Customer Reviews for

Closer

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Good, but should have stayed as a stage play

    The way the storyline was written seems all wrong for the big screen, and the movie-style format really does nothing to help. The 4 players in the film could have wonderful lives if they'd just wake up a bit. Closer just examines their interminglings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Closer' is not for the faint of heart!

    The film as a whole is vile. It is offensive. It is emotionally disturbing and it portrays not a single forthright individual. Much of the story's unfolding leans far too heavily on the crutch of outlandish coincidence and the language is laced heavily with profanity.

    That being said . . . it was a very good film.

    There is a short period at the beginning where the viewer is calmly reassured. It will all be okay. Damien Rice's voice is heart-breakingly sweet as he croons over the meeting of Daniel (Law) and Alice (Portman). It's a scene straight out of one of those numerous chick flicks we all cherish; those cozy romantic comedies that fit our fantasies as warmly and as snugly as cashmere on a crisp morning. We smile at the flirtation . . . the initial hesitation and the knowledge that something extraordinary is blossoming in these two people. We all know what is coming; we've read the reviews . . . pain and parting and betrayal . . . but this is a movie, we rationalize, and in movies, we're safe . . . no matter what happens.

    We watch these two fall in love and then we witness the first betrayal. Small, it would seem, in the face of what's to come. Still, we hold out. There is even laughter (partly in sharing in the joke and partly in shock) at Daniel's internet prank (anyone who has read any reviews knows what I'm referring to).

    But there comes the point where the laughter stops. You can hear a pin drop. No one coughs or shifts in their seats and not even the barely out of high-school set, so infamous for ruining a film with editorializing or just general obnoxiousness, breathes a word. This is where the pain and parting, which we knew all along was coming, smacks us full force in the face. There is so much cruelty and obscenity slung about (the latter mostly coming from Clive Owen's character, Larry) that we feel almost brutalized, ourselves.

    Of course . . . in the real world, people don't speak this way. The vulgarity of the language is included simply for the shock value, but this is not what skewers us. Rather, it is what we willingly and with full knowledge inflict upon each other. The immensity of it. The emotional devastation, while fictional in it's drunken sailor dialect, is nonetheless true in the lasting and far-reaching effects. In fact, Larry's most brutal verbal assault upon Daniel near the end of the film is delivered in calm controlled tones and in language free of any obscenity. It is a killer blow and, in spite of the horribleness of what has come before, it is the first time my jaw drops in utter disbelief at what has just been said. It is, given what we are told of Daniel's history in the opening scene, the coldest and most wretched thing one could have said.

    After the credits rolled and Damien Rice's song again filled the theater, I waited . . . partly because the song is so beautiful and so fitting (especially the last line, which was curiously cut off) but mainly because I had to get a grip on myself and come to terms with what I'd just seen. My initial reaction was disgust . . . as no doubt many others felt. But in viewing 'Closer' as a film, and as thus, a piece of art, I was reminded that essentially, great filmmakers show us (nowadays, at least) one of two things . . . a beautiful lie or an ugly truth. This may have been the ugliest of all, but truth it is, in the end.

    The performances, by the way, are brilliant. Every last one of them.

    For now, though, I think I need a hug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent!!!

    I purchased this film on a whim and it's 1 of my favorites after 1 viewing! Realistic and incredibly sexy it's a film I can watch again and again! Buy this 1-you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ironically beautiful

    Natalie Portman did the best, then Clive Owen. Julia and Jude did good but I think their characters ruined it for them. Overall though, this movie was brilliant. The ending was totally ironic. Loved it! & the opening & ending song by Damien Rice is so beautiful. You have to watch this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Favorite Movies Ever!!

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time! I would definately recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love it!!!!

    i love this movie it soooo awsome. A must see!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautifully Intense

    I can recommend this film though only on certain terms. Closer is a movie that takes you in and involves you in the lives of the four main characters. During the viewing you will no doubt go through all sorts of emotions. There are times when you may feel empathy, disgust or a mixture of the two. In the end however, you may no doubt hate all of those characters you invested your time in. I can't say this is a bad film, because it isn't. What it is though is an exercise in the human experience to the rawest levels. It is an amazing movie that I am pleased to have in my collection though it is hard to revisit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Life changing

    Honestly this movie was life changing and amazing to me. It is so true to life. Life isn't always a fairtale like most movies imply, and this movie shows how life really is. Anyone who does not enjoy this movie cannot accept the real world as it is: raw and painful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Haunting movie

    With the growing trend in adultery in society today, it is only natural for it to enter into our movie industry as well. However, Closer is one of the few movies to accurately depict the pain, torment, and destruction that cheating brings to a person. This is not a movie for younger audiences, but it is a movie that just about everyone will relate to in one way or another. Natalie Portman's character is absolutely entrancing throughout the whole film, and you can't help but feel pity and disgust for every character. Overall this is a great movie, one that I highly recommend watching/buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awful. Boring. Awfully Boring.

