Customer Reviews for

Das Boot

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What else is like it?

The rarest of movies. One that is so utterly believeable and yet so completely entertaining. I mean the new Pearl Harbour movie might entertain but that entertainment is marred by it's comic book like story. Here in Das Boot you don't have pretention of any kin...
The rarest of movies. One that is so utterly believeable and yet so completely entertaining. I mean the new Pearl Harbour movie might entertain but that entertainment is marred by it's comic book like story. Here in Das Boot you don't have pretention of any kind except perhaps at the very end when it seems that the world has turned into hell, which it more or less had.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ONLY the Director¿s Cut on DVD? Why?!!

The term ''Director's Cut'' originally had some merit, in that scenes may have been put back in which were only pulled at the whim of regional censors or to earn an ''R'' rating from the MPAA rather than an ''X''. In recent times, however, it has come to mean ''badly-p...
The term ''Director's Cut'' originally had some merit, in that scenes may have been put back in which were only pulled at the whim of regional censors or to earn an ''R'' rating from the MPAA rather than an ''X''. In recent times, however, it has come to mean ''badly-paced, dull, often repetitive, and far less enjoyable to watch than the original theatrical release.'' This is because the Director's Cut now typically includes whole scenes THAT THE DIRECTOR CUT from the first release version. Scenes which were CUT because they were redundant, or because they did nothing to advance the story, or because they introduced elements to the storyline which ran counter to the whole point of the film, or because they were JUST TOO DARNED LONG!!! This footage is now added into what was once an award-winning and highly acclaimed film for the express purpose of supporting the marketing claim that the Director's Cut version contains ''previously unreleased footage.'' Never mind that the ''restored'' footage totally bast-rdizes a film which was a masterpiece when originally released. Sadly, ¿Das Boot: The Director's Cut¿ has followed this trend. What was, in the theatrical release, a beautifully-paced, highly intense and riveting film, has been transformed into a plodding, overlong, tiring, dreary bit of ordinary cinematic pablum. The original version timed out to just over 90 minutes. The Director's Cut is over three hours long. You do the math. What is most perplexing is that the DVD version, which could easily give us the original theatrical release version, the one we saw and fell in love with even if we did not speak German, only presents us with the Despoiled Version. If the powers that be at Columbia TriStar had their heads about them, they could easily have provided the original version on the DVD, with all that extraneous ''restored footage'' also available under the ''Special Features'' menu. Everyone would have been happy. The Columbia TriStar suits would have made more money. My Advice: Pass this one by. The REAL ''Das Boot'' has to be out there somewhere. Wait for it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Three versions

    I have seen all three versions of Das Boot. The U.S. theatrical release, the Director's Cut and the Uncut Version (TV series). Since I saw the theatrical version on the big screen it had a large impact. I then saw the Director's cut which had a lesser impact on the small screen but I also enjoyed. I now have the Uncut version (TV series) and like it the best. Yep it's very long and slow a times but it gets into the individual characters at a much greater depth.....and you get a better feeling of the incredible boredom and discomfort of being on a sub for long periods with rotting food, dirty bodies, and real mental stress. People will like any one of the versions better than the others and that's more a matter of taste rather than the quality of the film. I'm very happy to have the Uncut version....but every version earns 5 stars in my book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Response to the One Star

    I will keep it short because these rooms have enough hot air in them. A response to the person who gave the movie a 'one' star: Did you know the ''Original'' release was six hours long and not your reported < 90min. Please think before you write. Its obvious your review on this means very little. As for the movie: Its a very good movie. Das Boot is not your typical Plug and Chug Hollywood product of nowadays. If you are thinking about giving the movie a try, I suggest alotting enough time to watch it in one night (only about 3 hours). You will come away with a view point of WWII most never even think of. Its more than just a movie, its nearly all true. Later

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blows Spielburg out of the water!

    THE greatest war movie of all time is now on DVD, and it towers over any film attempting to depict WWII produced today. 'Saving Private Ryan'-Biased attempt by a man who has never been near a war, to reproduce it.'Das Boot'-The most convincing motion picture to dare approach the subject and succeed. Do yourself a favor and experience this movie as was meant to be-on DVD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONLY the Director¿s Cut on DVD? Why?!!

    The term ''Director's Cut'' originally had some merit, in that scenes may have been put back in which were only pulled at the whim of regional censors or to earn an ''R'' rating from the MPAA rather than an ''X''. In recent times, however, it has come to mean ''badly-paced, dull, often repetitive, and far less enjoyable to watch than the original theatrical release.'' This is because the Director's Cut now typically includes whole scenes THAT THE DIRECTOR CUT from the first release version. Scenes which were CUT because they were redundant, or because they did nothing to advance the story, or because they introduced elements to the storyline which ran counter to the whole point of the film, or because they were JUST TOO DARNED LONG!!! This footage is now added into what was once an award-winning and highly acclaimed film for the express purpose of supporting the marketing claim that the Director's Cut version contains ''previously unreleased footage.'' Never mind that the ''restored'' footage totally bast-rdizes a film which was a masterpiece when originally released. Sadly, ¿Das Boot: The Director's Cut¿ has followed this trend. What was, in the theatrical release, a beautifully-paced, highly intense and riveting film, has been transformed into a plodding, overlong, tiring, dreary bit of ordinary cinematic pablum. The original version timed out to just over 90 minutes. The Director's Cut is over three hours long. You do the math. What is most perplexing is that the DVD version, which could easily give us the original theatrical release version, the one we saw and fell in love with even if we did not speak German, only presents us with the Despoiled Version. If the powers that be at Columbia TriStar had their heads about them, they could easily have provided the original version on the DVD, with all that extraneous ''restored footage'' also available under the ''Special Features'' menu. Everyone would have been happy. The Columbia TriStar suits would have made more money. My Advice: Pass this one by. The REAL ''Das Boot'' has to be out there somewhere. Wait for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What else is like it?

