Customer Reviews for

Cosmos

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In one word--FANTASTIC

    I have wanted to see the entire Cosmos programs again for a long time. I found them amazingly still relevent today. The Carl Sagan "Updates" are a terrific add. Cosmos still leaves one with an uneasiness and real concern that man himself may destroy the "Pale Blue Dot" as Sagan has referred to our home planet of Earth as seen from afar in the universe.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best TV series on our planet.

    Growing up I was never sincerely interested in science. I never had any ideas about what might be beyond our world and what we can't see with the naked eye on this world. After seeing Cosmos, I devoted my life to the study of physics and astronomy. I went on to read the book and many other books about these subjects, by Carl Sagan and by others. Carl Sagan is one of the most intelligent men to have walked this planet that he speaks of so much of in his proclaimed series. If anyone, interested in science or not, wants to learn more about pretty much everything we know and see every day, this series is a MUST-SEE.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Easily the best thing to have ever be broadcast on TV

    Carl Sagan once said, "I believe that the extraordinary should be pursued. But extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence." So when I say that Cosmos is by far the best series ever to come on TV I feel I need to back it up. Here are some of the brief accolades and trivia about this special: Cosmos was the most watched PBS special for more then a decade it won three Emmys, a Hugo, a Peabody, and has since been broadcast in more than 60 countries and seen by over 600 million people. In this updated version, Hubble images are incorporated along with some corrections and new ideas in high quality and in a sequence both explanative and deserving. It was filmed on location in nine different countries where the historic events had happened, or were happening. Cosmos is what inspired me to take the paths that I have taken since seeing it in school. Dr. Sagan has always been, and will always been one of my personal heroes. This special is the combination of all things Sagan and is in itself more of a history of everything and should be mandatory viewing for all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Discovery Channel gives us the royal shaft

    This is THE GREATEST television series ever. Its original airing in 1979 inspired me to a love of science, learning, and freedom of inquiry that have shaped both my interests and intellectual curiosity. The only major deficiency here is the absence of the updated animation produced by Discovery Channel for their 2005 re-air of the show. With updated versions of the life-on-Jupiter art, pulsars and stellar nurseries "plus, I'm sure, others", I hope the Discovery version will someday be released. In the meantime, do yourself a favor and watch this. If you have children over, say, seven, watch it with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phenomenal-The Absolute Best this Medium Has to Offer

    An elegant and artisitc enterprise for a well-organized, self-correcting way of reasoning and thinking about the universe/time we occupy. After a quarter of a century, this series is as captivating as it is an education in rational thought. I remember being interested in the series when it first came out, yet it seems more compelling to me now. Sagan does what he did best by making the scientific way of thinking understandable to all. A timeless, phenomenal journey from energy to matter, to stars, solar systems/galaxies, life's chemical origins, to the evolution of intelligence, it's power struggles, and predictions for our planet and species. It's accomplished with a style unique to Sagan himself, as well as his production staff. Very Highly Recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best documentaries ever created

    Carl Sagan is half poet, half scientist. I watched Cosmos as a kid and was entranced, and have since seen it many times as an adult. If you haven't watched this series, you simply must. You don't have to love astronomy, or even science -this series speaks to every human being who has ever looked up and wondered about this universe, our place and our future within it. It will stay with you days after watching it. My wife and I have been brought close to tears from the concepts and elegance in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the Best !!

    I owned the VHS set on this series for many years and now I have the DVD set and could not be pleased more. The DVD set has incorporated newer images of stars and galaxies from more recent pictures taken by the Hubble telescope and earthbound observatories. Also the graphics in some sequences have been improved. The visuals are clean and sharp and I have had no problems playing these DVD in my player. Producer, Ann Druyan, Carl Sagan's widow, opens the first episode and talks a little about when Cosmos was made and what's happened since. She also talks about what were Dr. Sagan's thoughts and how they transpired into what's currently known in science. I found more on the production company for these programs at: carlsagan.com Also, most of the episodes end with a 'Cosmos Update' that was filmed 10 years after Cosmos was made. In the updates, Carl Sagan discusses and sometimes demonstrates anything new that's been learned on the material just viewed. The DVD's come in a handsome case with a breif synopsis of each episode printed on it. In the series, Carl Sagan masterfully guides one through the wonders of our Universe and lets us see just who we are in it. From stars to micro-organisms, to trees and whales, to Johannes Kepler and the little-known, woman scientist named Hypatia from ancient Alexandria, to warnings of the perils of human aggression and foolishness of the past and perhaps future, and mostly of our striving, never-ending need to explore and understand through science; Sagan takes us on this journey. This is not just some science documentary, but rather, an experience that gives one a spirit, an appreciation, and a zest for science and understanding, and mostly, for being alive in this marvelous Universe. The photography is lovely. The music is full of wonderment. Sagan explains complex subjects to easy understanding (his greatest talent). They are great for everyone! The best purchase I ever made.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Dr. Sagan sets the standard.......

    The Cosmos series is the bench mark by which all other astronomy series will be judged. Dr. Sagan and his associates did a fantastic job in presenting a complex subject in easy to understand language. Extremely informative as well as entertaining. This is a must see for anyone interested in our world and beyond. Highly recommended for young and old alike!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FANTASTISC SERIES - THE MUST!

    CARL SAGAN IS THE MASTERPIECE OF THE SCIENCE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1