Customer Reviews for

District 9

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting...

    I was not sure what to think of this movie when it first started out, because it was kind of odd & filmed as though it were news coverage or something, and some of the camera movement even made me a tad bit dizzy in parts, but the further it got into it, the more I was actually intregued by it. Not all of it is shot like it is camera footage either. Just the first little while of it, and then a few certain other areas later on. A lot of it is still filmed like an actual movie. Peter Jackson did a pretty good job on this movie for the most part. It's a tad strange, but also pretty interesting. Aside from being a neat and innovative sci fi movie, it also is designed in a way to depict kind of what the slums down in southern Africa are like, which really makes you feel for the actual people that suffer down in those parts of the world, scrounging for food and dealing with various oppression and different gang issues. All in all, I enjoyed this movie. I would say it is worth owning. If you're a sci fi fan, it's going to seem a little different than a lot of sci fi, but also rather interesting, and again, through all of it, you get sort of a depiction of the slums in the southern parts of Africa. Give it a watch. It will blow your mind! Listed below are other great Peter Jackson movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    !A MOVIE YOU CAN SKIP!

    It was like watching the news for most of the movie. I liked the story but not how it was flimed. It could have been way better. This will be one of those movies that i will never watch again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    District 9

    After The Lord of the Rings trilogy and King Kong, Peter Jackson was handed the keys to a Halo movie. But work starting on The Lovely Bones (due out December 11, 2009) and the possibility of The Hobbit in his future, Peter Jackson opted to produce and wanted to pass directorial duties to an unknown South African director named Neill Blomkamp. With an unknown director known only for his short films, commercials, and special effects work and a reported $150 million budget for Halo the producers and studio balked at the idea of Blomkamp directing. After Halo fell through, Jackson offered Blomkamp a $30 million budget to direct the film of his choice. The result, a feature length version of Blomkamp's first short film Alive In Joburg called District 9.
    District 9 could quite possibly be the best movie I've seen all summer, my only regret is that it didn't come out sooner. It starts out as social commentary dealing with apartheid, the humans take great pleasure in treating the prawns as less than human, shuffling them around, berating them, and even burning down shacks that contain their eggs. It's this sociopolitical relevance that really causes this movie to rise above it's sci-fi peers. On top of that, the movie is shot with a real documentary feel, this adds to the gritty reality of the movie. You believe this is happening because it feels like a documentary you'd watch on the History channel.
    On top of that, the acting is superb as well. A special shout out must be given to Sharlto Copley who has no acting experience and had no previous acting experience and had no intention to be an actor prior to Blomkamp's short film, Alive In Joburg. His character Wikus is seen in nearly every scene of the movie and you really feel for him despite his early despicable acts in the movie. You always feel for him and you always root for him, and while that can be attributed to great writing, it takes a great actor to really pull that range off.
    The real winner in this movie, and what really blew my mind, though, are the special effects. I don't normally mention budgets when reviewing a movie, but here I think it's important. To give you an idea if you were to look at the other action movies to come out this summer you would see that X-Men Origins: Wolverine cost approximately $160 million to make, Terminator Salvation cost about the same, and Transformers 2 cost about $200 million. On the other side of the spectrum, if you look at comedies, Funny People cost $75 million, and last years Zack and Miri Make a Porno cost $25 million. Hell, back in 1991, Terminator 2 was originally budgeted at $77 million but went way over budget. The point: this movie had as many special effects as, say Wolverine, and cost less than a third of that to make and looks 10x better. Remember, all of the prawns, except the dead ones laying out on tables, were shot completely with digital effects and they all look photo-real. This movie easily looks like a $150 million plus movie.
    All in all, I'm really hoping this movie starts a new trend among studios: more original movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great sci-fi flick. Surprisingly original

    Based on how much this movie was promoted solely on the fact that Peter Jackson was producing it, I was not sure how good it would be. I did not see it in theater, but when I rented it and watched it I was blown away. This movie had several scenes where I literally had a visceral reaction to it. I loved the suspense and the emotions in this movie. It was not flawless, but it was very well done, and definitely a must-see for sci-fi fans. For having a new director and an inexperienced leading actor, this movie was crisp and very believable. It was a realistic sci-fi movie that managed to make great points about real life scenarios, all while not getting preachy or unrealistic. Probably not for the faint of heart viewer, though I loved the way this movie effected me both mentally and viscerally. Great movie, I also would recommend the short film the movie was loosely based on, "Alive in Joburg."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thinking Sci-Fi

    This was one of the best movies of the year, and certainly one of the most original. The story involving aliens that have the misfortune of getting stranded on Earth moves at a brisk pace. The aliens soon become second class citizens and are confined to their own encampment, District 9. This, of course, is a science fiction story about apartheid. A most entertaining one it should be noted. The action scenes are extremely well done and the ending is truly exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This replaces Alien as my favorite movie.

    Wikus is the new anti-hero! Love, compassion, plot and most of all cool shootouts. District 9 has it all. You don't have to be a sci-fi fan to like this movie...just sit back, relax and enjoy the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    District 9

    Purchased as gift for my son. Said the movie was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Intense movie

    This movie was very well done, but the storyline was quite intense. It definitely kept my interest. It was a great sci-fi movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3