    "Closer" is one of the all-time WORST movies I have ever seen. I do find it ironic that a movie that is all about sex- where all characters do is talk frankly about sex- is miserably BORING. The 4 main characters are so shallow and selfish, they don't even seem human. If these characters had ANY human traits, we might connect with them, care about them, understand them, or (at least) be interested in them, if only to a small degree. I am not a Julia Roberts fan, but she has the one and only interesting scene in "Closer", where her character viciously tells her husband (Clive Owen) about how much better a lover Jude Law's character is compared to him. I thought Natalie Portman gave a poor performance (as usual) and I cannot believe how many award nominations she received for "Closer" -just because Portman cries in every other scene she is in, does not make her a good actress. After watching "Closer", the only thing you will feel is deep regret for wasting and losing 2 hours of your life on such a boring movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Modern Eye Opener

    While I am an avid movie watcher, I am also an avid theatre goer, and while the movie is no where near as outstanding as the play, I still feel that it is very important to see. In these modern times where the divorce rate is pratically one in three and the rate of people having sex before marriage is about the same, this movie hits you in a place that will, most certianly, make you slightly uncomfortable. But uncomfortable doesn't mean bad. Despite what many will say, it talks about what many people deal with in relationships every day. Sexual jealously is something that this movie really brings out of people and it is very important to see these un-pretty traits in ourselves through the film. Clive Owen does a spectacular performance as Dan, while Natalie Portman, Alice, keeps us completely captivated with her. All and all, it is most certianly worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JUST AWFUL !!!

    THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST DISGUSTING MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN. THE LANGUAGE IS ABOMINABLE. I CAN'T BELIEVE JULIA ROBERTS WOULD MAKE SUCH GARBAGE AND THAT NATALIE PORTMAN WOULD BE DESPERATE ENOUGH TO TAKE THIS ROLE. DON'T WASTER YOUR MONEY OR TIME ON THIS FILTH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    closer was a great piece of work and i recommend anyone with any sense should go see it, unless you completely ignore the undercurrent of basic, raw human emotion. anyone who doesnt fall in love with it the first time they see it is a complete idiot and should not be allowed to witness any great movies of our time, of which closer is one. some people say that it goes to extremes with the language and sexuality, but so do people, and this movie is all about people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Worst Movie Ever

    I am a man of action flicks, dumb comedies, and meaningful love stories. On the contary, this was not meaningful. Try worthless drizzle over a DVD. It was so dirty and stupid. The movie had more possibility that most in the genre but it failed miserably.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing movie. Realistic. Truthful.

    I love this movie for the sheer fact that it wasn't filled with "fluff" like so many other movies about relationships are in order for the audience to feel good about themselves. As I left the theatre, I felt the lingering sadness the characters experienced in the movie. I think the feelings were so strong because I could relate to what the characters went thru. The joy of discovering love then losing it. An amazing piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgettable.

    Truly a masterpiece. Not your typical Hollywood cheese, with lots of roses, kisses and a happy ending. But a true pain each one of us can relate to, so a very human movie... Fabulous acting. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Realism at it's best... or maybe worst

    Not being a fan of romantic comedies, I was happily surprised when this movie was not. It is a very real, sometimes very painful, unabridged look at the lives of 4 people and the truths and lies that drive them apart (or even bring them back together). It is definitely not J-Lo or Kate Hudson escapist fluff, and the actors all contributed excellent performances, particularly Julia Roberts. Try not to watch this one with the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't waste your time.

    I kept waiting for something redeeming to happen in this film to no avail. It was depressing throughout and left me with an empty feeling. I will say the actors were believable in their roles -- all selfish, obsessive, insensitive individuals. In the end I didn't care about a single one of them. Ugh, that's an hour and 44 minutes of my life I'll never get back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie doesn't deserve a star

    This is the lamest movie I've ever seen Jude Law, Julia Roberts, or Natalie Portman in. I couldn't even get 30 minutes into it without yanking it out of my DVD player. Pointless trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romantic Comedy It Is Not!!!!!

    With trailers on television I expected this to be a romantic comedy. What a mistake on my part - next time I see an "R" rating, I will not pursue. This movie, although real life, touches the capsule of pain we all carry for loves that have gone wrong. I am not a fan of reliving that pain and although this movie, screenplay, etc. may be brilliant, it hurts too much to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3