Customer Reviews for

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Science Fiction Favorite

    Both my wife and I really enjoy "Close Encounters." We have seen the movie countless times and never tire of it. My wife particularly liked Richard Dreyfus' performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We Are Not Alone

    The first time I saw this movie it blew me away. You will never look up at the night sky again in the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorites

    A true sci-fi classic! Steven Spielberg directs a monumental film about the UFO Experience and what possible contact with other world life forms might be like in a positive setting instead of an invasion, which with the exception of “The Day the Earth Stood Still” had been pretty much par for the course until Spielberg tackled this concept (War of the Worlds, etc.). Richard Dreyfuss is Roy, a power company worker who encounters a UFO while trying to find a jobsite during a power outage. The whole town sees these magical lights that have no explanation. Roy becomes obsessed with UFO’s and soon loses his job, his family and his sanity. He feels called to Wyoming for some unknown reason, so he heads to Devil’s Tower, which according to the news has been the site of a recent outbreak of Anthrax and the Army is evacuating the town. Roy meets up with other UFO hunters to try and find out why they are all drawn to this place. He doesn’t know that the answer he is looking for will lead him into the unknown. This DVD contains a retrospective look at the film and has some in depth interviews with the director, actors and producers to give a full perspective on what a landmark film this was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Encounter of the Best Movie

    Close Encounters of the Third Kind is the best Spirlberg movie ever. The actors are great Richard Dryefuss is a great actor. Graet suspence! This movie is a killer for if your a Steven Spielberg fan. Ridley Scott and Alferd Hitchhock started it and Steven Spielberg and Ron Howard finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Spielberg

    This sci-fi masterpiece, hailed as a modern-day fairy tale, is a thought-provoking thriller about alien contact, secret government operations, and missing people. I enjoyed every minute of this 2 hour plus movie. As tech-savy as Jurassic Park and as thrilling as Jaws, this is a must-see for even the most casual movie (or Spielberg) fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2