BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cold Mountain

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cold Mountain Review

    A cinematic representation of the social struggles during the early years of the Civil War, Cold Mountain explores the emotions acquired of characters changed from the extremes of a feuding nation. The plot follows Inman, a desserter of the Confederate army on his way home to Cold Mountain, North Carolina, and also his love Ada. Along the way, Inman meets extremely interesting characters and must also avoid the Home Guard looking for desserters such as himself. This film also explores the role of women that changes when the men in their family must go off to fight in the war. Recently in my high school history class I was assigned a project to watch a historical film and discuss its usefulness to viewers. From watching Cold Mountain, I was shown the perspective of the South during the tribulations of the Civil War. It was interesting to see this perspective, as it was informative of certain aspects that I wasn't aware of. For example, I didn't realize how terrible the crime of dessertion was during this time. It was also interesting to see the role of women portrayed through the actressess on screen. This film is a helpful source in the process of learning about the Civil War. I would recommend Cold Mountain to anyone who enjoys history with a bit of a love story mixed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love and War: A Cold Mountain Review

    Cold Mountain is a historical movie about the civil war. In this movie, after months of war, a confederate soldier Inman is trying to return to his lover Ada. Ada is a young southern bell trying to help out around her father's farm. After her father's death, she is force to run the farm alone with little experience. Meanwhile, Inman is facing his fair share of crazy people while trying to run away from war. One person he meets on his journey back to Cold Mountain is a Reverend named Veasey. When Inman meets him, the drunk Reverend is trying to kill a black girl that he got pregnant. Veasey ends up meeting up with Inman later in the story and together to try to escape to freedom. Back in Cold Mountain, a tomboy Ruby comes to stay at the farm and help Ada. The two form a remarkable friendship that stays strong throughout the movie. Inman continues to meet up with some strange characters including a widow and her baby, a man and his drunk and prostitute "women" and a chain gang. All the while, the homeguards trying to find runaways from war are seaching for Inman. Although all seems hopeless, Ada continues to wait for her sweetheart. After years of battling himself and nature Inman gets the encourage he needs from a wise elder to make it home. When he finally returns home, him and Ada spend his last night together. The next morning, the homeguard finally kills Inman. In the future, you see Ada and Ruby living happily on their farm. The movie ends with Ada and her daughter, who was fathered by Inman. Cold Mountain is a great way to learn about the social aspect of the civil war and i highly recomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice drama and acting

    This movie shows what it was like back in that time period. It also shows how soldiers felt during the war. I liked it alot! It shows a journey of a man wholeft a lady he liked and whent to fight for the confederacy, and now after the war he travels back to her,with yankee calvaries chasing him and differnt people helping him, its a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One miscast character keeps it from 5 stars

    Don't get me wrong... I liked this movie a lot. But there is one glaring problem that keeps it from getting five stars from me. Nicole Kidman is seriously miscast in the female lead. I think sometimes Hollywood producers will go for the big name star, whether he or she fits the part or not. They figure that a star like Nicole Kidman will sell a definite number of tickets on her name recognition alone. With all the painstaking attention to detail in this movie, it seems like Kidman's inability to fit the role is even more glaring... its the old "trying to fit a square peg into a round hole" deal in my opinion. I'd rather a see a lesser known actress who is convincing as a southern woman, than a big name star who struggles to pull it off. The only other negative is that I felt the pre-war town life in Cold Mountain was a little hoakey and unrealistic. Now on to the good stuff... a Civil War buff can really appreciate the realistic protrayal of a southern soldier's stuggles here - from the fighting, to the decision to desert, to the ultimate "walk" home. The siege of Petersburg is brilliant. Did you catch Grant apprehensively peering out before the explosives were set off in the tunnel under the rebels? I thought the entire journey home through NC was really great. You really get a flavor for the hardship and suffering inflicted on rural North Carolinians during that time. The conflict between the duty to keep fighting and the desire to go home (at the risk of being hung) is very strong here. Finally, I agree that Zellweger, as Ruby Tues, gave an Oscar worthy performance. As a North Carolina mountains native, she just seemed like someone I know. It's not Gone With the Wind, but it's worth watching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cold Mountain Rocks

    Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great rainy afternoon movie

    I recommend this movie. It is love story but the guys will love the action scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Somewhat Haunting

