BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Casablanca: 70th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Playing it again, for the 1000th time! An evergreen classic!

    What more can be said about 'Casablanca' ¿ the quintessential WWII melodrama about an embittered saloon keeper, Richard `Rick¿ Blaine (Humphrey Bogart) and his chance reunion with the only woman he ever loved, Ilsa Lund (Ingrid Bergman). After their rendezvous in Paris that ended badly, Rick has resigned himself to managing his own night club in Morocco. But when Ilsa resurfaces on the arm of a handsome stranger, Rick¿s ancient passion is stirred into visceral disdain. Paul Henreid is Ilsa¿s secret husband and Czechoslovakian freedom fighter, Victor Laszlo. Like so many of Warner¿s war time melodramas, style is just as important to the film¿s success as substance. The studio backlot Moroccan settings are pure magic, really setting the tone, the look and the feel for this memorable adventure/drama. The supporting cast is outstanding, from Sidney Greenstreet¿s maniacal Senior Ferrari to Conrad Veidt¿s murderous Major Heinrich Strasser. Dooley Wilson, Claude Raines and S. Z. Sakall also costar. Warner Brother¿s 2 disc special edition of ¿Casablanca¿ has been upgraded from the previously issued single disc, though in truth the latter wasn't too shabby looking either. However, this new DVD is flawless, exhibiting a gray scale, black and contrast levels that are absolutely bang on. The soundtrack has also been cleaned up and sounds crisp, vibrant and extremely well balanced. Extras include, on disc one, two distinct audio commentaries and an intro from Lauren Bacall that was recorded nearly a decade earlier. Disc Two features the previously available 'You Must Remember This' documentary hosted by Bacall. Bacall also hosts a new tribute to Bogie. There are outtakes and deleted scenes and two rarities; the Bugs Bunny spoof 'Carrotblanca' and the pilot episode of 'Casablanca' a television spin off from the mid-60s. There's also a stills gallery to explore. The video quality of 'You Must Remember This' is far better than as it appeared on the previously issued DVD. Edge enhancement and aliasing, which plagued the former, has almost been eliminated on this transfer. The rest of the supplements have also been impeccably remastered. Aside: I don't usually recommend buying reissued discs because it's simply a studio's way of making more money on a title you already own. But in the case of this 2-disc set, I have to say that you will be making a great mistake if you don't junk your previous DVD and snatch this one up. It represents the most definitive version of 'Casablanca' ever and 'as time goes by', you'll want to 'play it again.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Casablanca is one of my favorite movies of all time

    What can you say about the problems of three little people that don't amount to a "hill of beans" in this desperate world? Casablanca is romantic but hard-boiled, amusing but moving, and always worth watching. I've owned it in VHS, DVD and now Blu-Ray and can probably lip-synch the lines. Doesn't matter - I still find it riveting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Casablanca French Morocco

    Early during World War II an unproduced stage play manuscript called 'Everybody Comes to Ricks' made its way to the story department at Warner Brothers Studio in Burbank, California.<BR/>The story eventually caught on and was OK'd for production.<BR/>Rick's Cafe was the gathering place for wealthy French expatriates, refugees, French, German and Italian officers. Host Rick (Humphrey Bogart)carries out a show of strict neutrality. The story revolves around stolen exit visas and when Rick's lost lover, 'We'll always have Paris,' (Ingrid Bergman), shows up at Rick's place the pot really begins to boil.<BR/>Bogart is at his best playing off a wonderful cast of characters Claude Rains and Sydney Greenstreet among them feeding him one liners which he served back with perfect timing. And it has an ending that every producer in the world would die for.<BR/>The movie was shipped off to New York's Radio City Music Hall without high hopes or fanfair.<BR/>But the first audience gave the movie its due and Jack Warner flew out of the theatre and jumped into a phone booth to tell the the West Coast studio they had a hit. Indeed they did.<BR/>If you've never seen Casablanca, you've missed one of the great ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must see for all, especially Film Noir Buffs

    This is what got me hooked on Classics and Film Noir<BR/><BR/>It has the usual Noir elements of a hopeless situation, a protagonist with a character flaw and a femme fatale. <BR/><BR/>I love Bogarts typical dry delivery and Claude Rains tongue-in-cheek humor.<BR/><BR/>The short witty dialogue includes the following memorable lines "Play it Sam", "I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship" and "Here's looking at you, kid."<BR/><BR/>Watch it and I guarantee that you too will be enthralled!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Flawless

    It's a classic movie for a reason! This is legendary stuff - the acting, the writing, etc. Everything's aces, and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    My favorite

    Of course this movie is a classic, and is much loved. It's my favorite movie of all time. One thing I really like about this collection is the audio commentary by Roger Ebert. It's so thoughtful and insightful, and it's a pleasure to hear his voice since he can't speak now with his medical problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A timeless wonder!