    The rarest of movies. One that is so utterly believeable and yet so completely entertaining. I mean the new Pearl Harbour movie might entertain but that entertainment is marred by it's comic book like story. Here in Das Boot you don't have pretention of any kind except perhaps at the very end when it seems that the world has turned into hell, which it more or less had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a Colassal Disappointment !!!

    That's about the nicest thing I can say about this movie. The BEST way to describe the additional footage included in this package would be disgusting, boring, boring, boring, then aggravating. What was once a suspenseful,taut,well-written, evenly-paced war movie has been MUTILATED into a PHENOMONALLY DULL art film. At the beginning of the movie, German submariners are vividly shown getting sick after a night of hard drinking. The original film touched lightly on this incident, but that was sufficient to make the point. This version drives that point home like a sledgehammer. The additional new footage portrays the often long uneventful waiting periods experienced by U-boat crews between actions. While one movie reviewer thought this was a plus, I found that the portrayal of boredom IS boring. To add insult to injury, the VHS version of this movie comes on two video cassettes with the first one ending in the middle of one of the film's most dramatic scenes. At this point, I was so aggravated that I didn't even watch the remainder of the film. My advice: avoid ''DAS BOOT- the director's cut'' unless you suffer with insomnia. On the other hand, if you can find a copy of the original theatrical release, GRAB IT! Then let ME know where you found it--PLEASE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NO DVD in package

    you can imagine my disapointment when I foudn no DVD in the sealed package and worse since it was 2 weeks since I bought the DVD at the store it was non returnable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Movie for the Library (Don't buy the director's cut)

    I recently watched this movie with my teenaged kids. I had not seen it since it was released in theatres. It is still as thrilling as the original viewing, with one exception. I purchased the director's cut, which added far too much time onto the movie. The original release manages to convey the story very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    in my top five movies EVER

    And I'm not even a fan of war movies, but this is a masterpiece...period. (I prefer to watch it in german with english subtitles.) If you're thinking about picking this one up, you definitely should, and although the uncut version is potentially twice as expensive, I find it to be my money's worth...either way, do yourself a favor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the top five war films of all time

    I believe that this is one of the best war films ever. The director's cut, though longer than the original theatrical release, uses the additional material effectively. Many of the added scenes put you right into the life aboard a U-Boat at sea. Though another reviewer believes it detracts from what was a gripping film, I believe it helps the audience identify with the crew and what they're going through. For example, you're bored because they're bored. It also makes hearing of a nearby convoy that much more exciting. You are almost praying for these guys to run across some Allied shipping. When things look grim and the sub is taking a beating from depth charges, you almost begin to feel guilty that you were bored and that you should have been paying more attention. As a viewer you are along for every up and down that the crew experiences, rather than only being around for the 'high points,' as another reviewer suggests as being more appropriate. If you do not have the patience to sit through 3.5 hours, you might look elsewhere--this is truly an experience. In addition, the ending is right where a powerful war film should be--rather than having the protagonist survive (e.g., Platoon), more powerful war films see to it that these characters are killed...hence, war is senseless when experienced at the level of the individual (something that Spielberg picked up on for Saving Pvt Ryan), but which few since All Quiet on the Western Front (1930) have been able to pull off successfully. Watch AQWF or Das Boot and Platoon back-to-back, and you'll find the latter film to be much more trite and shallow both in how it resolves the conflict in the story and also how you identify with the characters throughout the film. But I digress...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only being there is more realistic

    It is an interesting point to see U-boat men so troubled during the ''Happy Times'' of 1941. The director's cut takes not only the visual element, but you can feel the tedium of an unsucessful wait and, even better, the sheer terror of being depthcharged. If you want to see one of the best war movies (and one of best movies of all time) buy Das Boot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Das Best!

    Quite simply this is the best war film I've ever seen. It puts you right on board with the rest of the crew. You literly feel like one of them. Never in the film do you think of the crew members as the bad guys, even when they attack Allied ships. In fact the film is so involving you actually find yourself wishing death on the Allied ships. The sound is first rate as is the cinimatography. In the end the theme of this film is that common humanity is more important than nationality or politcs. Do yourself a favor and see this film and don't be surprised if you find yourself rooting for the Germans as I do everyone I watch this film.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even better than the original!

    The directors cut of the movie, Das Boot, is even more brilliant and thrilling than the original. Yes it shows the long wait in between fighting, the dreariness of life at sea in a U-Boat, but is what it was like for the crews. The film is more realistic than the original, more gritty, Wolfgang Peterson has done a brilliant job of this version.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1