Customer Reviews for

Disturbia

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    very cool movie i enjoyed it.

    very cool movie i enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A great movie

    This movie never gets boring, no matter how many times you watch it! Shia LeBeouf is a great actor. And David Morse is no slouch either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Obvious Comparison

    The obvious comparison is it is a modern day "Rear Window", and to some extent it is. However, whenever any movie maker decides to do a twist on a classic, it always falls on its face. Imagine creating ET, 30 years later, would not have the same impact, neither does this. The most outstanding part of this moving is Shia; he shows he is more than a pretty Disney face. David Morse is dreadful as the crazed psycho neighbor, totally unbelievable...no villian quality at all.<BR/>It is visually a well done movie, somewhat suspensful and worth seeing...at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I can't express in words how much i love this movie! It rox my sox!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie Ever!!!!!!!!

    this is the best thriller and horror movie i have ever seen. it has a little romance, suspense all mixed. ready to scare your but off? watch disturbia and buy it for keeps!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I was excited to see this movie knowing it's a take on Rear Window, and I sure was let down. It's slow-moving and predictable. Don't waste your time. And the characters are all stereotypes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    High Tech Voyeurism Enhances a Good Thriller

    DISTURBIA is a fine little thriller of a movie. Though some viewers are commenting that it is merely a takeoff on REAR WINDOW and finding it not up to that caliber - and if that bothers potential viewers then be advised, for this viewer it is more a film that addresses our progressive invasion of privacy by high tech instruments, and as such the film makes an important statement. Writers Christopher Landon and Carl Ellsworth have produced a solid script that manages to capture teenage angst and view of the world and with director D.J. Caruso the story is propelled along with a hold-your-breath pace that makes for a very entertaining and scary movie! Kale (a very fine Shia LaBeouf) had a great relationship with his father (Matt Craven), but in a hideous auto accident Kale witnesses the death of his father, an event that disturbs him so greatly even a year later that he misbehaves in school and eventually is put under house arrest wearing an alarm bracelet on his ankle. Kale's mother (Carrie-Anne Moss) tries to cope with the 'incarcerated' Kale, but tires of his aimless wasting of time and energy. Out of boredom Kale stares out his windows with binoculars, observing the neighbors, not the least of which is an attractive young Ashley (Sarah Roemer). Kale's best friend Ronnie (a very promising Aaron Yoo) is Kale's only contact with the outside world and when the two boys spy on Ashley in her swimming pool, they together find more sophisticated means of voyeurism. And, once Ashley visits Kale the three join in spying on a strange neighbor Mr. Turner (David Morse), finding him similar to a media-described serial killer. From there the plot thickens and quickens as the threesome made dangerous discoveries and end up in an investigation of scary proportions. The final fifteen minutes of the film are a bit over-the-top, but the rest of the movie is so well done that the ending can be forgiven. There are some fine cameo roles by Viola Davis as the detective in charge of Kale's house arrest, Jose Pablo Cantillo as officer who is stuck with responding to Kale's multiple infringements of his house arrest, among others. Shia LaBeouf is young in his craft but demonstrates a fine screen presence and a lot of polish: he carries the movie well. This is not a major film (though it did very well at the box office!), but is a surefire entertainment! Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great thriller

    i saw this movie in theater its great keep you guesing well played must see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No wonder its compared to rear window

    This i heard was something similar to another movie called rear window with a similar plot no wonder a lot of people thought of that. Anyway you have a teen under house arrest suspects neighbor of being a killer with help from best pal and the new girl. I like it and it had some jump out of your moments and good suspense. So would see it again and love Shia too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I went in to see this movie and thinkin it was going to be one of those teen movies, but I thought it was really good because of its thrills and good acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome spine tingling thriller!

    This is so far the best suspense thriller I have seen! I highly recommend this movie because it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Loved this Movie!!!!!!!!!!

    This movie was so awesome! The whole plot was very well thought out. The storyline is basically that Kale, a boy on house arrest for throwing a punch at a teacher, suspects his neighbor of being a mass murderer. Eventually, the climax leads up to Kale finding out what this guy is really up to......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2