Customer Reviews for

Crossroads

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    One of the most underrated, overlooked movies ever.

    I first happened on this movie on television by accident. I was entranced and wanted to see the whole thing. When I was finally able to rent it, I was captivated and watched it several more times. Each time it deepened and grew on me. It captures more than any other I've seen the spirit of all music, but particularly jazz. It's got to be put on DVD before I wear out my tape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Crossroads on DVD Please!

    The world is waiting! This movie is very great. An inspiration for the upcoming musicians in the world! This IS how Delta Blues is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Awesome Blues Movie - Where is the DVD?

    This movie is in my all time favorites. Not so much for the acting but the blues music is what makes it a worth while picture. With blues music back in the current limelight with all the PBS Blues specials by Martin Scorsese it's a wonder Sony/Columbia doesn't release this movie on DVD now. I've been waiting for years for it to be released. Hopefully someone who is a decision maker in the movie industry will read these reviews and put the movie on DVD. With the dying format of VHS and all the retail stores dropping VHS from the shelves, Crossroads will die with it. For those who wondered about the Steve Vai guitar duel at the end of the movie, Ralph Maccio's guitar part was musically played by Arlen Roth, a well know guitar video instruction player in the music industry. He's also toured with many bands over the years. Please release the DVD soon before it's gone forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    An inspiring treat that touches the sole thru the ears and fingertipps.

    The storyline is haunting and the music makes you itch to play as well as just listen. I love this movie and I've seen it a million times. I know every word in the dialog for this movie because I have watched it so many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Great movie

    Guitarring is primo, Storyline is good, Need to go on DVD!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Who's on the wrong side of the tracks.

    Absolutely fantastic film for blues lovers. as stated from everyone in these reviews watched this one till the tape wore out good storyline greatmusic NEEDS TO BE ON DVD 5.1. DO THE PRODUCERS OF DVD'S READ THESE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    A MUST WATCH FOR MUSICIANS!!

    This movie is stylish, funny, and above all MUSICALLY SATISFYING. I too agree that it needs to be on DVD. Maybee Steve Vai will take care of it and add some vintage footage of his playing (Alcatraz,Roth,Zappa,etc)HINT HINT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Where's the DVD????

    I saw this movie a few years back, and it is one of my all time greats (along with a lot of other people)but for the love of god WHERE'S THE DVD???? I will not buy it on VHS, as it just does not do the movie justice, and I already have it on video from the TV. Somebody needs to get this out on DVD, and make a lot of people very happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    ''BLUES AIN'T NOTHIN' BUT A GOOD MAN FEELIN' BAD....''

    Everyone should see this flick. I have been waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting for the dvd...WTF??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    A DVD MUST!!!!!

    I refuse to buy this great movie unless it is on DVD. I will buy two of them then! By the way, Steve Vai rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    NEEDS TO BE ON DVD

    Geez, I really like this movie cause it has a great story, cool music, and it's just awsome to watch for any musician or blues fan, but I really don't want to watch it on VHS. VHS does movies no justice. Movies are meant to be on DVD and in 5.1 surround.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Please on DVD

    I agree with the others here that this film should be on DVD, it's one film that you can watch over and over. So, pretty please with sugar on top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    PUT IT ON DVD AND WE WILL BUY IT

    I want to add my voice here: There is a large audience that wants this movie on DVD. Execellent music and story - put it out on DVD... It's a classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    This movie needs to be on DVD

    I agree with what every one else has said about ''Crossroads''. It is truly a great movie about the blues and every guitarist should see this film. It is also a shame to see movie studios making considerably lower quality film content available on DVD, but not good movies such as Crossroads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Best 80s Movie EVER!! Where's the Criterion DVD?

    This movie introduced both my sons to our favorite music, a wonderful thing we continue to share this many years later!!! It also defines the beautiful talent of Ralph Macchio that seems to have fallen by the way side ... typical of his type of actor ... look at Michael J Fox, Robby Benson, C. Thomas Howell, Matthew Brodrick and too many others that the film industry seemed to ignore because they grew up! A must see movie. Can't wait for Criterion or another quality DVD company to release it as it was originally meant to be seen. I hope it includes lots of candid outtakes and other special material too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Can we get this in the U.K?????????

    We love this film but it's unavailable in the u.k on either format!!! Surely there should be plans to make it available over here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    IS THERE NO JUSTICE ?

    This movie is obviously best suited for DVD format.The ending alone would be worth the price.Someone please step forward and get this done!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    ONLY BLUES MAKE A PERSON FEEL GOOD

    It brings it all home, It brings all your senses to the outer levels, Its hard to believe that it still is not out on dvd, Its a crime to all blues lovers around the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    DVD???????????????

    I love this movie! Who do you have to contact to get it on dvd???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Steve Vai rules

    This movie is a most for guitar players. The guitar battle is the best!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2