Customer Reviews for

Charmed - The Complete Series

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Charmed Deluxe Collectors Edition **LIMITED**

Both the 'standard' "Book Of Shadows" DVD release and this...the 'Collectible Edition' would satisfy your cravings for all things magical. However, if you are a true Charmie, then this is the only release that you should consider. Here's why.


Whlie we all...
Both the 'standard' "Book Of Shadows" DVD release and this...the 'Collectible Edition' would satisfy your cravings for all things magical. However, if you are a true Charmie, then this is the only release that you should consider. Here's why.


Whlie we all know that good things come in small packages, if you are a Charmed fanatic then size matters! This is the only edition that is the exact size of the TV prop book. The regular edition is roughly the size of a photo album. The art reproductions of spell pages that are reproduced for this edition are near exact copies. This meant that there was no need to reformat the columns etc to fit. The regular edition was changed and/or shrunk significantly to fit the unusual page configuration.

The color of both editions is a true forest green and very close to the original. I was asked recently if the cover was an exact reproduction of the original and while the picture released for the presale mockup was definately different, the final version is much closer. They have added the cover corner pieces and also appropriate taping along the spine to match the original. Now for Charmies, the 'Triquetra' on the cover is a very important feature. Spelling Productions still owns the rights to the original art and although this was created using new art, it is the best I have seen, and I have seen many. It appears as it should aged appropriately as a book circa 1620. The edging of this edition is a beautiful guilded antique gold. The guilding is different from the ragged edge of the original but it would have been obviously costly to use true vellum sheets, so this is an excellent concession. One more point on the guilding...it stays put! I can't tell you how many costly leather bound volumes I have that leave sparkly residue on my fingers! There is none of that here as it was done very well and by a manufacturer with guilding experience. The standard release does have a 'ripped edge' but in my opinion since it doesn't look authentic, this is still a much better choice.

Now for the most important feature or difference between the two editions. Remember, all fancy packaging aside, you want protection for your discs! This edition features eight pieces of sturdy foam-core material in which your DVD discs are inset. There is an octagon shaped foam piece in the center of each slot which holds the disc firmly in place and does not permit uneccessary spinning. Each season in it's entirety is on a single page. The standard edition makes use of simple, thin cardboard slits cut two to a page. While the jury is still out on the long term effects of this type of protection, I believe it will scratch your discs over time, especially with repeated viewings. Another reason to only consider the Deluxe Collectors Edition.

Both releases feature excellent individual show descriptions for each episode and nice photos interspersed throughout. If you know of the earlier Australian release last year, the descriptions and photos are exactly the same. And while on the subject of that earlier release, they did away with the hokey (IMHO) LED lights on the Triquetra and this edition is near perfect. It is also debosssed or raised much more than the standard release. 49 Dics. Subtitles only on season 8 and new bonus disc.

If reading my review on the Standard edition page...View the deluxe edition by placing the UPC (097361389646)in the search box and be sure to select the 'DVD Title" option.

Enj

posted by Seattleinfo on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Charmed 'Book Of Shadows' Standard Edition

Charmed is a terrific series. There are two seperate releases this year and they appear exactly alike in photos. Be sure to take a look at the other edition before making your decision. It doesn't seem to come up using the regular 'search' function. Put it's UPC number ...
Charmed is a terrific series. There are two seperate releases this year and they appear exactly alike in photos. Be sure to take a look at the other edition before making your decision. It doesn't seem to come up using the regular 'search' function. Put it's UPC number in the search box and be sure to select the 'DVD Title" option. The UPC for the Deluxe edition is: 097361389646

Enjoy your Charmed marathons everybody!

posted by Seattleinfo on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charmed Deluxe Collectors Edition **LIMITED**

