Customer Reviews for

Diary of a Mad Black Woman - The Movie

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    one of me and my moms favorites

    i have this movie on dvr and i just watch it over and over- its a drama as well as a comedy so if you're expecting to giggle your little butt off, you might be disappointed. But if you want to laugh AND cry (as i do literally everytime I watch the movie (my husband is really getting sick of coming home and finding me in this condition)- watch this movie. It's kind of one of those empowering- renews your faith in love and yourself- kind of movies. And of course, you love Madea. Even if you're not religious, you appreciate the context of God in this movie- it's really just a beautiful movie, with just the right amount of humor/ drama. I actually feel kind of defensive when i see any low reviews for it not being "funny enough"- go watch ace ventura or something if you want to laugh at something with no actual plot- this movie was based off of a play so it's going to have a drama element to it and a little more depth than some guy eating bat poop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tee Hee Hee, Ha Ha Ha!!!

    This movie was kind of funny, but udderly rediculous. I thought it was sooooooo stupid. That Tyler Perry guy is, like, almost the entire cast, but he is the only FUNNY one. It has a lot of stupid humor, but was not worth my time or yours either. The main character is abused, then becomes mean. Do not watch this movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To good 4 words

    this movie really had me sitting in my seat till the end. not only was the story line outstanding but the singing and acting as well. When i watch the Madea plays & movies i tell my self one day im going to be singing in one of those plays. So keep the plays coming lol you might just see me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reviewer

    I swear Madea is crazy. I love her. She makes me laugh. I rented this movie not thinking it was going to be as good as the plays but I was wrong. I thought this movie was better than the plays. I laughed at Madea. She's crazy and a mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny and Inspiring

    Don't listen to the Movie Critics; us REAL people loved this movie. It was very down to earth and funny. But it also shows how God can and will work things out if we will simply trust Him to do so. There is also some good Gospel Music in this flick including part of a song by my Granddaughter, Tiffany Evans (wish they had let her sing more). But all in all it was one of the best movies I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    This movie was great. I really enjoyed it. It was extremely hilarious but also offered a moral lesson that everyone can benefit from. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sorry folks:

    This movie was marketed as a comedy featuring the Perry character named "Madea". Just look at the cover!! Madea is hysterical but while this show ultimately ends up showing admirable redemption through spiritualism, it is mostly an ugly horror story about a failed marriage, a cheating greedy husband and a good women who evolved into the devil and the ultimate revengeful wife. Three fourths of the movie is mean to the bone while a quarter of it is turned on its head by the comedy of Madea. They should have marketed it for what it was rather than hiding behind the character we have all come to love "Madea". Don't market Madea to legitimize a very dark and sad movie. Hint - A true movie featuring Madea could be a wonder hit. As it is now, I will not buy a movie with Madea in it without first making sure she is not the shill to get you in the door. PT Barnham would be proud of this marketing campaign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    All I can say is: EXCELLENT! This is a fantastic movie! I saw the play and I think the movie was much better than the play. Not a boring moment in the film. This movie made you angry, sad, jubilant and full of hope. You will want to watch this movie again and again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved this movie!!!!

    This is a movie that transcends race, and can benefit us all. Not only is it funny in places, and dramatic in others, but it’s also laced with powerful life lessons about the power of God as well as forgiveness!! I rented this movie, but will be purchasing it today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    The Diary of a Mad Black Woman was an amazing movie. I enjoyed it very much. It taught the power of forgiveness and it was incredibly hilarious. Love, Love, Love it. Tyler Perry did an amazing job!!! I look forward to seeing a lot of his movies in the future. Kimberly Elise did great job as the lead actress in this movie. The whole time I was in the theater I did not get restless or bored!!! I am anticipating the release date of this DvD. I will make sure that my whole family sees this movie. I recommend this to everyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1