Customer Reviews for

Casino Royale

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Holding His Own With Connery

    Daniel Craig makes Bond a thinking feeling person as well as tough and resourceful. Connery certainly had the timing and talent, but his Bond became a cardboard character and only Connery's considerable looks and talent made those movies tolerable and some enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Sorry, but Craig is an awful James Bond. Short, ugly, classless

    Sorry, but Craig is an awful James Bond. Short, ugly, classless. Film is too long for what it has to say and there is no reason for an 'origin' story as Fleming never did one, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Pretty good

    While I'm not a fan of the Bond movies, this one I can make an exception. It really is pretty good. Craig did a good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bond Begins Anew

    I always liked Bond in theory. The concept of a womanizing, extremely driven, suave secret agent is compelling, but in actual practice the movies never held my interest. Because the aforementioned character didn't strike me as so fascinating when he's portrayed as an infallible cartoon character, and played by actors who looked more like Sears cataloh models than men of action.

    I wasn't asking for complete hardcore and bitter reality, this is escapism after all. Just a dose of gravity, and a Bond who I could buy as a tough guy. With Casino Royale, I got the whammy. Big Time.

    Much has been said about Craig, and I don't have much to add. What I'm here to say: If you thought you knew Bond, you might be in for an awakening, here. Give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bond movie/Bond ever

    This movie is a masterpiece, so I won't talk in sentences.
    Craig- Best Bond ever
    Green- Good acting
    Dench- no one else can be 'M' but her
    Le Chifre guy- best Bond villain is the past decade

    Locations- superb
    Screenplay- Mind-blowing
    Direction- wow
    Action- Mouth-opening (there is parkour in the beginning!)
    Story- mind boggling but awesome
    My fave Bond film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    And I thought Sean Connery couldn't be beaten

    My husband and I remember when the first Bond movies came out. We have always thought Sean C was the best Bond, until we saw Casino Royale. Great stunts, real emotional complexity, and definitely the most "physical" Bond for men who like action and women who don't! The second movie was a real disappointment. Terrible script and dialogue. We are hoping Daniel Craig will be given a great script again like Casino Royale and we will definitely give him a third chance. Enjoy this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best James Bond film since.....no other!!! NUF CED!!!

    Casino Royale will thrill you! Originally I was scepticale of Daniel Craig. But I misjudged him. He is fantastic! Better than Timothy Dalton. Better than Pierce Brosnan, Roger Moore, and George Lazenby! He will thrill you. Vesper Lynd is as sexy as possible, nearing the sexyness of Honey Ryder! Le Chriffe is dark, mysterious, and as fantastic as Blofeld. And that's hard to come by. Of course, Judi Dench was magnificent as M. Miss Moneypenny wasn't missed. She was replaced by a man named Villiers (no sexual content between him and 007). Sadly, this movie lacked one thing. The gadget master. Q. John Cleese wasn't made for the part in D.A.D, since Desmond Llwelyn was irreplaceible. Casino Royale was magnificent!! WATCH IT! Then see Quantum of Solace, a direct follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Casino Royale

    Finally! Someone(Daniel Craig) playing James Bond as he is written in the books. Daniel Craig is the consummate James Bond- 007. And, Judi Dench is the consummate M. To be fair, the other actors didn't have this excellent script & direction. The chemistry between James & Vesper was hot. Re-read the book after seeing the movie. Both are excellent. <BR/> This movie has everything a James Bond fan (or any movie-goer wants): action, love, anguish, humor, & sexy, sexy Daniel Craig. Bond has for 55 yrs. been the hero with a dark, cold side. He's an assassin. Not some smarmy, flippant character as he had been portrayed up until now. He takes a lickin' & keeps on tickin'. This is a must-see movie. Please treat yourself as well to Daniel's other movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Bond since &quot Goldfinger&quot !!

    I don't usually make comments about other reviewers, but the previous review is way off base. I am old enough to have seen most of the Bond films in the theatre. Only a few Connery films are better. Daniel Craig isn't stiff he's icy cold, a killer for Queen and country. It is the new beginning of the Bond mytho's. In fact, did anyone else notice that the Bond theme didn't play until the end of the film as he introduces himself as &quot Bond, James Bond&quot . The chase scene in the building site is crazy good. The banter between Bond and Vesper Lynn is funny. The next movie starts exactly where this one ends with Mr. White.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2