Customer Reviews for

Castle - Season 1

Average Rating 5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    I just started watching this show and I'm addicted. There is som

    I just started watching this show and I'm addicted. There is some humor, and quips. The episodes don't leave you feeling upset. Castle and Beckett's chemistry is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    must see

    I loved watching them..we couldn't stop...then we realized it was 2am:) LOVED them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    watchable

    i buy mostly BBC box sets [midsomer murders:new tricks:Poirot:Marple:Morse and many many more] so to actually find an american entry that was watchable was different. I am a fan of good dialogue and enjoyable characters and this fit both of these quite well. The plots are OK but the methods used to solve the crimes are the good stuff and the by play between all the characters is the best part, for me. My only other commercial TV buy is BONES and if you enjoy Bones then i think you will enjoy this as this is also a police drama comedy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smart, humorous, good writing

    This a smart, humorous show. Has great chemistry between the main characters. It is nice to watch a show that isn't about poking fun and being mean spirited to others. The humor is a nice touch, but also has some very touching moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsome T.V. Series

    Loved the show! Deleted scenes and an un-aired show. Nathan Fillion have so much charm and he's so witty that it makes the show very appealing and entertaining. His patner "Becket" complements Fillion's character very well. Well done show. Recommend the series very highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Castle Season 1

    Castle is a show that you can watch again and enjoy the fun of the show. Worth the buy. Can't wait for season 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very enjoyable show

    Castle is fun and clever, and if you enjoy Nathan Fillion, it's a good 'fix'. The characters are interesting and engaging, and there's a nice mix of humor and serious situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF THE BEST NEW SHOWS TO HIT TELEVISION IN QUITE A LONG TIME!!!

    Viewers who like an easy going crime show with 2 main characters who heat up the screen without being an item ( yet ), this show is for you!!
    Ladies will appreciate the very handsome actor who plays novelist Richard Castle. Together with Kate Beckett ( the attractive detective who has caught Castle's eye ), they solve some of the oddest crimes/murders in the city, while engaging in some of the sharpest and very witty dialogue I've heard on TV in a long time! This show is well worth watching and although I've seen all of the episodes, I will be buying the DVD so that I can enjoy seeing them all over again...and sharing with my mom who hasn't had the pleasure of seeing this show yet. She is going to love it and so will you!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Love the show

    Love the show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Show

    The minute they started running promos for this show I knew I had to watch it. (Plus the song they played, Gives You Hell, really hooked you & was entirely appropriate.) My husband does not stay up late enough to watch the show so I've got him hooked with the DVD set. I love Castle & Beckett, but the supporting cast is something special. Another reviewer mentioned that they can't wait for the Season Two box set. I totally agree. In fact I was on line checking to see if it was ready for preorder yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great show!

    I purchased this set for my mom (and I plan to borrow it from her too!). We both really enjoy the show, and I knew that she had missed some of the first season.

    Castle is stylish comedy - a combination of old-style banter and physical comedy with a cop show. The main characters have a great chemistry that really helps to make a program like this more believable. It is such a nice relief from the more serious police shows on right now - for a while it looked like every drama was either a medical show, or trying to be Law & Order.

    My favorite character is probably the daughter - I love that she is so much more mature than her father, while still experiencing life as a high school student.

    The family dynamics of son, daughter, grandmother are really fun and add a nice frame for the rest of the show. It helps to balance Castle's playboy type image.

    I would recommend this DVD to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Castle Season I was great!

    I am not a regular TV watcher. (I am a reader.) I got interested in watching Castle because it was on after Dancing with the Stars. I missed alot of the regular episodes, so I bought the DVD set.

    I liked the mystery/thriller aspect, but I especially like the quirky humor and sizzle between Castle and Beckett.

    Castle is the only show I try to watch weekly. The DVD was a great way to fill in those episodes that I missed. I will also be passing it onto my Mom, who doesn't get Fox and loves murder/mysteries also.

