Customer Reviews for

Clash of the Titans

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    TOO AWESOME!

    I don't care if people say otherwise--I loved the movie. OMG!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Titan Trouble.

    "Clash of the Titans" (2010) with plenty of action, violence, and mayhem is adrenaline producing entertainment. This DVD is not for the faint of heart or people that abhor violence, as the rating says PG - 13 believe it. Scenes of destruction, sword fighting, gore, gruesome wounds, and limb removal are sure to please the "die-hard" (pun intended) violence fans. Powerful beasts along with Zeus & Hades are sure to take you on a scary & frightening journey against the gods. *Great special effects. *"Cool" carnage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Clash of the Titan

    Perseus (Sam Worthington) was found by a fisherman in the middle of the sea when he was only a child. Raised by the fisherman, Perseus was treated like a son despite his mysterious beginnings. But when his adoptive family is killed by Hades (Ralph Fiennes) in the midst of the Greek city Argos' war against Zeus (Liam Neeson), Perseus finds out that he's a demigod, the son of Zeus. Rather than joining the gods in their war with the humans, Perseus joins the humans in an effort to find out how destroy Hades' Kraken, a legendary destroyer of cities, and in turn seek revenge for the death of his family.
    I'm fairly certain that I'm not the only one who, when this went into production, wondered why they chose to remake a 1981 film rather than creating a movie based on the hugely popular God of War video game series. I guess part of my reticence to this idea has to be my general disinterest in remakes, but at the same time one has to admit that video game movies generally fare worse than remakes as a rule. Then the casting started poring in for this remake/reimagining, and I started to get a bit excited about it. Sam Worthington proved his mettle as the best part of Terminator: Salvation and did a great job in Avatar, and anytime you have Liam Neeson and/ or Ralph Fiennes in a movie, especially together (they're first time on screen together since Schindler's List) you're most likely up for a good time. To fill out the brilliance on screen, Louis Leterrier was set to helm the project having done movies that have ranged from merely good (The Incredible Hulk) to transcendent (Unleashed). Needless to say I was more than slightly interested to see what this would all lead to.
    While you might expect this film to completely re-imagine the film, but rather even down to the special effects the film has a much more old school feel to it. This is both one of the strengths of the movie and a detriment to the movie as well. While it utilizes all of the special effects at it's disposal, it still lumbers like an unwieldy beast at times. The mix of CGI with the look of practical effects doesn't look as good as other movies that have come out recently, and other creations don't mix well with the practical creations. Overall, though, Leterrier knows how to work an action sequence, and the action really does work, even if the ending is slightly anticlimactic.
    With all of the great actors that were involved in this movie, the acting is strangely subpar. Ralph Fiennes hams it up as god of the underworld Hades as does Jason Flemyng as former King of Argos Arcisius, and Liam Neeson isn't given much to do as uber-god Zeus. Sam Worthington is surprisingly flat as the demigod Perseus. Most of the time Worthington appears to be bored or just not even trying. Of everyone on the cast the most believable actors are Pete Postelthwaite as Perseus adoptive father Spyros, and his demise early on in the movie is truly lamentable, and Gemma Arterton as Io, the ageless beauty who helps lead Perseus to his destiny of defeating the gods.
    I'm not saying the movie's horrible, this isn't Transformers 2, but it's also not Avatar either. All in all it's still a fun movie worth a look-see, but it's definitely not the best that the cast and crew could possibly have to offer. I enjoyed myself at the theater for this one, and I suggest you give it a shot. You might find yourself slightly disappointed, but you'll probably still have fun as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    My husband and I went to see Clash of the Titans with Krista and Corey yesterday and I loved it even more than I thought I would. It was so intense and I could not take my eyes off the screen. This is definitely a movie I will add to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1