Customer Reviews for

Chariots of Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Great Motion Pictures of our time

    When I wandered into the theater at the Galleria Mall in Houston in 1981, I was just killing a few hours and saw from the poster that this movie was about runners. Well, was I surprised! This is one of the examples of what motion pictures can be at their highest level. No gratuitous sex, violence or special effects, just a true story told honestly about 2 great athletes and the many struggles they endured to excel. Fine acting by then unknown Ben Cross and the late Ian Charleson, visually stunning and a degree of suspense that sweeps the viewer into another time, when acheivement was measured by a different standard. This is one of the most inspirational movies that can be watched. A true treasure and deservedly the Best Picture winner of that year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    BUYER BEWARE: This is a pan & scan release. It has been modi

    BUYER BEWARE: This is a pan & scan release. It has been modified from its original widescreen format and will not look like the original film.  Why the studio released this version of an award-winning film is beyond anyone's guess as well as why this website is selling this corrupted version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    AS A RUNNER IN SCHOOL AND I LOST A GREAT FRIEND THAT MADE STATE

    AS A RUNNER IN SCHOOL AND I LOST A GREAT FRIEND THAT MADE STATE AND THE US FINALS AS A TRACK RUNER BUT HIS LIFE WAS SHORT. BUT AS THE FILM COME OUT THE SCHOOL MADE A LOT OF TRACK AND FEILD RUNNERS WATCH THESE FILM SO IT BRINGS BACK GREAT DREAMS OF THE TIMES ON THE TRACK AND THE STREET.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring Film for all times...

    This has been a favorite since it came out (back in the day!) The movie weaves together the inspiring stories of two Olympic runners: Eric Liddell, a Scot who eventually becomes a Christian missionary in China, and Harold Abrahams, a Jewish student at Cambridge who pursues his Olympic dream with extreme dedication and determination. With an amazing cast (Sir John Gielgud, Ian Holm, Patrick Magee, Ben Cross, Ian Charleson, Nigel Havers et all) it won 4 well-deserved Oscars, including Best Picture, in 1981. This edition includes excellent Special Features -- my sister lost my old (very worn) DVD, so she replaced it with this one from our local B&N. The digitally remastered widescreen edition looked & sounded oh-so-much-better (the excellent soundtrack from Vangelis is amazing!) and the documentaries on the 2nd disc are great. We enjoyed the interviews with the production team, director and actors who shared wonderful stories from the making of the film. One of the best inspirational films of all times - be sure to add this special edition to your collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspirational Running Movie

    Excellent historical movie. The story of two UK sprinters at the beginning of the twentieth century. Focuses on two very different internal drives that bring both runners to the Olympic competition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A 1980s Classic

    Often sports movies sink under their own weight, as the sheer familiarity of sports figures makes it difficult to suspend one's disbelief when watching actors' portrayals. Through the use of unfamiliar actors, and by minimizing the actual sports scenes, Chariots of Fire escapes the trap and allows us to concentrate on the contrasting characters: the fierce intensity and individualism of Abrahams, and in Liddell, the devotion to faith. The beauty is that a sense of Team transcends those character traits on the ultimate sports stage, the Olympics, but only to a point. The characters remain true to themselves. The thoughtful screenplay, which won an Academy award, brings all of this home intelligently. Visually, the flavors and details of the University scene in England in the 1920s are perfectly captured, and the well-heeled, young scholar-athletes are portrayed with sensitivity. And let's not forget the famous slo-mo scenes and the groundbreaking modern synth score by Vangelis that meshed surprisingly well with the 1920s England. Tremendous acting throughout. For the supporting cast, honorable mention to Ian Holm for his portrayal of track coach Sam Mussabini. and for the Pitch perfect all around. It's the depth of the characters that makes me return to it over and over. An inspiring and beautiful film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remember The Music

    Nothing like a running movie can keep your attention like Chariots of Fire and they are all white guys, not to be prejudicial, excluding Abrahams. WASPS, in fact. Eric Lydle is a man everybody should remember for his faith. Princess Diana's sweetheart Dodi Fayed financed this film by the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INSPIRATIONAL

    I have seen the movie 5 times and it still inspires me today as it did over 20 years ago. Eric Liddle's faith and conviction captured my full attention as he sprinted across the screen all to the glory of God. As I watched the film I was also reminded of someone else who ran like the wind. His name was Elijah. The Old Testiment has an account of Elijah running faster than the chariots and he is the one the Lord took to heaven in "Chariots of Fire." There are not many movies of this high caliber. Most films with christian faith at the core don't capture the sincerity this one did. 5 star plus!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!

    this book was beyond awesome. a true story retold... it showed what it means to win for a person like eric liddle... a great movie for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historical context

