BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    When I saw this movie I was a little confused because the girl w

    When I saw this movie I was a little confused because the girl was going anywhere then she tries to avoid somebody and fighting them for just one sword like what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Above and beyond...

    When I saw this movie, I thought it was quite overall the best movie I had ever seen. The acting, editing, cinematography, the screenplay, the action, costumes - it had excellence in every element of the film's making. Although the alternate English speaking overdub version is well done - you must watch it with the original language and the English subtitles. It is overwhelmingly poetic... Even with it's highest praise, I believe this film is still much underrated. Several people I know could not get past the characters 'flying'. 'Unrealistic', they would say. But yet these same people loved Spiderman, Superman, X-men, Star Wars... Watch this movie with an open mind, with someone you love, and in a quiet, uninterrupted environment. You will experience something very special and lasting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Crouching Oscar, Hidden Failure

    The only thing distinguishing this film from your average 'D' quality Hong Kong kung-fu film is the state-of-the-art cinemtography and slightly above average directing. Apart from that, the screenplay is whimsical, the acting dull and shallow, and the script is inundated with those generic Confucian/Dow Chinese proverbs already extensively overused back in the 70's 'Kung-Fu' series with David Caradine. Yes, Chinese kung-fu cinema often has the characters floating in the air or doing other motions that defy the laws of physics: this reflects their notion of how the channeling of chi through mental and physical concentration can overcome natural laws. Although I'm not disturbed with such reality gaps in film, I don't see why it would be worth of an Oscar or the amount of praise it received. The screenplay presents a story that is just as absurd as the one for Rambo II where Rambo bravely defeats an entire entire North Vietnamese regiment using just a knife. Rambo II wasn't Oscar material and wouldn't have been Oscar material even if it had a better script, an added love story and enhanced cinematography: Why? Because the story line is generic and unimaginative. The same goes for Crouching Tiger: the story is essentially no different than every other generic kung-fu film coming out of Hong Kong. This is not to say that there aren't any good films coming out of China but, kung-fu films are essentially the Chinese equivalent of our Shwarzenneger or Stallone films. Have either of the latter actors or their action films won Oscars? No. So why should Crouching Tiger: just because it's foreign? Check out 'Red Firecraker, Green Firecracker' or 'Farewell My Concubine' for good Chinese drama, not this overhyped and revamped generic kung-fu fiasco. If you want to see really good kung-fu films, check out all of the Jet Li films instead of this pretentious farce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Astounding. Refined duels like a ballet.

    We were overcome by the beauty of the sentiments emanating from the faces of the actors.The fantastic sword-play was more of a ballet than a fight. Little blood was spilled and death was noble rather than gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    it is a mile a minute thrill movie. for people of all creeds. chow is amazing and zhang is extraordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The choreography is amazing and the story that goes with it is one of the best of all time. The charecters are played wonderfully in every seen and I cannot find a single flaw in the entire film. An instant classic that deserves to be recognized as one of the greatest films of all time. Highly recommended to everyone, even if you don't like having sub titles you will love this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Michelle is abe to sprinter from wall & roof ....

    The casts in this film have produces the best chemistry reaction. Chow Yun-Fatt (in his mid 40) have obviuosly put on weight, but his stunt in the movie is still remarkable. Michelle Yeoh is a best heroine in the martial arts film. Zhang Zhi-yi is the best new-comer I have ever seen on the movie industry. Zhang Zhen have superb performances as a new-comer too. The other supporting casts have also did their roles above expectation too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Imagination comes alive

    You cannot deny the Hollywood flavor in this film, however, it still presents wonderfully the Chinese perspective of the world, human relation and humanity. In addition, the cinematography is superb. Ang Lee tells a dreamy tale of romance through an intertwined relationship between the two generations. No one should miss this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant Film

    Ang Lee did an amazing job on this film. The actors had such a great chemistry with each other which made for me the most remarkable film of 2000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hey cool but unrealistic

    this is a great movie butit is xxxxx for all i care about heyy avery one should watchit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    easy the best film i have ever seen

    this is easy the best film i have ever seen.chow yun fat,miccelle yeoh,and zhang ziyi were great(they should of got nominated for academy awards.i love every aspect and element of this film.the acting is great,the directing is fantastic.you,d be stupid not to buy this film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Doesn't Get Any Better

    One of the very best movies I have ever seen. Zhang Ziyi has a screen presence that is hypnotic. Michelle Yeoh is simply the best. The Cinematography is beautiful, the Musical score is incredible, and the Movie is pure magic. I can not think of a better movie to own on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL !!!!!

    It's hard to put into words how beautifully filmed this movie is. It's grace and power blend perfectly, like a dance. The original soundtrack (in Chinese with English subtitles) is so much better than a dubbed one. I would definitely recommend this movie 100% !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's a fantastic, but the ''flying scene'' sometimes need to be more natural

    Totally, the film is fantastic, I like it a lot !! A little thing that disturbs me is that the ''flying scene'' sometimes need to be more natural/realistic (the speed when the actor hit the ground and the speed when he/she start to fly - don't have increasing speed/decreasing speed according to gravity law). I've ever seen a lot of martial arts film before. It's true they are more natural in ''flying scene'', but they didn't show the detail. Crouching tiger shows the detail, with the consequency, some unrealistic part was uncovered. I think, it's the best thing that can be achieved without using computer manipulation. I love natural movies !! Whatever it is, it's a perfect action movie !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This film rocks. Period.

    Ok, so there may have been some flaws in subtitling. They may have gone too far with the flying stunts. They may have done some other things that did not impress every single critic in the world. But there will always be naysayers, and I say about this film, let them say ''nay''--just ignore them. Then watch the film (preferably in theaters) and be transported, amazed, glued to the screen from start to finish. Great costuming, just the right amount of silliness, humor, romance, and plenty of enjoyable violence make this a film no one should miss. Kudos to Ang Lee, especially for having a range of talent in film-making that allowed him to direct The Ice Storm AND a film like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic Film

    Great film, making the typical Hollywood action scenes seem pityful, as this made martail arts seem graceful and as beautiful as nature itself. Decent plot, but great acting, the film was moving for reasons very off the typical film charts. What the hell am I talking about? Anyway, it was a great movie, and I really suggest seeing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Read between the lines and this can change you

    On one level this is a simple story about love, courage, honor and hope. On a whole other level, the film is evolutionary: it takes us to a new level. It takes as its subject the struggle of four central characters, but what is crucial about this film is the subtheme of the limits and the will of nature, and the dance of human beings with and against this. These characters fly, they move with things, they vie with things. But more important, below the surface, they are joining with things --- allowing things to flow through them, be touched by things. Anyone who has wondered about the space and the depth of Eastern philosophy will see with their own eyes the nature of the Tao in the scene where they vie in the trees. This scene is timeless. And anyone who believes that fighting is about attack will have to think again as Jen and Sui Lein spar off. A beautiful, beautiful film of fantasy and reality intermingled. Who knows, indeed, what these hands can do? Who knows what we might actually be, or could be? A beautiful odyssey set across beautiful landscapes, with humour and depth, and wonderful acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Something to see!!!!

    This is a wonderful movie. I have not seen the DVD yet but in the theater the thrill of this move was unbelievable. Defiantly in my top three movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best

    I've seen this movie twice. It is a magnificent work. Even without the special effects this is a great film with superb storytelling, great passion and sweeping scenery. It also has lessons about the brevity of life, truthfulness to self, love and honor. Having seen all but one of the 5 nominees for Best Picture this was by far my choice for Movie of the Year in any language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not For A Second

    This movie was absoloutly incredible! I couldn't take my eyes of the screen for one second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3