    I definately rate this DVD set as well worth buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    love this show!

    I just really love this show. I was so pleased to recieve my season 1 DVD that I promptly sat down and watched every episode---and yes, I DO have a life! The chemistry of all of the actors is amazing. I look forward to learning more about each of the characters! Can't say enough about Nathan Fillion (cute, charming, funny) and Stana Katic (gorgeous, believable). There is not one bad actor, character or storyline! I particularly enjoy the interplay between Castle and the three women in his life---his mother, his daughter, and--of course--Kate Beckett. Watch it if you haven't already--I'm already looking forward to season 2 on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic In The Making

    Truly a classic in the making, Castle brings a genuine, lasting smile
    to my face every time I watch it. The storylines are mostly believable
    with enough uncertainty to keep you searching for the next clue.

    Nathan Fillion (Castle)'s ability to spread a grin on my face with
    each scene is unlike any other actor. Stana Katic (Beckett) brings a
    sincerity to her character that is often forsaken by actresses for the
    sake of sex appeal. Katic manages both seamlessly.

    No show would be complete without supporting actors. Castle's
    supporting cast brings a deapth of reality and an added layer of humor
    equal only to its acting ability. Castle is humanized by Rick Castle's
    mother and daughter, played by Susan Sullivan and Molly C. Quinn
    respectively. Quinn truly shines when paired with Castle in father/daughter moments in which she plays the 'grown-up' one. Sullivan brings the added comic relief to the family scenes with a touch motherly wisdom.

    Detectives Ryan (Seamus Dever) and Esposito (Jon Huertas) provide banter akin to Castle and Beckett, often at the sake of our lead duo. There is a sardonic respect between Caslte, Bekett, Ryan, and Esposito, creating some of the series' greatest moments.

    Rounding out the precinct-based cast is authority figure and
    often father figure, Captain Montgomery, as played by Ruben Santiago-Hudson. A no-nonsense leader, the Captain balances the antics of Castle and Beckett with the harsh reality of a man in charge of life-or-death situations.

    And no crime or procedural drama would be complete without a 'deadpan'
    coroner. Tamala Jones positively glows as Coroner Lanie Parish, a woman who works hard and plays hard. She can take any body in any situation (in a tree, a sewer, a wedding party) and five minutes later can tell you how they died, what they were doing when they died, and who they were with. Adding humor to the shows most serious moments, Jones is a perfect addition to a spectacular cast.

    Whether you are watching for drama, comedy, or both, Castle fulfills your wishes. Cast, writers, and producers all bring a hard-fought determination to make you gasp and laugh in every five minutes of every episode. So sit back, relax and prepare for murder most foul and humor most hearty with the best new show on television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great DVD

    I love Castle so was glad to get season one of the show. I am looking forward to getting season two when it comes out. Castle is a lot of fun and makes me smile. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic show!!

    Must see!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Fun!!

    My sister and I started watching this show this season. I absolutely had to know how it started. So very uncharacteristic for me I bought something I had never watched. So worth it!! If you are not watching this show you should be. It's fun and light, yet has very serious moments. Actors and chemistry is great. If you think this looks interesting I wouldn't hesitate to buy, I didn't and have no regrets. It's fantastic. If you haven't already, check this show out! Tonight! Mondays at 10/9 central.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great TV Series

    Absolutely entertaining! It's got everything a tv show should have; drama, suspense, comedy, secret love story, and adventure. Every episode is filled with action and pyschological twisters that will keep your mind racing along with the characters to find the answer to every unique crime story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Clever, enjoyable series

    This series is cleverly written, the characters are appealing, and there is just the right balance of serious "cop" stories and humor. I enjoy the interaction between the two main characters, but the secondary characters are also well-written and fun to watch. It is a great ensemble. I recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    CAstle Season 1

    Excellent show! My sister loves this series and this is a great collection of season 1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3