Customer Reviews for

Death at a Funeral

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Funniest Film I have seen to date

    I rented this movie because I enjoy British films and the storyline caught my eye. Im so thankful my husband just rolls with my choices on movies, although he usually enjoy them. Im sure he was thinking, hmmm another interesting film. Needless to say, it didn't fail us as a comedy at all. My husband and I laughed so hard, over and over through out the film. We still randomly laugh over it when it pops in our heads. It was a brillant piece. Every shot was filmed wonderfully and the actors were amazing, especially Alan Tudyk. The screenwriter really pulls you in and makes you feel as though you are there. We loved this film and are adding it to our library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Totally Enjoyable!

    I have just broken down and purchased the DVD because I love watching this movie over and over. The plot is clever and well thought out, but what really brings this film to life for me is the talented cast. Each actor plays their part to perfection utilizing their comedic abilities to keep the viewer laughing throughout the entire movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Hysterical!

    A wonderfully twisted comedy! If British "black comedy" is your cup of tea - don't miss this one. Matthew MacFayden is a delight and the rest of the cast is letter perfect. Well worth the popcorn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious

    I have watched this movie multiple times, and each time I review it, I manage to catch something I missed the first couple of times. My daughter and her friends have also watched, and found the movie to be one of rhe new favorites. Very clever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You will laugh your head OFF!

    This movie is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. British humor at its best! Everything goes wrong at this funeral for Daniel's father. No one wants him to do the eulogy (they want his famous author/brother to), there is a strange midget that no one knows watching his every step, a boyfriend on acid, and a bunch of other hilarity! A definite need to see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best!

    This movie is hilarious! The script is so well written and the dry British humor is great. We laughed from the opening scene all the way to the final moments. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    fabulous farce

    Who wouldn't expect a funeral to focus on death? But death AT a funeral? That's the title, and that's what happens. Or is it? This unpredictable, well-scripted, well-acted comedy is exactly what you should see if you like to laugh. And who doesn't?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious

    Accidental acid trip at a funeral. Can't get much more absurd than that... but it does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Witty and Dark, Light-hearted and Hilarious

    This movie had me and my girlfriend in fits the entire viewing, any parts that you aren't laughing you find yourself worring how the characters are going to land themselves in even worse trouble.<BR/>Death at a Funeral spends its plot wisely not gravitating too much towards the grim side of a funeral or trying to make the concept of death funny and instead scrutinizes the antics of a tight knit(and even tighter lipped) family as they try to lay to rest the patriarch of family despite the outside world repeatedly bursting their mock peaceful bubble.<BR/>The cast shines as no actor or actress plays their character out too much, the shining example being Peter Dinklage. <BR/>There aren't any moments where you think, "All the characters have to do is ------ and they won't have these problems" which can be the Achille's Heels of situational comedies like this. A film that's a bit weightier than most but retains the big laughs - 5 Stars for a witty highly watchable film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Why is everything so f***ing green?!?

    Helmed by veteran director (and former Muppeteer) Frank Oz, "Death at a Funeral" is full of that slow-burn black comedy the British are so good at. Except for two or three moments, there's not much that's bust-a-gut funny here, but neither do you stop chuckling for the duration of the film. There's side-splitting performances by Alan Tudyk (best known as Wash on cult sci-fi/western "Firefly"), Peter Dinklage (who seems to be popping up in everything these days) and Peter Vaughan, but the glue that really holds the film together are the understated performances by Matthew MacFayden and Rupert Graves as the children of the deceased. Sadly, this film went largely overlooked (at least here in the States, including by this reviewer). Fortunately, I made amends once it came out on DVD; you should, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    This is a must-see for anyone who enjoys off beat British humor! It will have you laughing all the way through and smiling for days after. I will be buying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Like so many others this viewer waited for the DVD release of DEATH AT A FUNERAL, thinking that a comic take on a potentially morbid subject might not be very entertaining. Couldn't have been more wrong! This is the kind of humor the Brits do so well - intelligent, expertly delivered dialog and action that can make even the most unlikely situations hilarious. Writer Dean Craig and Director Frank Oz have created a farce and have put this tongue in cheek situation in the hands of some the best of the British actors. The result is a spinning top that only gradually allows the viewer to breath from laughing during the clever final credits. The father of a very dysfunctional family has died and son Daniel (Matthew MacFadyen) and his wife Jane (Keeley Hawes) have agreed to host the funeral. After the mortuary first delivers the wrong corpse the tone is set for all the wrong things to happen. The arriving family is a bizarre clan of characters - a novelist living beyond his means in New York (Rupert Graves), a man who unwittingly mistakes an hallucinogen for Valium and ends up on a trip that entertains all, a 'drug distributor', a crotchety old man with toilet problems, and the usual stuffy and goofy associates that so often populate the British comedies. And when it seems as though little else could support sanity, up pops a figure form the US (Peter Dinklage) with a secret about the deceased and proceeds to cause a situation that becomes the focal point of this zany funeral. Saying too much about each of the characters diminishes the surprises that abound. Were it not for the fact that each of the actors in the film is 'top drawer' this little movie could have become mawkish or tasteless, but this cast and director have produced one of the most refreshingly funny films of the past year. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Witty, Funny, A Classic!

    Oh my goodness was this movie hilarious! Usually I'm not the type to laugh out loud in the theaters, but this movie got me to actually snort because I was laughing so hard! The acting was wonderful! The character development was superb! It's a movie worth watching and worth buying! I reccommend it to everyone who enjoys some good British humour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too, Too Funny

    Loved it, definitely a must see movie. I am so glad I bought the DVD so I can watch it anytime I want. Just remembering parts of the movie hours later makes me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2