Customer Reviews for

Color Purple

Average Rating 5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    MY GOD

    THIS IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE. THERE'S NOT TO MANY MOVIES THAT I CAN WATCH OVER AND OVER. THIS ONE AND TYLER PERRY HAVE BEEN THE ONLY ONE'S I COULD WATCH OVER AND OVER!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Color Purple

    The Color Purple is an excellent video/movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    ***My All-Time Favorite Film***

    I have seen this movie at least 100 times, and it is absolutely amazing how this movie can still make me cry. It is such a beautifully, touching story. A classic must see for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oscarworthy movie and performances

    I have never had a movie other than Imitation of Life touch me so personally. I felt the pain, the anger, and the joy of these people. There was no legitimate reason for this movie to not receive several awards. A friend of mine and I have a bet. He says the young soloist on "Maybe God is Trying To Tell You Something" is Shug's daughter. I don't get that impression. I would be interested in what others think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A SPIRIT PICK UP!!!!!!!!!!

    I was only ten when I saw this movie, and loved it ever since. My mother and I have been trying ti find the soundtrack to this movie for the longest, but no one seems to have one. I don't think they made one. The music in tis movie is enough to bring anybody spirits up. My favorie song is God is trying to tell you something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See African American (Black) Masterpiece!

    This film is by far the best movie that I have ever seen! The characters of The Color Purple are so complex and multidimensional that any viewer becomes intertwined with the characters and falls in love with each one. Whoopi Goldberg does an outstanding job! She plays Celie, a humble and not so attractive woman who is forced to spend the greater part of her life serving her abusive husband, Albert, played by Danny Glover. Whoopi's acting is moving in every way. When she cries, the audience cries and when she laughs, the audience laughs. Celie's story of hard times and how she overcame them appeases every black woman that can relate to her struggles. She is by far the centerpiece and focal point of the film that keeps the audience coming back for more. Albert is this physical and physcological bond that keeps Celie down throughout the film. He mistreats her and abuses her in order to feel better about himself. His insecurities are much more deeply rooted than what is obvious, appeasing his "old man." His insecurities evolved from the cycle of internalized racism that developed from years of oppression and racial tension between blacks and whites. Although hardworking, he is obviously a victim of "crab syndrome" and does a wonderful job allowing the audience to despise him. Nettie, sister of Celie played by Akousa Busia, is a beacon of hope for Celie in The Color Purple. Although Nettie is not in the film as much as other characters, her acting is nothing short of excellent. The two's enduring relationship of love is viciously torn apart by Albert as he attempts to keep Celie down. It is Nettie who keeps Celie alive and allows for her to endure so much. The reunion of the two near the end of the film is astounding and will move any "cold-hearted" person. Sofia, wonderfully played by the marvelous Oprah Winfrey, is a strong key black actress in the film. Sofia is an unmoving and headstrong figure, somewhat ahead of her time. She is humbled in a breathtaking way that will move every black man and woman! Oprah Winfrey's acting skills will amaze and move you! Finally, Shug! Good ol' Shug Avery! Shug, played by Margaret Avery, is a strong woman who uses sex and seduction to get what she wants. Margaret Avery's acting is compelling! It is she who sparks the fire in Celie that allows Celie to break away from her life of bondage! Shug is also dealing with living a life of "sin" as an entertainer. She struggles with personal matters too that will touch your heart! The Color Purple is a must see for every black family and any other person who loves to see black actors/actresses perform heart moving films!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marcus

    This is one of the best movies i have ever seen. I think every one should see this one.All of the actors and actress's played their part to the fullest.To tell u the truth I dont even have a favorite part im just in love with the whole movie.PEACE...And GET and/or WATCH the movie if u havent seen it yet...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST HAVE IN DVD OR VHS COLLECTION!

    I was extremely young when I first saw this movie. I still watch it till this day. This is most definitely a movie that you can watch over and over...you will never get tired of it. The acting was phenomenal as well as the environment. If you have never seen this movie you must put watching it on your list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MY FAVORITE MONEY

    THIS WAS BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I'VE EVER SEEN. I SAW THIS MOVIE AT LEAST 1,000 TIMES AND CRY EACH AND EVERY TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding!

