Customer Reviews for

Castle in the Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Fantastic humor, wonderful musical score, magnificent story with

    Fantastic humor, wonderful musical score, magnificent story with a voicecast to match! What could be better?
    My all-time favorite film from Miyazaki, I recently bought Castle in the Sky and Kiki's Delivery Service on Blu Ray and was disappointed (and pissed) to find out both of them had been edited compared to the 1998 and 2003 releases I grew up watching. For Castle in the Sky, though the timelength of the film is the same (2 hours, 4 minutes), some of the musical score is rearraged or changed all together and alot of the extra background chatter and more funnier quotes, especially coming from the pirates, were taken out. For Kiki, same situation: the two songs from intro and finale replaced by original Japanese music, some of the musical score taken out, as well as most of the comments coming from Jiji the cat, voiced by the great and late Phil Hartman. Highly offensive considering that movie was one of his last!!! My Advice? While most movies are a wonder to watch in Blu Ray quality, I recommend the 2003 DVDs or VHS tapes of these two Miyazaki masterpieces. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great cartoon movie

    A cartoon movie from HAYAO MIYAZAKI, rest assured that storyline would be wonderful, visuals would be absolutely stunning and above all it would be emotional. CASTLE IN THE SKY is a story of a girl from an enigmatic location floating in the sky. Everyone, from gov officials to sky pirates, is after her for their on selfish ends. But, she is not alone ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Peril Above.

    *Great animation, good storyline with a "cool" and "neat" protagonist, and the other characters are developed enough for you to enjoy this voyage. This DVD is suitable for 10 to 14 year olds; it has some action violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful "Castles in the Sky" movie

    My husband and I had the blessing to watch this wonderful dvd yesterday and let me tell you that its a great movie. If you like to watch any films that are a creation of fantasy and cheerful creativity then this is your movie. The movie has some dark moments but the message of the movie turns out to be very uplifting that I would go as far as to say that one could watch this movie with youngsters. As one of the reviewers mentioned much of the movie takes place up in the sky but the movie carefully mixes fantasy and cartoon originality in such a way that it ends up being very pleasing to watch. This is a great family movie that will appeal to all ages. At the beginning of the film, it showed a scene where one of Pixar's creators was recommending the film and how he is friends with the Castle in the Sky's creator. I already had a good feeling about the movie but when one of Pixar's own creators recommends this movie it gives a great hint that this movie is also a classic (considering that Pixar has made many wonderful movies in their own right).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Nice FAMILY Movie!

    Laputa:Castle in the Sky is a very nice movie for the entire family to watch again and again. Younger kids can cheer for the two kids (Pazu and Sheeta), boo and hiss the nasty general and the evil government agent (mushka) and figure out for themselves whether to cheer or boo/hiss Captain Dora and her gang/family of pirates. Older kids will appreciate and enjoy the innocent friendship between Pazu and Sheeta and laugh at the cartoon-like antics of the pirate gang. Adults will really appreciate that there's NOTHING suggestive, R-rated or otherwise offensive to even the youngest eyes and ears. But this movie won't just babysit your kids; it'll give them (and you) something to think about. Miyazaki put a green message in the movie (hint: why did the Laputans abandon their city?). But the message doesn't slap you in the face; you have to look at it a bit to really see it. It might even take a second viewing to see it fully, so let your kids talk you into watching it again. You'll all enjoy it very much. And then go get all of Hayao Miyazaki's other movies, especially Kiki's Delivery Service. I think that's the best on e of them all. I also recommend Howl's Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away. All are sweet and innocent and a lot of fun. Even disney thinks so; they're the ones bringing them over to America. Unlike many anime movies, you can't tell if the settings are Japanese, American or wherever. And a lot of the story takes place in the air or some other extraordinary setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laputa: Castle in the Sky

    I first saw this movie in my high school Japanese class. It has stuck with me ever since. This is perhaps my favorite Miyazaki movie. Two children on the run from the government and pirates must solve the mystery of the castle in the sky. Full of flying machines and awesome robots. It doesn't get better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie.

    I liked this movie! If you like this genre you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Power of Laputa

    As a fan of Miyazaki's films, I can proudly say that Castle in the Sky is my favorite. Although the animation is old-this film was originally out in 1985/86-it still contains a well written story, lovable characters, and outstanding music. It is the story of Sheeta, an orphaned child, and Pazu, an eager boy struggling to redeem his father's name. The pair meet after Sheeta carefully falls from the sky, with the help of the ancient crystal. Both seek a castle in the sky, Laputa. As does the military and a gang of pirates led by the rowdy Dola, voiced by Cloris Leachman. Being pirates, they are after the treasure. Whereas the special government agent Muska, whom is voiced by Mark Hamill, is acting leader of the military, and only wants one thing. The ancient power of Laputa. The three sides meet and Sheeta must decide to let Laputa fall into the hands of an abusing power or save Laputa the only way she knows how. Immerse yourself in this witty tale spiced with action, science fiction, technology, and a hint of romance. If the film itself does not capture you, the characters or the musical score will. You will not be disappointed with this work of Miyazaki.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome movies of all time

    Castle in the Sky alonge with every other movie by Hayao Miyazaki is ensperational and heart worming films. They worm the hearts of the viewers and can show them how hard but special life can be. I know that these films will always be remembered and thought of along with Hayao Miyazaki time and time again for making such master pieces. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dubbed...