    I purchased this as a gift and then couldn't resist the temptation to view it before passing it on. I was glad that I did. Everyone who has ever seen it remembers forever the lines, "Play it again, Sam," and "Here's lookin' at you kid." I had forgotten many of the other scenes, especially the very moving, tension-packed scene where the French and German patrons at Rick's (Bogart's) club 'spar' while singing their nation's anthem. The extras on the DVD are equally entertaining. I loved learning about the background: what went on behind the scenes, all the planning and thinking that went into making the film. And I'll keep in mind the trailers of other films made about the same time for future viewing pleasure! I am now seriously considering buying my own copy. This movie never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic for all-time

    This is easily my favorite movie of all time. More than 60 years later and it still resonates with new audiences. What does that tell you about the quality of filmmaking back in the 40s. Each line is almost a classic in itself and these are characters that you want to succeed. No matter how many times you see the ending, you always hope that Bogie chooses differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Play it again and again sam!

    Classic Hollywood at its peak. A perfect symmetry of stars, story, director and production values. Anyone's top ten list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent classic

    I can't count the number of times I've seen this film, but each time it reveals something new -- clever word play and amusing stock characters. Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman are stunning, as are Paul Henreid and Conrad Veidt, but Claude Rains often steals the show. The cast of characters is plunged into a World War II drama involving innocent displaced people who want to leave Casablanca for America, evil Nazis, the European Resistance ... and a wonderfully convoluted love story that may never be resolved. Intriguing suspenseful conversations blend with memorable large group scenes -- don't miss the song duel at Rick's Place -- no wonder everyone goes there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Timelessly great, an absolute classic

    Movies from the 1940's are not even known to most people, let alone still being acclaimed and watched as the unforgettable 'Casablanca'. Set in the Morrocan city with that name dring World War II, it's got all the ingredients of a great story: Drama, Mystery, Suspense, Action, Romance and a great timeless message. The special effects of this movie may be outdated, but it's acting and messages will never be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best

    Casablanca is an all-timer. The dialogue, acting, atmosphere. A love triangle, an underdog story, a war drama, the film works on multiple levels. But heck- why did Rick Blaine leave America?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    of all time

    i've seen many times and never tire of it. by far my favourite movie of all time, bogart a his best, the tough guy to the softest hearted. it could have have happened, if it didn't, it should have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I adore this movie!

    What can anyone say about this? Even cynics can't resist this movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Love Story

    From start to finish, ''Casablanca'' fills your mind and heart with the story of love once shared by two people, the urgency and uncertainty of this pre-WWII moment, and the flashes of wry humor that make the tension bearable. An all-star cast, a magic storyline, and sensitive direction make ''Casablanca'' my #1 lifetime favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Small Budget - Big Bang

    Casablanca...It was originally just another movie off of the Warner Brothers Lot, shot in little over a week, on a small budget. At the time, no one knew what an amazing event in cinema history it would be. Even when it came to theaters, it did well, but not a blockbuster. However, Casablanca has since become the epitome of old movies, timeless for many reasons, classic for even more. In recent years Casablanca has come to be awarded a string of awards, none of which give the movie what it is due. Perfect casting, good pacing, perhaps the best script ever-written, with classic themes that resonant with everyone who watches it. The real appeal of Casablanca is hard to discern, so many parts of the movie shine as good examples. It should be the first movie every film student wants and a requirement for directors. There are compliments due to Casablanca than I can pay in one review. Surffice it say, that when I have a bad day, there is only one movie I watch: Casablanca. I have turned to in good times and in bad, because it has some sort of intangible quality that is comfortable and pleasing to watch time and time again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An American Classic

    I love this movie wholeheartedly as the greatest movie of all-time. I'm only 20 years old but feel that it has something for everyone. The most amazing thing to me is that it was made in 1942, just after the U.S. got involved in World War II. Whether you want a war movie, a historical fiction movie, comedy, or romance, you've got it in Casablanca. It is a highly quoted movie and extremely deserving of all awards and accolades that it has received from its creation to the present. No matter what your age, it is a timeless classic that will always remain at the top of the list of ''Greatest Movies Ever Made''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''You Must Remember This''

    ''Casablanca'' set the standard for the word, ''timeless''. Intrique, suspense, love and human courage, ''Casablanca'' is a film that can be watched over and over and still inspire the viewer...simply, one of the best films ever made..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Written American Movie?

    When it comes to dialog, this may well be the best-written of all American movies. Characters are instantly established -- the shifty thief, the falsely-secure, grasping, shady businessman, the decadent policeman, the freedom fighter. All except Rick, the main character, whose personality is revealed through a series of events. While we know he's tough, we don't really know he's good right away. Sure, the action and pace are dated -- very exciting in 1943. But often today's films sacrifice true finesse in writing to achieve the hectic speed they must to meet the audience expectations. Yet there are few monologues more impassioned than Rick to Ilsa when he must convince her to get on the plane and leave Casablanca. And who might not be stirred by the ''war of anthems'' in Rick's bar when the French sing ''Marseilles'' to drown out the Nazi's singing ''Deutchland Uber Alles''? From superb stars under excellent direction with a top-notch script, to some of the best character-actor performances by Sidney Greenstreet and Peter Lorre, this film is recommended for viewing. Many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Love Story Ever

    This movie is so perfect. It has everything a film should have: romance, war, drama, witty writing, and superb acting. Unlike the other reviewer, I think Humphrey Bogart and his characters are amazing. This is my favorite Bogart role because he does it all in this one. Everyone should see this movie. In my opinion, it is second only to Citizen Kane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4