BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cars

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From the Bottom to the Top

    Like a couple other Pixar movies, I went into this very VERY excited. But when I walked out of the theater I was a little disappointed. Then, like a couple other Pixar movies, I bought it (because I am a huge fan), and by the end of the second viewing I realized it was my all-time favorite movie. Weird, huh? Here's why: I went into it thinking it would be drop-dead hysterical. It wasn't. But what it WAS was breath-takingly fantastic. I wish agencies didn't advertise Pixar movies as being "The Funniest Movie of the Year," because like Wall-E and Ratatouille, the films aren't that funny (or better put, they're not made JUST to be funny). Yes, there is lots and LOTS of fun and when there are jokes, they are perfectly timed and well executed (unlike a lot of non-Pixar movies). Cars is so much more than just a silly little comedy... it's a movie that reminds us of very timeless messages that we in America have forgotten: To take the slow road every now and then, and being a winner (or too focused on it) can just make you look like a jerk. I don't know where people find the steriotyped animated message which is: Be true to yourself and and be a good friend or whatever. This animated movie goes much further than that, and the Pixar guys really challenge our young ones (and even us adults) to stop striving to win all the time. Sometimes you've already got what you need to make you happy. To sum up, Cars is funy - not hysterical - beautiufl, touching, and flawlessly and carefully put together, frame by frame. Basically, Pixar rolled their sleeves once more and worked their magic as usual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cars

    Both my son & I really like this movie. The characters are well done, the storyline is interesting and the movie has some catchy tunes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cars

    This was a very cute movie. We got it for our 2 1/2 year old son and he loves it. My husband and I really like the music and its funny for adults as well as kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good clean fun

    my daughter loves this movie. great for round the house & road trips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ka-chow!

    As far as I'm concerned, Pixar can do no wrong. They've been scoring consistent hits since "Toy Story". You've got some dynamite photo-realistic CGI animation here, and I LOVED the voice-casting. Even the late great Paul Newman shines as ol' Doc Hudson. Yes, I'll also admit I'm a fan of Larry the Cable Guy, who was perfect as Mater. And let's not forget little Guido (can you say "peet stop"?).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Animated Film of '06

    I've seen pretty much every animated film out there today, and none compare to "Cars." This movie is easily the best animated film of 2006. "Cars" screams orginality and creativity. Lately, other animated films have been appealing to older audiences but "Cars" is good, clean fun. It's a movie you can watch over and over again with your children or with anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    This is one of Pixar's best movie besides Toy Story and Finding

    This is one of Pixar's best movie besides Toy Story and Finding Nemo! An action packed movie that gets your engine running full throttle from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disney has added to their must haves.

    We have a 2 year old granson. He has a Lightning McQueen battery-powered
    car. Cars toy cars. Underwear, wash cloths, etc. Papa does not get tire of watching over and over with him. Extrememly well done. I love the music too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A funny outstanding movie about cars

    Disney's Pixar does it again! Cars is a fun-filled, funny movie that our third grade class recommends to others. Audiences of all ages should enjoy this movie, especially if they like cars. There are many hilarious lines in the movie such as "fly away Stanely". We thought this movie had an encouraging message to follow your dreams. This movie was shown in our class and we laughed, got teary-eyed and overall enjoyed the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see for every movie lover!

    this movie has a useful message that is put in a fun, entertaining way that kids and adults can enjoy together! if you love a feel good, fun, and happy movie that all can enjoy and understand, then you'll love cars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is an entertaining movie with a great message that is handled subtley. This is a must see for families!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    this is an amazing and heartwarming movie that the whole family will fall in love with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommend

    It wasn't a laugh a minute but it had its moments. The story line was interesting and will keep both big kids and little kids watching until the very end. A good movie to turn on during the Holidays and not have to worry about offending anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pixar at its best!

    "Cars" is another Disney/Pixar triumph!It's a classic animated family feature-by far the best family film of the year.Nothing else even comes close.The film has some of the best work these Pixar magicians have ever done(those shots of the mountains are breathtaking!).Once again,they have brilliantly combined their animation talents and a delightful story with a wonderful cast of characters(Owen Wilson and Bonnie Hunt are terrific,but Paul Newman and Larry The Cable Guy absolutely steal the movie!). This is great entertainment for everyone!Sit back and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie of 2006!!!!

    This is the best movie that went out this year! I liked it even better than "Over The Hedge"! It's about this selfish race-car who is on his way to an important race when he gets stranded on a deserted town call Radiator Springs. There, he's forced to do community service for accidentally destroying the road. The plot line was very original and creative, and the animation was just GORGEOUS!!! Everything literally looked so real. I've always been a big fan of Pixar movies, and this is an excellent DVD to add to the rest of my Pixar films. :-) My favorite feature on the DVD is "Mater and the Ghostlight"... it is so hilarious!!! :-) If you have not seen this movie, then you NEED to see it immediantly! It's a great movie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie All Ages!!!

    This movie is fantastic!! All ages who are children at heart will love the animation and the story. Great hit movie of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lalalala

    This was just ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I love Cars!!!!!!! Its graphic animation is terrific!!!! The bright eye-candy color's used definately catches the viewers attention, I know it caught mine. I also admire the fact that it is very funny. I was crackin up througout the movie, in fact the whole theater was. I LOVE MATER!!!!!!!!! (who is played by the hilarous comidean Larry the Cable Guy). You and your children of all ages would definately enjoy Cars! If you have yet to watch it then your missing out BIG time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Would give it 5 stars, but have 1 point of contention

    The animation was beautiful, the characters were just what Pixar is all about, but the one thing I have a problem with is the groupies flashing their headlights at McQueen. My 4 yr old daughter asked me what it was all about and I didn't know how to explain it. Be warned parents! All in all though this was a fine film the exuded the qualities of Disney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great life lesson but inappropriate language

    If your family values good, wholesome movies this one teaches a great lesson but at the expense of exposing your children to language they're bound to repeat. Anyone with young children knows they start quoting lines from any movie they've seen more than once. I rented this to watch with my two preschoolers. We turned it off (a little too late) after my preschoolers heard the following words/phrases: stupid, moron, sexy, the race was a pisser, the track is always lit....so's my brother, etc. Unfortunately many kids are exposed to this kind of language on a regular basis - they don't need more of it. I'm sorry I made the mistake of assuming Rated-G meant a good, clean movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5