Customer Reviews for

Children of Dune

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A decent portrayal of the novel

    This sequel simply does not live up to the high standards of the original Dune film. The acting feels wooden and forced at times, and the production values are inferior to those of the original. Still, it's worthwhile viewing given the power of the original source material. I was simply expecting more that what "Children of Dune" delivered ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fan of Dune

    This is a great follow up to the Dune movie and I think it was just a little bit better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Story Continues

    This Dune is awsome, but there is catch to truely enjoying this movie. Orginally, Dune came out many years ago, then HBO remade the movie as a mini-series. My wife had seen the movie with me, and while I was away, she watched the mini-series and the sequel 'Children of Dune'.
    In order to truely enjoy this movie, one must first watch the remade mini-series or you'll be lost.
    It explains more about the people, their ways, and why certain individuals behave the way they did. It gives you a view of real life, but also fantasy and action all in one. Excellent viewing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extended Version?

    We know the European version was almost an hour longer. Please make this a 5-star DVD by giving us a fuller, more coherent extended version than we have here. Good as this version is, it's not as good as it COULD be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I don't get it.

    I saw this film and the first Dune, and I didn't understand it at all. I had to read the books later and so many things became clear. I'd say that these movies are not for people that haven't read the books. The acting was good and the effects were ok, (Except for the painted canvas background in the desert. I mean, come on! I'm sure they had a larger budget than that.), but the screenplay was not written well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best!!

    This movie is 'da bomb! If you like sci-fi stuff, or if you saw the first Dune, this is a must see! Even if you don't like sci-fi this movie is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies of the year

    I have read all the dune books by frank herbert, ''Children of Dune'' was one of my favorites. im happy to say the scifi mini series lives up to the name of dune. i was a little nervous of scifi blending two books together but must say the job was done perfectly. i really enjoyed the last 15mins of part 1 when the the enemys of Muadib are slain. the perfenct blend of revenge and sadness. ''Dune'' and ''Children of Dune'' only cover half of Frank Herberts saga. Will the scifi channel cover the rest? I hope so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    CoD review

    I love CoD it is full of joy and some suspense even actor James McAvoy (who i like) was absolutly great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Pleased

    I was only mildly interested in the first edition of Dune that was produced by the Sci-fi channel but Choldern of Dune was very nice. I actually liked how on purpose some of the backgrounds were mattes and surrealistic. You are not meant to see this story as real, it is meant to be larger than life and mythic. I came into this movie sceptical and went away loving it! A well told story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty Good Movie, but read the book first

    Pretty decent adaptation of the book until the ending...forget the trown scene at the end...and if you have not read to book, then there is no way in heck you are going to understand what is going on the last part of the movie.... but a pretty decent 5 hour distraction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome and Smart

    I remember when I saw the original Dune(1986), I was just a kid and i never thought i'm gonna see another movie about Dune.But 2000 remake was awesome and this year Children Of Dune was remarkable.I myself never read the books until this year but if you really like Sci-Fi stories you definitely like it.Last thing I want to say is .....I hope you guys from SC-Fi would continue with the movie for bk 4-6.Thank You!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Children of Dune: Lives up to the Hype??

    Tackling two books at once is a daunting task for any mini-series, let alone an epic saga like Dune. I felt Children of Dune, while stylish and visually appealing, lacked the substance of the first installment. My praise goes out to the producers and Sci-Fi Channel for having the vision to proceed and make these great books come to life. I am very much looking forward to see if God Emperor gets made and how it plays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see movie

    The movie is great! I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A well-done sequel that makes the first pale in comparison!

    With the first movie, one is dazzled by the plots and intrigues of the planet Arrakis, and with the sequel, one is guided first-hand through the journey of the Atreides Messiah and his progeny. You have to take your hat off to the beautiful way this movie was portrayed. For the sake of all of us Dune fans who not only love the movies but the books as well, let's hope that this is not the last page in the Sci-fi Channel's depiction of the world of Dune.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Sequel

    I saw this movie on sci fi, and I thought it was a very good sequel. I definitely recommend this movie for people who like DUNE. If you have seen it, I would recommend this movie and the first one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    I loved it

    I liked the new special fx the story as good as the old one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie

    This movie was even more enjoyable then the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Children of Dune!!!!

    The best movie since Dune. Real SciFi thriller. The have to see movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the Best!!!

    Directed beautifully with magnificent settings and wonderful actors...a must see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yaitanes rides the big worm

    Well, here it is folks, the rise of the Atreides dynasty - plots within plots. Paul must come to terms with his destiny; the madness of Alia; the loyalties of Idaho, Irulan, and Stilgar; the plotting of the Corrinos, the Guild, and the Bene Gesserit; the trials and tribulations of Maud'dib's children; and the future of the planet Arrakis itself - the whole sprawling mess of Herbert's genius comes to vivid life in this miniseries. Beautifully produced, shot, and, in general, acted. This has more blood, sinew, and emotion than the first installment, thanks mainly to the direction of Greg Yaitanes and the brilliant cinamatography of Vittorio Storaro. And to think that this whole epic tragedy (in the Greek sense)flowed downhill from Jessica's choice to have a male child instead of the female desired by her sisterhood - what a story! If you are not familiar with Herbert's work buy it anyway and get into it - you will not be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2