    Yes,the acting in this movie was supurb,Renee Zellwager was so cute as Ruby,no one could've pulled it off better,she's so embraceable and adoreable. Nicole Kidman made a beautiful Ada,even though they critsize about her staying so pretty and fresh,I'm glad they kept her that way,because in all the dark backgrounds she glows,and you want to be able to see her pretty face. Jude Law was also someone you could feel for,his shyness and awkward nature,you couln't possibly dislike him as Inman,with his quiet voice and saddening face. The charactors really stood out. My favorite colorful charactor was Jack White from The White Stripes as Georgia,the musitian.I really fell in love with him!I was so happy to see White in this movie because I'm so in love with that man and his music!Very cute! I found the movie depressing,it made me sad and lingered in my head until it came out on DVD in June. It's a very good love story. Brilliant! They should make Rifles for Watie into a movie,it's a great book!My mom read it to me and ever since then I've read that book every summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Civil War Odyssey

    Anthony Minghella's tragedy of the weary soldier who only longs to be with his promised love. The theme is a variation on Homer's Odyssey where, after years of surviving the depravities of war, the hero-soldier undertakes a perilous journey home; reuniting with his loved one only after many trials and tribulations. Although the theme isn't new, the script properly grasps the attitudes and mannerisms of the time. The cinematography and editing is top knotch. Nicole Kidman plays Ada, a preacher's daughter who, in 1860, moves with her father to the rustic bliss of Cold Mountain, North Carolina. Ada falls in love with Inman (Jude Law) but, before their love can be consummated, Inman answers to the call of duty and joins the Confederate Army. Before he leaves, Ada promises to wait for his return and to marry him. By 1864, Inman is a broken man: shocked by the brutal realities of war and seeing no purpose to the carnage. He sees the Confederacy as doomed and, longing for Ada, resigns himself to deserting the army. He begins his long perilous journey from the frontlines to his home. In the meantime, things go from bad to worse in Cold Mountain and Ada is forced to hold the house on her own. Exploiting her fears that Inman may be dead, prospective suitors unwelcomingly court Ada. In the meantime, Ada welcomes a runaway girl named Ruby (Renée Zellweger)to help her with the farm's chores. The climax of the film rises as Inman comes closer to home. Sadly for both Ada and Inman, their reunion is bittersweet. Again, the story is a thematic variation from the Odyssey. The warrior-hero leaves to face the horrors of war and returns only after a long life-changing journey. The acting is great although I think Nicole Kidman was too well groomed for her role. Even if immaculate and beautiful, women of the 1860s didn't look as if they just came out of a Hollywood beauty salon: especially those who lived and worked in a rural setting. A great romantic tragedy that appeals to both men and women. I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A good performance by Jude Law, as Inman.

    Cold Mountain was quite a journey, which at times was dark, sad, brutal, with sprinkles of humor, hope, and romance.The movie had showed the consequences of leaving a war in progress from ( Jude Law as Inman ) point of view, and A sheltered woman ( Nicole Kidman as Ada ) learning to survive alone, after the death of her father, in a harsh world, with the unexpected help and friendship from a mountain woman ( Renee Zellwager as Ruby). I really enjoyed the performance of Jude Law as Inman. His journey was dangerous, yet like Ada's journey of self discovery, both had learned that they were stronger in spirit and soul. Their brief meeting and kiss was the foundation that kept their hope bright of seeing one another once again, in the future. In a way, their wanting to stay alive and be strong, is what kept both motivated and fighting for what they believed in, which was to eventually live in a peaceful community, with no fighting. I also thought Inman and Ada'a love making scene was the most precious moment in the movie. Their love making was fitting for a man and woman who deep down longed to be with one another, during such an unstable time in history, and they were finally able to express themselves in a loving manner, for two people who at first sight, had few words to say to one another. Jude Law gave a strong performance as Inman. The southern accent, the communication through his eyes without speaking, and the way Jude had protrayed Inman as a man who had carried himself with intelligence and good ethics....Jude did such a wonderful job throughout the entire movie. I had enjoyed watching Inman and his journey to get back to Ada. Cold Mountain is definately an interesting and well told journey of a movie, that is worth seeing, and I look forward to seeing the Dvd. I would like to hear from other Females, 24 years old and older, from around the world, who had enjoyed watching the Cold Mountain movie, or Are fans of movies, history, and travel. My name is Suzanne, and My e-mail address is: skywatcher171@yahoo.com No Spam and No Junk E-Mail, Please!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1