    Both the 'standard' "Book Of Shadows" DVD release and this...the 'Collectible Edition' would satisfy your cravings for all things magical. However, if you are a true Charmie, then this is the only release that you should consider. Here's why. <BR/><BR/><BR/>Whlie we all know that good things come in small packages, if you are a Charmed fanatic then size matters! This is the only edition that is the exact size of the TV prop book. The regular edition is roughly the size of a photo album. The art reproductions of spell pages that are reproduced for this edition are near exact copies. This meant that there was no need to reformat the columns etc to fit. The regular edition was changed and/or shrunk significantly to fit the unusual page configuration. <BR/><BR/>The color of both editions is a true forest green and very close to the original. I was asked recently if the cover was an exact reproduction of the original and while the picture released for the presale mockup was definately different, the final version is much closer. They have added the cover corner pieces and also appropriate taping along the spine to match the original. Now for Charmies, the 'Triquetra' on the cover is a very important feature. Spelling Productions still owns the rights to the original art and although this was created using new art, it is the best I have seen, and I have seen many. It appears as it should aged appropriately as a book circa 1620. The edging of this edition is a beautiful guilded antique gold. The guilding is different from the ragged edge of the original but it would have been obviously costly to use true vellum sheets, so this is an excellent concession. One more point on the guilding...it stays put! I can't tell you how many costly leather bound volumes I have that leave sparkly residue on my fingers! There is none of that here as it was done very well and by a manufacturer with guilding experience. The standard release does have a 'ripped edge' but in my opinion since it doesn't look authentic, this is still a much better choice. <BR/><BR/>Now for the most important feature or difference between the two editions. Remember, all fancy packaging aside, you want protection for your discs! This edition features eight pieces of sturdy foam-core material in which your DVD discs are inset. There is an octagon shaped foam piece in the center of each slot which holds the disc firmly in place and does not permit uneccessary spinning. Each season in it's entirety is on a single page. The standard edition makes use of simple, thin cardboard slits cut two to a page. While the jury is still out on the long term effects of this type of protection, I believe it will scratch your discs over time, especially with repeated viewings. Another reason to only consider the Deluxe Collectors Edition. <BR/><BR/>Both releases feature excellent individual show descriptions for each episode and nice photos interspersed throughout. If you know of the earlier Australian release last year, the descriptions and photos are exactly the same. And while on the subject of that earlier release, they did away with the hokey (IMHO) LED lights on the Triquetra and this edition is near perfect. It is also debosssed or raised much more than the standard release. 49 Dics. Subtitles only on season 8 and new bonus disc.<BR/><BR/>If reading my review on the Standard edition page...View the deluxe edition by placing the UPC (097361389646)in the search box and be sure to select the 'DVD Title" option.<BR/><BR/>Enj

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Series

    I love the entire thing. I have watched every episode and i wish that they could make more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is Great

    I've been a fan of Charmed ever since i watched it, and I love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charmed 'Book Of Shadows' Standard Edition

    Charmed is a terrific series. There are two seperate releases this year and they appear exactly alike in photos. Be sure to take a look at the other edition before making your decision. It doesn't seem to come up using the regular 'search' function. Put it's UPC number in the search box and be sure to select the 'DVD Title" option. The UPC for the Deluxe edition is: 097361389646<BR/><BR/>Enjoy your Charmed marathons everybody!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love charmed

    This is one of the best shows i have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must have

    If you are a true Charmed fan. This will be greatly loved and appreciated. It is so BEAUTIFULLY put together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love this show

    i love this show this is the best gift for any charmed lover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love charmed and i always wanted the book of shadows ever sense the first season so its the perfect gift for a true fan of charmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This series is one of the best in the world.

    James L. Conway is the director of this magnificent series. This series is about three girls who are witches. Throughout the series, the three of them battle many demons from the Underworld. Althought they have faced some troubled times, they always come back for each other, and they will not ever let each other die-- Prue accidentally died. They could not save her no matter how much they tried, but there was a good outcome from that: they found out that they had another sister. Even though they go through some rough times, they will always be there for each other, and there is nothing that can stop the power of three.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The power of three will set you free

    A drama of three sisters trying to have a normal life when they are anything but normal. One marries the source of all evil while one is married to an angel. If your having a bad day watch this it will cheer you up it is a nice dose of cheese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3