Customer Reviews for

Camelot

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Richard Harris at his best! A lovely Valentine present for our daughter.

    The selection of music is appreciated time and again. The cast were all wonderful in their roles..its like Broadway coming to us on DVD! It is ageless in its appeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Camelot

    Great movie! I loved all of the main characters because in spite of the affair, they all loved each other to the very end. Richard Harris is so loveable in it, he's such a talented actor. You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic

    Very good re-release of one of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Beautiful Classic

    This film has always been one of my favorites and it was what got me interested in the King Arthur legend. After seeing the movie, I couldn't acquire the book from which it is based (The Once and Future King) fast enough. The movie which looks as though it only spans about 10 to 15 years actually is supposed to span 40 years which is the only criticism I could give it, but taking things into consideration, it would take 3 or 4 movies to include everything in the book. On the whole, it is one of the most beautiful musicals I have ever seen. All of the songs are memorable and add such emotion to the story as well as having the most awesome music. The actors and acting were more than believable--they transported the viewer into their realm. This movie made me fall in love with King Arthur because Richard Harris was King Arthur. He portrayed this man with such love, compassion, and sense of justice, he made me believe. He sang with all the emotion of the songs and I will always remember his facial expressions which made the viewer feel what he was feeling without words or song. Vanessa Redgrave as Guenevere was a stroke of genius as well. She not only looked the part, but she was delightful. She made you understand her love for Arthur as well as her passion for Lancelot. She also was able to show such grief and remorse she made me forgive her. Of course Franco Nero was also a great choice for Lancelot. As he entered the story, he was a naive, young knight from France who idolized the ideals of King Arthur and felt himself so perfect that he was meant to be a part of King Arthur's court. He also made believable the complicated triangle which ensued when the inevitable love and passion developed between him and Arthur's queen. Each player loved the other despite the betrayal which made the result heartbreaking. The movie was so perfect in so many ways. The costumes and the makeup were not overly done. I especially found Guenevere to look so naturally beautiful it was hard to detect anything on her face besides discreet eyeliner. I enjoyed watching this film again so much and it will always be my favorite musical. Beautiful classics only become better with age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Let It Be Forgot

    This film is not as bad as its reputation would lead you to believe. The director chose to set it in murky-brown medieval times, which is quite different from the scenic design of the stage show, but....the biggest knock against the film is the singing. Franco Nero, as Lancelot, was dubbed by the trained voice of Gene Merlino...but that leaves the majority of the score to Redgrave and Harris who act brilliantly and sing...less brilliantly. It is unfortunate, since the scoring of the film is brilliant, under the baton of Oscar winner Alfred Newman. Yes, Julie Andrews was considered to reprise her Broadway part, and this time, she turned Warner Brothers down and filmed HAWAII and THOROUGHLY MODERN MILLIE instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This musical is one of my favorites of all time. The score, songs, setting, costumes, plot, and actors are all sensational. Richard Harris is truly a one-of-a-kind gem, whose legacy will live on forever. I found myself crying at the end, as he delivered such a phenonimal performace. If you have not seen this, I beg you too at once! "Don't let it be forgot / That once there was a spot / For one brief shining moment / That was known as Camelot!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Actors who could actually sing

    The production, score, and acting all work very well in Camelot. Unfortunately, those three elements are not enough to make this film truly outstanding. Sorely lacking are actors with singing voices actually good enough for the demanding vocals. Was Julie Andrews even considered? Wasn't there a good baritone in Hollywood at the time who could have been cast as Lancelot? I can understand the non-singing Richard Harris being cast as Arthur. Redgrave and Nero did fantastic acting jobs, but their singing leaves much to be desired. So, go ahead and watch the film, if you don't mind the very much less than stellar musical performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RICHARD HARRIS- KING ARTHUR FOR EVER

    IT IS DEFINATELY ONE OF RICHARD HARRIS'S BEST MOVIES THAT I RECOMMEND TO ALL. IT IS SUCH A TREAT TO WATCH RICHARD HARRIS SING AND ACT AT THE SAME TIME!!! WATCH IT!! RICHARD WE MISS YOU! GO TO MY FAN CLUB, IM HIS #1 Fan! HERES THE HOMEPAGE: WWW.expage.com/rhca !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Musical Of All Time!

    This is a wonderful film.It has great actors,Richard Harris,Vanessa Redgrave and the gorgeous Franco Nero with the most beautiful blue eyes to ever grace the silver screen.The sets are glorious,the music wonderful,the costumes breathtaking!It is everything a musical should be!And they did all their own singing,how many actors could pull that off today?Is it any wonder that Miss Redgrave and Mr.Nero fell in love while making the movie under such ethereal conditions?It truly was Camelot!Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic

    Camelot has been a favorite of mine since childhood. The romance, the wonderful songs, the humor, I would be hard pressed to decide what I like most about this film. Be prepared to be entertained by this most excellent movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tribute to Richard Harris

    This movie is beautiful and heart-wrenching at the same time. Richard Harris was such an awesome and talented man. He had a wonderful voice and this movie is a testament to that. He will be warmly remembered and deeply missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Contrarion's Opinion

    It's fortunate that I didn't read your review first or I'd have skipped viewing it, let alone purchasing it. This is a film for people with imagination. The costumes and sets are incredibly lush and the music so beautiful that I didn't find any lack of quality in the voices. If you like black and white films filled with graphic sex, don't waste your time on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1