BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Castle in the Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Fantastic humor, wonderful musical score, magnificent story with

    Fantastic humor, wonderful musical score, magnificent story with a voicecast to match! What could be better?
    My all-time favorite film from Miyazaki, I recently bought Castle in the Sky and Kiki's Delivery Service on Blu Ray and was disappointed (and pissed) to find out both of them had been edited compared to the 1998 and 2003 releases I grew up watching. For Castle in the Sky, though the timelength of the film is the same (2 hours, 4 minutes), some of the musical score is rearraged or changed all together and alot of the extra background chatter and more funnier quotes, especially coming from the pirates, were taken out. For Kiki, same situation: the two songs from intro and finale replaced by original Japanese music, some of the musical score taken out, as well as most of the comments coming from Jiji the cat, voiced by the great and late Phil Hartman. Highly offensive considering that movie was one of his last!!! My Advice? While most movies are a wonder to watch in Blu Ray quality, I recommend the 2003 DVDs or VHS tapes of these two Miyazaki masterpieces. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful "Castles in the Sky" movie

    My husband and I had the blessing to watch this wonderful dvd yesterday and let me tell you that its a great movie. If you like to watch any films that are a creation of fantasy and cheerful creativity then this is your movie. The movie has some dark moments but the message of the movie turns out to be very uplifting that I would go as far as to say that one could watch this movie with youngsters. As one of the reviewers mentioned much of the movie takes place up in the sky but the movie carefully mixes fantasy and cartoon originality in such a way that it ends up being very pleasing to watch. This is a great family movie that will appeal to all ages. At the beginning of the film, it showed a scene where one of Pixar's creators was recommending the film and how he is friends with the Castle in the Sky's creator. I already had a good feeling about the movie but when one of Pixar's own creators recommends this movie it gives a great hint that this movie is also a classic (considering that Pixar has made many wonderful movies in their own right).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laputa: Castle in the Sky

    I first saw this movie in my high school Japanese class. It has stuck with me ever since. This is perhaps my favorite Miyazaki movie. Two children on the run from the government and pirates must solve the mystery of the castle in the sky. Full of flying machines and awesome robots. It doesn't get better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie.

    I liked this movie! If you like this genre you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Power of Laputa

    As a fan of Miyazaki's films, I can proudly say that Castle in the Sky is my favorite. Although the animation is old-this film was originally out in 1985/86-it still contains a well written story, lovable characters, and outstanding music. It is the story of Sheeta, an orphaned child, and Pazu, an eager boy struggling to redeem his father's name. The pair meet after Sheeta carefully falls from the sky, with the help of the ancient crystal. Both seek a castle in the sky, Laputa. As does the military and a gang of pirates led by the rowdy Dola, voiced by Cloris Leachman. Being pirates, they are after the treasure. Whereas the special government agent Muska, whom is voiced by Mark Hamill, is acting leader of the military, and only wants one thing. The ancient power of Laputa. The three sides meet and Sheeta must decide to let Laputa fall into the hands of an abusing power or save Laputa the only way she knows how. Immerse yourself in this witty tale spiced with action, science fiction, technology, and a hint of romance. If the film itself does not capture you, the characters or the musical score will. You will not be disappointed with this work of Miyazaki.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome movies of all time

    Castle in the Sky alonge with every other movie by Hayao Miyazaki is ensperational and heart worming films. They worm the hearts of the viewers and can show them how hard but special life can be. I know that these films will always be remembered and thought of along with Hayao Miyazaki time and time again for making such master pieces. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dubbed...

    okay so the movie was one of this guys best works second to Nausicaa in my opinion. but watchinga dubbed version is torturing, the original japanese recording with english subtitles is thse best way to watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    this will be a great movie to buy

    it was the most wounderful movie I ever saw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Miyazaki is a genius

    This, as with most of Miyazaki's titles, is a feast for the eyes, for the intellect, for the soul, and for all ages. These seeming boundaries are effortlessly dissolved by one of the modern world's master storytellers, who deserves even far more celebration internationally than he is currently given. Sit back and and quietly enjoy as Ojiisama spins another enthralling yarn. With the success of Princess Mononoke and Sen To Chihiro (Spirited Away), the rest of the world is finally slowly waking up to the rare brilliance of Miyazaki Hayao. The fact that some of his finest work is STILL not available to the rest of the world in its original form is criminal. Here in Japan, Miyazaki is a household word. I have been tearing my hair out to find a region 1 version of Laputa, as well as of Totoro and Nausicaa, with original Japanese audio and English subtitles. I don't know why that's so much to ask, but apparently it is. (Incidentally, if anyone wants to help me out with information, I would be grateful.) I can't even tell if this version of Laputa has the original Japanese audio or not, but I won't buy it until I'm sure. I'm also reading in the reviews on this thread that the soundtrack has been tampered with as well, which isn't encouraging. The original music is fine, and often BEAUTIFUL. It was also composed by Miyazaki himself. WHY tamper with it? Maybe the producers of this DVD couldn't get the rights, I don't know. A visit to the model of Miyazaki's study in the Ghibli museum in Mitaka reveals a glimpse of his wealth of knowledge of and respect for all things organic and devised, which finds its way into, and augments the richness of, his stories. His bookshelves are loaded with volumes on history (his books on the history of the U.S. Navy alone take up an entire shelf!) art, landscapes, human form, crafts, photography, architecture, technology, as well as fiction. His desk is flooded with stacks of CDs which engulf a player and the headphones plugged into it. Laputa definitely has all of the themes one would expect from a Miyazaki film: timelessness, respect for nature, whimsical technology that seems to be based on historical designs, yet are fantastical creations all their own, seemingly futuristic and rustic at the same time (an airship powered by propellers, communication by telegraph), child heroes, and a wealth of three-dimensional characters that constantly defy the stock Western profiles of 'good guys' and 'bad guys.' Also, as in his other films, Miyazaki gives Laputa a somewhat open ending, something else that may be uncomfortable to Western viewers. This is one of his trademarks, however, and part of what has come to be expected from his Japanese fans who love him so. As one of my students, a 14 year-old girl from Kagawa explained it, he leaves it to our own imaginations to wonder how and where the characters finally 'end up.' In Miyazaki's world, as in our world, there is no end. Just as every history is merely a part of a bigger one, so Miyazaki does not follow every line to the end. Instead he weaves his tales into the latticework of a bigger, yet untold tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful, eerie, and sad

    I thought this movie was utterly, stunningly, gorgeous. It is not violent or sexual anime, which I think is why some other reviewers were...disappointed. Rather than an action flick (though there _is_ action) it is a parable about violence, technology, and the human spirit. I would recommend it to any thoughtful adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome one of the best Miazaki films

    it was awesome....laputa is the coolest castle thing with the etherem cyrstal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Movie in the world

    you should show this movie to the little chiledren. it create imagination and dream!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2003

    I love Castle In The Sky it was so cool!!!

    A great story line.I like that it has love and friendship.The girl was so nice and was the boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    This is another example of Hayao Miyazaki's great artistic talent. His collaboration with Studio Ghibli always creates masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Castle in the sky is the best animated anime I've ever seen!!!!!!:)

    It was a great, It had the Indiana jones type action, love , and the casual eerie yet very interesting and cool Miyazaki type piece to it the music was great the animation was perfect I'd recommend it to anyone and I mean anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderful Adventure

    This is a wonderful, clever story. Really well done. Animation is breathtaking. I hope that some of the story isn't lost in translation, because the subtitled story is really well thought out, and artfully done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2