Customer Reviews for

Coraline

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twisted look down the Rabbit hole . . .

Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of ...
Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of so many childrens books and falls more in line with the old fairy tales. where step mothers and witches are serious adversaries to children, wolves and rats have very sharp teeth, and losing your hand or eyes is a matter-of-fact part of the plot. I did watch most of this movie with my 5 yr old and 8 yr old nephews. The last transformation of the "other" mother freaked them out alittle too much, and I had to stop the movie. But for a serious lover of creepies and crawlies meets Wonderland, this is the movie for you.

posted by Shinybeads on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward t

Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward to the animated version, but was somewhat disappointed. The filmmakers seemed to think that boys wouldn't go see a movie in which the heroine is a girl who figures things out for herself and doesn't need re...
Being a huge Neil Gaiman fan I had been really looking forward to the animated version, but was somewhat disappointed. The filmmakers seemed to think that boys wouldn't go see a movie in which the heroine is a girl who figures things out for herself and doesn't need rescuing. So they threw in a completely extraneous boy character who only serves to dilute Coraline's ultimate triumph over the Other Mother (one of the scariest villains in all of children's literature, incidentally). See the movie, but better yet, read the book. The audiobook edition is outstanding; it's read by Gaiman himself and includes a memorably creepy performance of the rats' 'We are small but we are many' song.

posted by Firannion on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twisted look down the Rabbit hole . . .

    Neil Gaiman, author of Coraline, is a big name in the comic book & scifi world. He makes it seems so easy how he seemlessly bring his own made up worlds & characters from his books & comics into real life. He does tend to stray from the fluffy bunnies and sunshine of so many childrens books and falls more in line with the old fairy tales. where step mothers and witches are serious adversaries to children, wolves and rats have very sharp teeth, and losing your hand or eyes is a matter-of-fact part of the plot. I did watch most of this movie with my 5 yr old and 8 yr old nephews. The last transformation of the "other" mother freaked them out alittle too much, and I had to stop the movie. But for a serious lover of creepies and crawlies meets Wonderland, this is the movie for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and exciting! Coraline is even better than the novel! W

    Amazing and exciting!

    Coraline is even better than the novel! With beautiful animation this movie comes to life. 
    This movie is super exciting and full of interesting action. It has great strong characters, 
    an amazing plot, and a GREAT villan. It's best for 9+ yrs old. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Great value!

    Wonderful extras and 4 pairs of 3-d glasses included. Made a great gift for my oldest son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well Done

    Good story > Good animation > Good Family Values

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite movie!

    This is one of the best kids movies I have seen in a long time! The kids and I watched it every day for the longest time!We even recite the lines! It might be a little scary for little kids and I don't know how engaged they would stay with it. However, if there is ever a movie that parents and kids can watch together and both enjoy, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Children's stories can be engrossing for all ages

    My rule is to never buy a dvd unless I will be watching it at least 3 times. This dvd more than fulfills that rule. While this story may be scary for very young children, it is very entertaining. There is a fairly short scene with some (cartoon-type) decolletage which I think could have been cut by 30 to 60 seconds. However, I would recommend this dvd for anyone over the age of 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful

    Well conceived and executed. Great production and design. Slightly different than the book, but what movie isn't?
    Highly recommended. Me and my family have watched it several time already. Should be a Halloween classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally, an animated movie that's not afraid to drift a little bit out of everyone's comfort zone

    Coraline , is the first feature length film directed by stop-motion master Henry Selick since James and the Giant peach. The story is based on the original book by Neil Gaiman , which selick had wanted to adapt for years. The book itself has been adapted into a musical and a graphic novel, but the movie seems to hit closest to the soul of Gaiman's original without being a carbon copy. And unlike a lot of animated movies released in america (with the exception of Pixar ) Coraline isn't afraid to delve into real loss and sacrifice , there are moments when it feels very possible Coraline will fail. But she grows from her hardships. She's similar to the character Chihiro from Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away , who starts off as whiney and apathetic but is forced to grow up when her life and family is threatened .
    On top of a great story with interesting characters Coraline is a stop motion wonder. Through sheer genius and imagination Henry Selick and his team of artist's at Laika have once again brought stop motion , one of the oldest forms of animation , into a higher realm of human fabrication.
    Film enthusiasts will love it for that reason alone, the general audience will love it for the magical hour and 40 minute ride the movie takes them on .
    Enjoy this great work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING.

    Asa fan of the Nightmare before christmas, and tim burton, and any thing to do with it, this movie remindes me so much of it. The characters are amazing. THE STORY WAS ABSOUTELY AMAZING. I have watched this movie several times, and it doesnt get old. The movies was great i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blown out of my mind!

    I read the book two years ago when I was in 7th grade and I loved it! Unfortuanatly I was unable to own it because it was from the school library. :( But I just bout the movie not to long ago and I remembered the book! It took me till half way through but I remembered! The movie follows the book exquisidly and I just love it! I am trying to get the book before I go out of state.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3