Customer Reviews for

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    You wouldn't think a remake of this movie would be very good bec

    You wouldn't think a remake of this movie would be very good because how good the original movie was. But this movie was fantastic! Its like watching the original just more up to date. Tim Burton couldn't have done a better job with the sets, music, or cast! Please, you have to purchase this movie. It won't be wasting your money! The kids will love it and so will the adults. Yes this movie was made in 2005 so its 7 years old, but is still soooooo good! Just buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible

    Burton outdoes himself and the original with this adaptation. The music is amazing, the sets are incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do you other reviewers even know who tim burton is?

    im tired of all these reviewers talking about how "creepy" this movie was. have any of you ever seen any of tim burtons movie? and the reference from one horrible woman saying that the scene with "homosexuals walking their dogs" was not "family fun" was ignorant and absolutely nauseating to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this hilarious family story to enjoy!!!!!!

    I liked Charlie&the chocolate factory only because I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE CHOCOLATE! I thought that it was a hilarious family film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than I ever expected!

    I adored this film! It was hilarious and kept me laughing ever five minutes! Johnny Depp is the perfect Willy Wonka! He is funny, amusing, and all around an enjoyable man to watch on the big screen. This movie was definitely directed with a family in mind. I do like the original, but this movie wasn't a remake of the first, it's just a man deciding that he wants to make a movie and saying, 'Hey? Why not make a movie on Willy Wonka?' Terrific movie! It's five stars from me are well earned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good but.....

    this movie is the best adaptation of dahl's text.accept for the flashbacks and the ending but everything else is GOLD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bettter than the original

    Although it's certainly darker and with a more sinister tone than the original movie on which it is based, I think this Burton/Depp version is superior. And, believe me, I usually pan remakes. Depp's Wonka is a treat just to watch. And I don't miss that sappy "Candyman"-Anthony Newley music from the original either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing!!!

    wounderfull!!! I loved this movie. I read the book and the sequal and loved them. Carlie and the chocolate factory fills your heart with laughs fun and most importent. CHOCOLATE!!!! please see this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful work

    Thank you Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. They and the rest of the cast did a wonderful job with this movie. I'm almost 60 and my husband I loved the movie. It charming and fun. We watched with smiles on our faces and warmth in our hearts. It's a must see for children. They'll have an opportunity to learn something about family and their attitudes toward things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Burton and Depp Strike Again

    Another piece of Johnny depp and Tim Burton's mind have been added to the puzzle. Between the facial expressions of depp and the new and more crude outlook on the story by Burton, this movie invites you into the minds of a pair that think outside of a whole 'nother box entirly. Roahl Dahl would be very pleased to know that his story is still being told in a sense that is as creative as he was. Johnny Depp took a risk when he accepted the role, and he took wonka onto a whole new level, he has yet to let me down. I hope to see many more outstanding films frome this odd pair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Be sure you know the version you are buying

    I found this movie entertaining with great special effects which caters to the imagination. However, I give this DVD (both versions) one-star because..."shame on the studio" for putting out two versions to trick the buyers. This version has two discs which is the one I wanted. I bought the one-disc version and did not know there was two versions. I only listened to the ad on TV which made absolutely no distinction to two versions. The two disc version has the extras about the squirrels, the one-disc version does not. So buyers beware and be sure you are buying the version you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for Young Children

    Johnny Depp's portrayal of Willy Wonka is a disgrace. This once-beloved character has been turned into a psychotic, parent-hating, extremely juvenile, WEIRDO. My young daughter has had nightmares about "little squirrels" EVERY NIGHT since seeing this film over the summer. In this version of the film, squirrels attack Veruca Salt and throw her into a hole. Finally, a brief, yet totally unnecessary, scene of two homosexuals walking their dog is a part of this so-called "family film". I am extremely disappointed in this remake. It really could have been done in a much better way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    perfect in every way

    The origonal book and movie are clasics in ther own right. However, though I appreciate them, I was never peticularly satisfied with the origonals. And I found the movie eerie in its uneerieness. This new version by tm burton with the billiant jonny depp was perfect in every way. My hat oes off to jonney depp in going out on a limb and making a willy wonka that is cold and funny at the same time. And my hat goes off to tim burton for fixin the major flaw in the book, the ending. This new ending not only leves the audience more satisfied but it adds a little something to the theme that you never got wth the origonals. Plus this new version is so vsually great you can't tear your eyes away from the screen. It was a load of laughs and just a great movie for the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is a must-see

    Very impressive movie for any fan of Depp and Burton. Funny, enthralling, whimsical, weird, great family flick. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This movie was simply amazing. Johnny Depp and Tim Burton hit it big yet again with this movie. The characters are wonderful. Depp really brought Wonka to life. The boy that played Charlie did a supurb job. All the characters were astounding. I loved the way that Burton put in the background story about Wonka. I thought that it was a brilliant idea to try to explain why Wonka is the way he is. Christopher Lee as Wonka's dad was perfect. Everyone was perfectly cast for their parts. I highly praise this movie as a work of sheer genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You can't really dislike this movie

    This movie was a real joy to watch. I have seen the original version and thought this movie was up to that level. This movie brings the old version and puts on a new twist with many addictional scenes. The thing I noticed about this movie was how good it was played out. There were several clever scenes that made it stay fresh. The oompa loompa's in this movie are all played by the same person. These characters have some really neat songs that go good with the stoyline. It was really quite creative on how Tim Burton approached this movie. He was able to remake a classic novel with new things added. These really seem to keep the story line fresh for people who have seen the older version many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory RULES!!

    Never before have I seen such a remarkable motion picture. I laughed all the way through the movie. I loved it and wanted the DVD as soon as it came out to public

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Depp Strikes it Rich

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was simply the top film of 2005. Johnny Depp delved into the role of Willy Wonka and played it perfectly. The 2005 version beats down the 1971 original with Gene Wilder. No disrespect at all towards the original movie, but Depp and Burton just did better. The sets were spectacular, the cinematography was marvelous, and the acting topped everything. Better wake up Mr. Oscar and give him a Golden Ticket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth Seeing

    This movie is awesome. Its visually breathtaking and the score (Danny Elfman, of course) is wonderful. Johnny Depp's acting is a bit two-dimensional, and his story is a bit dull, but its worth it to watch great performances from the children, Charlies family, and of course the Oompa Loompas (all played by the same person). Another great film by Tim Burton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Burton and Depp, What Have You Done?

    I loved the original Roald Dahl book, as well the original film version, "Willy Wonka and the Chocalate Factory". But I must say, I was hugely disappointed by this version. Johnny Depp is no Gene Wilder and although this Charlie is very cute and sweet (no pun intended), he's a little too perfect for his own good. The children and parents here are more creepy than funny. The incidents they fall into feel more like cruel traps rather than silly detours. Plus, The Oompa - Loompas are unimaginative and bland. And the story of Willy Wonka's childhood is totally unnecessary and completely changes the story. But the thing that disgusts me most is the things Tim Burton put in this picture. Puppets that look like corpses when they melt? Graphic referances to "Psycho"? Opening titles that are spooky rather than whimsical? A cold Willy Wonka? What was Tim Burton thinking, putting stuff like that in a kid's movie?! Word to the wise: if you want family - friendly movie magic, avoid this picture and watch the original. Please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4