Customer Reviews for

Coraline

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twisted look down the Rabbit hole . . .

Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of ...
Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of so many childrens books and falls more in line with the old fairy tales. where step mothers and witches are serious adversaries to children, wolves and rats have very sharp teeth, and losing your hand or eyes is a matter-of-fact part of the plot. I did watch most of this movie with my 5 yr old and 8 yr old nephews. The last transformation of the "other" mother freaked them out alittle too much, and I had to stop the movie. But for a serious lover of creepies and crawlies meets Wonderland, this is the movie for you.

posted by Shinybeads on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward t

Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward to the animated version, but was somewhat disappointed. The filmmakers seemed to think that boys wouldn't go see a movie in which the heroine is a girl who figures things out for herself and doesn't need re...
Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward to the animated version, but was somewhat disappointed. The filmmakers seemed to think that boys wouldn't go see a movie in which the heroine is a girl who figures things out for herself and doesn't need rescuing. So they threw in a completely extraneous boy character who only serves to dilute Coraline's ultimate triumph over the Other Mother (one of the scariest villains in all of children's literature, incidentally). See the movie, but better yet, read the book. The audiobook edition is outstanding; it's read by Gaiman himself and includes a memorably creepy performance of the rats' 'We are small but we are many' song.

posted by Firannion on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward t

    Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward to the animated version, but was somewhat disappointed. The filmmakers seemed to think that boys wouldn't go see a movie in which the heroine is a girl who figures things out for herself and doesn't need rescuing. So they threw in a completely extraneous boy character who only serves to dilute Coraline's ultimate triumph over the Other Mother (one of the scariest villains in all of children's literature, incidentally). See the movie, but better yet, read the book. The audiobook edition is outstanding; it's read by Gaiman himself and includes a memorably creepy performance of the rats' 'We are small but we are many' song.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twisted look down the Rabbit hole . . .

    Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of so many childrens books and falls more in line with the old fairy tales. where step mothers and witches are serious adversaries to children, wolves and rats have very sharp teeth, and losing your hand or eyes is a matter-of-fact part of the plot. I did watch most of this movie with my 5 yr old and 8 yr old nephews. The last transformation of the "other" mother freaked them out alittle too much, and I had to stop the movie. But for a serious lover of creepies and crawlies meets Wonderland, this is the movie for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Coraline is good, but....

    Since it contains both 2-D and 3-D versions, we viewed 3-D version the first day we received the Blu-Ray edition. 3-D effects are good, but it has to be viewed with a traditional blue and red glasses, so the colors are not that great. Then later we viewed 2-D version and wow, it is much better! Since we happened to have HDTV, the details are much sharper, the colors are eye-popping (and oddly made it seem even more 3-D than the traditional 3-D version). I highly recommend you to watch 2-D version first - in my opinion, it is much preferred over the 3-D version. And I recommend you to get the Blu-Ray edition, as the details are much better.

    Storywise, it is good but a bit slow - but it does get exciting near the end, and the Other Mother is just as creepy as ever. Make sure to watch "extras," you'll be astonished at how the movie is made. I have to say the movie is WORTH the money and we really enjoyed it - and besides, the animation are great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and exciting! Coraline is even better than the novel! W

    Amazing and exciting!

    Coraline is even better than the novel! With beautiful animation this movie comes to life. 
    This movie is super exciting and full of interesting action. It has great strong characters, 
    an amazing plot, and a GREAT villan. It's best for 9+ yrs old. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Great value!

    Wonderful extras and 4 pairs of 3-d glasses included. Made a great gift for my oldest son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nail biting Nightmare

    Coraline is a chilling and excellently filmed nailbiting nightmare. Every child wishes their life could be a bit better, parents more involved, the world about them a bit more beautiful. Coraline receives her wish in the form of the world beyond a secretive little door in her new apartment. There's an alternative universe that exists, where Mom is a chef and Dad is a magically inclined piano player. Dinner is always beautifully cooked and on the table and there is always time for her 'other' parents to remember and amuse Coraline. But, even in the most perfect of worlds, there is a dark side that exists. It doesn't take long for Coraline to realize the sinister nature of the 'button-eyed' parents that wish to keep her.

    This film might be a little bit frightening for children under the age of 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well Done

    Good story > Good animation > Good Family Values

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite movie!

    This is one of the best kids movies I have seen in a long time! The kids and I watched it every day for the longest time!We even recite the lines! It might be a little scary for little kids and I don't know how engaged they would stay with it. However, if there is ever a movie that parents and kids can watch together and both enjoy, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not too scary for 6 and 4 year olds

    The kids loved this movie. I thought it would be too scary for them, but they didn't think so. Their ages: 6 and 4 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie but

    This was a wonderful movie. We all really enjoyed the show. Artwork was fantastic and quite an engaging story line. However next time we go to the local movie theatre we are stealing the 3D glasses. The ones provided with the movie were awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Children's stories can be engrossing for all ages

    My rule is to never buy a dvd unless I will be watching it at least 3 times. This dvd more than fulfills that rule. While this story may be scary for very young children, it is very entertaining. There is a fairly short scene with some (cartoon-type) decolletage which I think could have been cut by 30 to 60 seconds. However, I would recommend this dvd for anyone over the age of 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding Animation

    This movie is super cool 3-D graphics and a scary story...A must see for scary little girls and boys alike..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful

    Well conceived and executed. Great production and design. Slightly different than the book, but what movie isn't?
    Highly recommended. Me and my family have watched it several time already. Should be a Halloween classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally, an animated movie that's not afraid to drift a little bit out of everyone's comfort zone

    Coraline , is the first feature length film directed by stop-motion master Henry Selick since James and the Giant peach. The story is based on the original book by Neil Gaiman , which selick had wanted to adapt for years. The book itself has been adapted into a musical and a graphic novel, but the movie seems to hit closest to the soul of Gaiman's original without being a carbon copy. And unlike a lot of animated movies released in america (with the exception of Pixar ) Coraline isn't afraid to delve into real loss and sacrifice , there are moments when it feels very possible Coraline will fail. But she grows from her hardships. She's similar to the character Chihiro from Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away , who starts off as whiney and apathetic but is forced to grow up when her life and family is threatened .
    On top of a great story with interesting characters Coraline is a stop motion wonder. Through sheer genius and imagination Henry Selick and his team of artist's at Laika have once again brought stop motion , one of the oldest forms of animation , into a higher realm of human fabrication.
    Film enthusiasts will love it for that reason alone, the general audience will love it for the magical hour and 40 minute ride the movie takes them on .
    Enjoy this great work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hmmm.

    Interesting. 3-D is pretty good. Entertaining. Maybe a bit intense for young children. And a bit surprising in the bawdiness of the scene with the two sisters (neighbor ladies) which could have been done without.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING.

    Asa fan of the Nightmare before christmas, and tim burton, and any thing to do with it, this movie remindes me so much of it. The characters are amazing. THE STORY WAS ABSOUTELY AMAZING. I have watched this movie several times, and it doesnt get old. The movies was great i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blown out of my mind!

    I read the book two years ago when I was in 7th grade and I loved it! Unfortuanatly I was unable to own it because it was from the school library. :( But I just bout the movie not to long ago and I remembered the book! It took me till half way through but I remembered! The movie follows the book exquisidly and I just love it! I am trying to get the book before I go out of state.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Movie. Entertaining. Interesting

    I really wanted to see this movie when it came out. Basically, I got what I expected. No one else in my family liked the movie as much as I did but, I guess that is because I read the book so, it helps if you read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4