    okay so the movie was one of this guys best works second to Nausicaa in my opinion. but watchinga dubbed version is torturing, the original japanese recording with english subtitles is thse best way to watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    this will be a great movie to buy

    it was the most wounderful movie I ever saw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Miyazaki is a genius

    This, as with most of Miyazaki's titles, is a feast for the eyes, for the intellect, for the soul, and for all ages. These seeming boundaries are effortlessly dissolved by one of the modern world's master storytellers, who deserves even far more celebration internationally than he is currently given. Sit back and and quietly enjoy as Ojiisama spins another enthralling yarn. With the success of Princess Mononoke and Sen To Chihiro (Spirited Away), the rest of the world is finally slowly waking up to the rare brilliance of Miyazaki Hayao. The fact that some of his finest work is STILL not available to the rest of the world in its original form is criminal. Here in Japan, Miyazaki is a household word. I have been tearing my hair out to find a region 1 version of Laputa, as well as of Totoro and Nausicaa, with original Japanese audio and English subtitles. I don't know why that's so much to ask, but apparently it is. (Incidentally, if anyone wants to help me out with information, I would be grateful.) I can't even tell if this version of Laputa has the original Japanese audio or not, but I won't buy it until I'm sure. I'm also reading in the reviews on this thread that the soundtrack has been tampered with as well, which isn't encouraging. The original music is fine, and often BEAUTIFUL. It was also composed by Miyazaki himself. WHY tamper with it? Maybe the producers of this DVD couldn't get the rights, I don't know. A visit to the model of Miyazaki's study in the Ghibli museum in Mitaka reveals a glimpse of his wealth of knowledge of and respect for all things organic and devised, which finds its way into, and augments the richness of, his stories. His bookshelves are loaded with volumes on history (his books on the history of the U.S. Navy alone take up an entire shelf!) art, landscapes, human form, crafts, photography, architecture, technology, as well as fiction. His desk is flooded with stacks of CDs which engulf a player and the headphones plugged into it. Laputa definitely has all of the themes one would expect from a Miyazaki film: timelessness, respect for nature, whimsical technology that seems to be based on historical designs, yet are fantastical creations all their own, seemingly futuristic and rustic at the same time (an airship powered by propellers, communication by telegraph), child heroes, and a wealth of three-dimensional characters that constantly defy the stock Western profiles of 'good guys' and 'bad guys.' Also, as in his other films, Miyazaki gives Laputa a somewhat open ending, something else that may be uncomfortable to Western viewers. This is one of his trademarks, however, and part of what has come to be expected from his Japanese fans who love him so. As one of my students, a 14 year-old girl from Kagawa explained it, he leaves it to our own imaginations to wonder how and where the characters finally 'end up.' In Miyazaki's world, as in our world, there is no end. Just as every history is merely a part of a bigger one, so Miyazaki does not follow every line to the end. Instead he weaves his tales into the latticework of a bigger, yet untold tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    The new voice acting and sound track totally butcher the film, the original English version was one of my favourite films of all time however I think I've worn out the tape. The voice acting is extremely poor and the music isnt a patch on the original. Rather than complement the beautiful artwork and wonderful story line it clashes with horrific results. However, with all the above the story is still fantastic, as is the original artwork. As above, if any knows where to find the original please contact me at tal0san@hotmail.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Odd. And about time.

    I saw this title originally waaaay back in 1985-86 when I caught a sneak preview at a convention in San Jose, CA. Couldn't wait for it to come out on LD. Fast forward nearly twenty years and finally, here it is. Odd to see after so long. At the same time, it is about time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Castle in the Sky-Good or Not?

    OK, so I never really did get to love this film, but I bought it anyway because I'm collecting all the Miyazaki films. It's really my 5th pick for Best Miyazaki Films, so you can see that I don't really reccomend it. I definitely liked Princess Mononoke better. Anna Paquin could have done much, much better, but Mark Hamill and Cloris Leachman did an OUTSTANDING job. Personally, I think it was some of the actors' faults for not bringing the movie to life enough. I seriously skip the scene with the mine because it's so dull (but you really need to see it in order to understand Sheeta's crystal's power). The ending, I think most people will agree, is not good. The story needs to go on at least to say where Sheeta and Pazu finally end up! As a lover of anime, you've got to take it from me: this isn't the best anime. I'm not saying don't buy it, just that you might want to really, REALLY think about it before you do. But I do have to salute Mark Hamill for his performance. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful, eerie, and sad

    I thought this movie was utterly, stunningly, gorgeous. It is not violent or sexual anime, which I think is why some other reviewers were...disappointed. Rather than an action flick (though there _is_ action) it is a parable about violence, technology, and the human spirit. I would recommend it to any thoughtful adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    The original UK realease was so much better.

    Although it's nice to finally have this classic anime film on DVD I was severely disappointed with the new voice acting which made the film dull and uninspiring. In the original UK release the voices used were 100 times better and really brought the film to life. If you know where I can get ahold of the original UK release please contact me. Thank You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome one of the best Miazaki films

    it was awesome....laputa is the coolest castle thing with the etherem cyrstal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Laputa The ORIGINAL english version

    My God Castle in the sky sucks big time. The original laputa, that was put on TV in the UK is far superior. If anyone can tell me where this copy is available please will you text me at ben59876@hotmail.com. Thanx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Movie in the world

    you should show this movie to the little chiledren. it create imagination and dream!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3