Customer Reviews for

Deja Vu

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We may be closer to this technology than we know.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. As a psychologist I had to accept a few government invasions of our constitutional rights, but we may be closer to technology of this sophistication than we know. However it causes me no worry. Denzel is pretty darn good in everything he plays. And the young lady whose life he saves is as good as H. Berry. A lovely new actress. Much like Paz Vega, when will we see her again? Remember her in Spanglish?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great thriller/suspense movie!

    I thought this movie was really great! Yes, it could never happen in real life, but that doesn't change that this movie keeps you on the edge of your seat almost the whole time. There were some parts that were a little to graphic for my liking, but not many. Over all I thought this was a pretty good use of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun Idea

    Not the greatest concept in the world, or the best script. In fact, it seemed like the entire reason for making the movie was to try and reinvent the wheel in terms of thrilling, investigatorial action movies. I don't believe that the genre has been exhausted, so the premise wasn't what caught me. It was Denzel, who I think has one of the best cop acts in film. And I could sort of find the technology used in the movie plausible, at least until we got into part of actually looking into the actual past. It might've been more interesting if it actually were a streaming feed from satellites, knowing that things can't change, but trying to make them right - but I guess one of the main conflicts in this movie was a desire to take advanced action against crime, a little too like Minority Report. And there are certainly parts of this movie which are contrived - the Hummer chase is the prime example the cars crashed in that scene reaches nearly Blues Brothers proportions, not to mention the plausible possibility of some fatalities inflicted! Anyway, there's some very good, suspensful moments, and chase scene itself is pretty interesting and intense - objectively a little silly, but when accomplished on film, rather dynamic. Some of the characters feel a little flimsy, so do some of the transitions, but ultimately an enveloping, if a little uneccesary, take on thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WICKED COOL TWISTS!

    there were a couple loop holes but if you do not over analyze the film you'll like and you have to watch the whole thing for everything to finally come together. I went to the theather with my bball team when we were at a tournament and we all liked it and couldn't stop talkin about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I actually bought this dvd because others recommended it obviously some people tastes need improvement - has some decent actors Denzel Washington, Val Kilmer both have the experience to have included a better ending - the film follows the investigation of a river boat blowing up near New Orleans with the FBI having this new equipment that can see four days into the past which is used to track the perpetrators, the story line is actually good even after Denzel Washington realizes that he can travel back in time to save one of the victims its not until the ending when they try to stop the bomb blowing the ship that the plot goes right down the drain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    What a waste of time! I turned this movie off 1/2 hour into it. Very disappointed with the plot - highly unbelievable and basically just plain silly! Val Kilmer is almost unrecognizable. If your mind starts wandering in the middle of a film, that is not a good sign....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool twists...

    I watched this with some buddies & we all agreed that the twists in this movie are actually pretty cool. We were worried at first that this would end up being a sad "Minority Report" rip-off... But in actuality, the movie is much more realistic (if you can say that about a time-travel flick). Denzel does a nice job in this one, and the only thing that kept the movie from being "Outstanding", would be if they gave Jim Caviezel's character a little more back-story. But all in all, this was a good movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Going Back to Look Forward

    DÉJÀ VU is a riveting film about time travel in tandem with crime investigation that works on every level. Tony Scott is back in his element as the top director of intrigue/thrillers. Working with a challenging script by Bill Marsilii and Terry Rossio that asks the viewer to accept the possibility of time travel, Scott is able to make the story work clearly despite the interplay of mixing the viewing of the past form the vantage of the present with placing a character into that past to alter it. The setting is New Orleans, still suffering from the devastation of Katrina, where a ferryboat explodes killing hundreds of people. ATF (Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms) agent Doug Carlin (Denzel Washington) is brought into the investigation of the 'accident' when he discovers elements that suggest the explosion was the act of a terrorist. Agent Pryzwarra (a very fat Val Kilmer) and his team of secretive experts (Adam Goldberg, Elden Henson, Erika Alexander and Bruce Greenwood) introduce Doug to a highly sophisticated machine that coordinates cameras and heat detectors from satellites and security cameras that is able to mix images and reveal the past - a tricky means of examining a crime scene ex post facto to capture the perpetrators. Spurred on with Doug's discovery of a beautiful female body (Paula Patton) washed up from the water before the explosion, Doug examines all the evidence, observing the replay of the days leading up to the explosion, and finally asks to be placed in a time machine to return to the scene in hopes of altering the inevitable and unmasking the terrorist (Jim Caviezel). How this occurs forms the climax of the film, and while many viewers may have trouble swallowing the time travel aspect, the action is so tight and the technique of creating the incident so convincing that few viewers will fail to be wholly involved. The cast is excellent, beginning with Denzel Washington as a terrific lead to the work of Jim Caviezel and all the more minor roles in between. The musical score by Harry Gregson-Williams and the cinematography by DP Paul Cameron heighten the tension of this exciting suspense movie. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a piece of junk!

    I saw this movie in the theater and I found the whole thing to be tedious and ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1