    This movie inspired and thrilled me when it first appeared for all the reasons noted. Now I appreciate how well the film captures a particular moment in British history. It takes place just after the Great War's devastation, when to be 'grasping' (that is, ambitious) and 'Jewish' were still synonymous, and both traits were still disdained by the so-called 'gentlemen' who ran the British Empire -- shortly before World War II wrenched the empire away for good. It helps one understand why this rigid, class-ridden society was doomed even without Hitler's help; Maggie Thatcher and Tony Blair would have fared no better in it than Harold Abrahams. Another sad twist: Its executive producer understood 'outsider' status in England quite well. He was scorned as an upstart interloper up to and after his death in a Paris tunnel with lifelong insider Princess Diana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    actually, he was running right!

    ''Chariots of Fire'' is a movie that continues to inspire and move me whenever I think about it, and my first viewing was 6 years ago. I have to make a contention with the comment that Eric Liddell's running style in the movie was way off - it was, but the thing was, that's the way he ran in real life. Everyone who saw him race could never understand why he won so many times, since his running style was unorthodox. So, actually, the movie was entirely accurate, and the actor who portrays him had to go through rigorous training to adopt his running style. Plus, if you remember, Eric Liddell is not a true sprinter - he's a long distance runner. ''the old heart digs deep.'' So, that makes the fact that he won the 400 even more amazing, as the 400 is the most rigorous sprint in track and field. Just an interesting fact to keep in mind when you watch the movie - Liddell's excellence truly came not from only his own talent, but his devotion to God. ''Those who honor me, I will honor.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MOVIE BASED ON THE REAL ERIC LIDDELL

    An inspiring movie, and all the more so because it is based on the TRUE story of Eric Liddell - who, by the way, actually did sprint in that unusual fashion: arms flailing, eyes to the heavens. He ran fast, regardless of his style. Read a biography of him and find out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie, Lousy DVD

    If you saw the original movie in the theater, you won't like this narrow screen, low-fi DVD. Wait for someone with taste to release a decent version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great light

    Gordon Hammersley plays a small but vital role in 'Chariots of Fire'. The young actor died soon after this great film was released, so it is all the more important that we remember his presence and ability. He is the one who sets everything in motion and starts the race- watch out for him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Running style

    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. No violence, no foul language, great music score, and excellent acting. My main criticism, even though it's a minor one, is that the scenes of Eric Liddell (Ian Charleston) running are far from accurate. No sprinter (this includes up to 400 meters) would run with his arms flailing about as he runs......sort of like he's trying to fly by flapping his wings. A true sprinter keeps his elbows in close to his body.....if he doesn't, he will not run as fast AT ALL. Truly a great movie, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unexplainable DVD release

    Chariots of Fire is a stirring, Academy Award winning film with marvelous photography which has been criminally transferred to DVD in a Pan and Scan format. Don't buy this version. There are no extras and you can't see all the director and photographer wanted you to see. Wait for the widescreen version. It'll be worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding! Arguably One of the Greatest Movies of All Time

    CHARIOTS OF FIRE is the inspiring true story of Harold Abrahams and Eric Liddell, two men whose stories of striving for Olympic gold are reenacted with thematic accuracy. Abrahams, a confident Cambridge student, and self-conscious of his Jewish origin, is the ''toast of England,'' besting all runners with whom he competes. Convinced anyone who isn't first place is a loser, he hires professional trainer Sam Mussambini to assist him in his quest to be the fastest. Eric Liddell, son of Scottish missionaries, runs for God. While he intends to follow in his father's footsteps in returning to the mission in China, his sister believes his love for running will quench his desire to serve God abroad. And when he discovers that his Olympic event is to be run on a Sunday, the Lord's day, he must decide whom to honor. It is the timeless tale of two men, driven by different things, each of whom must triumph by following their own convictions and hearts, making the drama all the richer for it. A story of focus, principle, honor, glory, God-before-king mentality, and sportsmanship, Chariots of Fire will entertain fans from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A GREAT MOVIE

    THIS WAS A VERY GOOD MOTION PICTURE JUST SAW THIS YEAR BUT IT WAS A EMOTIONAL FILM AND I AM VERY PROUD TO HAVE SEEN AND EXPRIENCE THE JOY OF WATCHING THIS FILM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fine film, stunning music...but disappointing DVD release

    I think there is no doubt that this film is an enduring classic. Especially so in the way that Vangelis' music lifts the events of a particular era completely out of time. Unfortunately this DVD is a Pan&Scan release with no significant extras. As such it is both disappointing and overpriced. I would personally hold out for a remastered widescreen release, with director's commentary and an isolated music score.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2