    This movie is wonderful. When this movie was first released on video, my mother rented it and we watch it about 15 times! My mother leaves in Jersey and I leave in Kansas City, whenever we are together we watch this movie. Whoopi Goldberg is one of the best actresses of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Color Purple Fans

    Everyone that know's me, will tell you that this is my favorite movie of all times. From start to finish. I can not tell you how many times I have watched this movie. I laugh, cry, get angry, and sing all of the songs. The actors, the scenes, the sound track , I honestly can say there is no other movie, that even come close or that is at the top of my list, except 'It's a wonderful Life' and thats a different catagory all together. I have added this movie to my collection of movies for my family to see years, long after I'm gone. My favorite part is the ending. I still get very emotional. Very Powerful. No other movie is so much apart of me as this movie.Thank You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie is hot

    this movie is great nothing can take from its breath takin appeal to every aspect of the times i think that every black person needs to see this film this lets you now not to take the things we have now for granted becuase at one time we did not have them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best movie let me tell you why

    This movie is really sad I think that Alice Walker is the best. I know her grandson and he is my best friend. Alice walker was really mad when they took out the Liezban stuff because she wanted people to know the real her but after she saw it I think that she was happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spielberg Commentary?

    I loved this film. I was never sure why it got generally tepid reviews. The Actors are all first rate. Winfrey and Avery were given Plumb roles and ran with them. Glover was spectacular while underacting (for him). And Goldberg in her first Role exuded pathos. The REAL GEM here is Spielbergs Commentary. IF he does have a commentary track on here it would be a first. Despite his Deluxe and Special two-disc versions of movies he has never laid down an commentary track for one of the films on DVD. So it would be a great edition. In fact Scorcese, Allen and SPielberg are conspiciously absent on their DVD's none have ever done a commentary Track. And for those of us who love movies it is the SINGLE MOST important reason to BUy the DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Epic Masterpiece

    Like the book which preceded it, the film was an epic masterpiece. The characters and events, on two distant continents, were shown to be undergoing similar life transforming experiences. Despite the tragic elements, the film reminds us of the resilience in the human spirit common to all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cinematic Perfection

    While Steven Spielberg may have been known for his extravagant and spectacular special effects movies, his handling of The Color Purple shows the other side of extravagant and spectacular. You couldn't have asked for a better cast, a better technical crew, a better set of musicians, and, quite frankly, a better director. This movie was quite dramatic, funny, and suspenseful all the way through, and it left me sitting there with tears of joy running down my face. I became a lifetime fan of Whoopi Goldberg, Oprah Winfrey, Danny Glover, and Steven Spielberg. It's a ''must see''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Movie

    One of the best films of all time and one of my personal favorites. A terrific movie that tells the story of black woman who's become a slave to her life and her ultimate ''escape''. A wonderful adaption of the novel by Alice Walker. Oscar worthy performances by Danny Glover and Whoopi Goldberg. A must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Triumph

    As an African, and a South African for that matter, watching the movie reminds me of our long walk for freedom. The subjugation of women in our societies, still leaves a bitter taste in our mouths. The women are our daughters, sisters, lovers, wives, mothers, greandmothers, friends, colleagues, you name it. One should therefore think abouthow it would hurt if the shoe was on the other side, or their loved one was faced with the same issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's about life. It's about Love. It's about Us.

    The Color Purple is about the least likely film one would expect Joe to review and find to be amazing. This is a truly great film. Domestic Disturbance and the life of the woman who lives it, Whoopi GOldberg did a fantastic and astonishingly beleivable job. It's full of love, heart, warmth, and very good acting. Some of the best moments and greatest acting are here, in ''The Color Purple''. ---Joe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest movie of all times

    i have viewed this movie over 100 times, i know every word, every scene. This is a wonderful movie, I can't believe it did not win an oscar, all the actors were great. in one scene you may be crying an in the very next scene you're laughing so hard you're crying, I give this movie 10 stars, it's the greastest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3