpretive dance as well as some keen lines: 'Does this mean I have to be your Queen?'. I've watched this episode a dozen or more times and in just writing this review I can't wait to see it again! Everyone is superb here, although Allyson doesn't really have her own song. Xander and Anya's duet is brilliant, as is the guy who plays the Demon, but the real surprise is Amber Benson. The song she sings to Willow is poignant and revealing but it's her voice that's most amazing. Please tell me that's actually her singing. Her voice is beautiful and powerful. I'm in awe. Somewhere between Kate Bush and Annie Lennox. She and Anthony Stewart Head are obviously both gifted singers. I was actually hoping when this season's set came out there might actually be more numbers that may have been edited for time. Joss Whedon's songs and music are better than his script-writing! 'The hardest thing in this world, is living in it'. There a dozen quotable lines between the music as well! 'Hmm, I smell power.' Kudos to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Season

    I love Buffy Season 6. Alot of fans think it got too dark because of the Buffy/Spike relationship and Evil Willow. I think it is brilliant. The writers dealt with real things, real problems. It's not the sugary sweet Buffy, she's going to have to deal with real life problems and that's why I love this season

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buffy=GREATEST SHOW EVA BuRkAyS rEvIeW hOllA

    I loved this season! It was very well constructed and made. Joss Whedons brilliant ideas for Buffy has struck me again. If you havent seen the 6th season yet STOP READING! I think evil Willow was a great villian. I think she was my all time favorite on Buffy. Tara and Willow were a great couple....I am sad to have seen it ended by her dying. It was a natural death which all we viewers know. Everybody go out and buy this. I totally recommend every single minutes worth of Buffy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thiz iz tha best season of BuFFY !!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is mi most favorite season of BTVS. I really like buffy and spike 2gether but the realationship they had in this season waz kinda dumb cuz buffy didnt really love spike she waz just using him. But she did kinda like him. But in the 7th season she does start 2 love him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Season 6 is AWESOME!

    Totally and Completely Awesome. I loved every single part of it, from Sweet the dancin' demon to the wig lady to scary veiny Willow. If you do not like this DVD, you must be from another universe, because this is one of the most awesome things ever released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The very best (and worst) of Buffy

    I'm giving this season five stars because the first seven or eight episodes were absolutely brilliant, and 'Once More, With Feeling' is one of the top ten television series episodes of all time. Heck, I would put it in a top ten list of the best television of any kind, of all time, period. Most of the episodes following 'Wrecked' were pretty awful IMO, but that shouldn't affect your decision to purchase this collection. Just having the uncut version of OMWF in a glorious digital transfer is worth the purchase price. And heck, Dark Willow is pretty cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buffy is absolutely amazing!!!

    Before I start, there are a couple of spoilers in here, so for those of you who have yet to see this season, beware! I know that most people disliked this season very much because of all the darkness and whatever. I have to admit that the 6th season wasn't my all time fave (except for episodes like 'Once More, With Feeling & Tabula Rasa), but I think the show followed a very logical path. C'mon, Buffy was just resurrected after being dead and in heaven for almost 5 months and you expect her to be all happy go lucky like everything is perfect again now that she's alive??!?? And hello, the love of Willow's life was just murdered...I would think I'd be a little upset as well if someone I loved was killed. Since they are no longer in high school, you can't really fixate on teenage problems anymore. The characters need to grow up and evolve as the show continues and start dealing with grown-up problems, and I don't think that grown-up problems are all bright, cheery, and fuzzy. I'm sure everyone goes through a dark period in their lives, and this happens to be the season for which these characters do. I know that every season of Buffy has it's fair share of death, but this season focused on dealing with death in a different way than say season 5. Anyway, this season, along with all the rest, is terrific and people need to start giving it the credit that it deserves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this season!

    I love BtVS!! I'm a huge fan. Maybe one of the biggest! I love James Marsters(Spike), he is the nicest, funniest, hottest, and most talented man-like ever! I loved season 6, it's one of my fav. The Buffy/Spike romance was one of the best things Joss created.The Willow/Tara, Xander/Anya relationships are good as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Season Ever!

    I loved season six! it was the best season for so many reasons! Buffy and Spike's love/hate relationship was one the best part. Willow and Tara's passion was romantic and Xander and Anya made it even more hilarious! With kelpto dawn, ambivelant spike and buffy and everyone elses love problems, season six is more than worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love spike

    I can't wait till this comes out. Season 6 i think is one of the best mostly because there is more of spike and willow goes all evil.i can't wait till it comes out. Its a great season if you havn't seen it you should see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Series Ever

    Season 6 is one of the best. It was dissapointing when the show ended. The Dvd sets should be a required course in High School and all Major Universities, Buffology 101.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly recommended but has flaws

    Season six of Buffy contained both some of the best and worst episodes of buffy. The musical episode and evil Willow totally make it worth buying though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm the number fan of buffy!!!!!!!!

    i loved buffy since it very first came out and the fact that it is over sucks. but i love the dvds coming out!!!!and so far this is the best season!!!i loved it!!i can't stop watching it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shelly, Just another fan of the series.

    I think season six is the best in the series so far mostly because of the heat between Buffy and Spike. Do I dare say their relationship was even hotter than the one Buffy had with Angel? I was very sad to find out that the series ended after seven seasons but thankfully the WB picked up James Marsters' character Spike on season five of Angel. If you have ever loved someone who didn't love you back the same way or if you just like to watch a good 40 minutes of entertainment, I highly recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1